View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Just now, rpfc said:

Considering how tight list spots is - this means that we are moving on some players.

I do think it is the right decision to keep these two but it will mean that we HAVE to squeeze the list now.

How so? We have no first round pick at this point, plus we are committed to two F/S and academy players.

We have a bunch of players OOC who are not making it, and potentially a couple of senior players we will look to trade out.

Unless the new coach wants to draft into rounds 4,5 and 6, I reckon re-signing these two has not put any squeeze on the list whatsoever.

I can name 8 players who can comfortably be removed from the list ahead of them and still leave us room to play with.

Both Melk & Tommy have very good post footy options. I don’t believe the club had full control as you suggest.

2 hours ago, poita said:

I'm very happy with Tommy Mac getting another year, and okay with Melksham getting the same.

However, I don't understand why we always rush into locking away veterans and rookies prior to the trade period, and I especially don't understand doing it when there is no coach in place.

It significantly impacts our options in the trade period and in the drafts, so we end up with sub-optimal situations like taking Johnson in the national draft when he could have been a rookie.

2 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

How so? We have no first round pick at this point, plus we are committed to two F/S and academy players.

We have a bunch of players OOC who are not making it, and potentially a couple of senior players we will look to trade out.

Unless the new coach wants to draft into rounds 4,5 and 6, I reckon re-signing these two has not put any squeeze on the list whatsoever.

I can name 8 players who can comfortably be removed from the list ahead of them and still leave us room to play with.

If we are just bringing in Sinnema and White then that is different - we can lose Woewodin and Fullerton/Campbell. It does just make it more likely that there is more movement of players for list spots should we want to trade in/draft.

Geat stuff to keep these guys for another year.

We are transitioning youth into the team so we need to keep some experience to show the way.

The game and player management has changed for the better.

Salaries are an incentive to keep players playing.

The drafts are so compromised that some clubs have to keep players playing longer.

The Maggies have shown in recent years how older very talanted experienced players keep the team on the straight and narrow. - although those players are not far from dropping off so they will just keep milking free agency and pay unders for good players, eg Houston.

It was my clear understanding that TMac had an arrangement this year that he would only be selected if injuries required it: thus his" mystery " dropping. I assume that he will be on the same arrangement and I would not be surprised if Melky is on a similar one. They have heaps to give to the younger players and it is great that they will be able to continue to do so.

3 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Interesting decisions for a club without a Senior Coach. It restricts the next coach's plans...unless the decision has been made as to who the coach will be and he has agreed with the decisions.

Maybe they both reached triggers for an extension. In any case Melksham is our best forward and TMac is a clubmam who provides cover for May and Lever, will provide leadership and help develep our young backs (Adams, White) in the VFL, and also gives us flexibility in the offseason to trade out Lever or May if an offer too good to refuse comes up.

I'm happy with this. Melky is playing amazing football and Tmac is depth for both forward and back. TMac is our break glass in case of emergency

Very happy for both to get another year. As we go through a "change" I can only believe we are much better with their experience and effort for the coming season than we would be without.

I do sense there will be a decent amount of change on our list. Some natural , some not so much.

Congratulations to the both 👏

Hopefully they can both impart some of their experience and work ethic onto the younger brigade.

Kudos

Great news. They both had good years. Probably need to limit to about 15-18 games though to ensure they say injury free.

Really happy with the news. Two proven players who most likely are cheap to retain, and can impart wisdom and bring their knowledge to teach the youngsters.

Wishing them good health for the offseason and 2026!

Edited by GawnOfTheDead

I think if nothing else, this year has shown that age doesn't matter. Choco started the last 2 years saying that selection isn't based on your birth certificate. It goes both ways be it young or old. If your form warrants it you will be rewarded. Taylor Walker at his age is an integral part of the Crows forward line, Howe at 34 for Collingwood holds the backline together, Max at 34 has never played better, Lachie Neal is 32, Zorko is 36, Pendlebury is 37, Danger is 35, Tom Stewart is 32 Blicavs is 34, Gunston 33 the list goes on. If you are good enough and your form warrants you to play. The hope that youth and potential win games and flags is a false dawn. It is different to the past, where a youngster may be gifted a game because they are young

The club has identified that it needs more players in the 25-28 range, as we have gone for youth the last few years. Those with short memories have forgotten the hole in the list, clearing the old guys, including James McDonald and co. And what a brilliant idea it was to make Grimes & Trengove co-captains. Rebuilding is more difficult than it has ever been, just look at North and West Coast in the last 3 years.

List building and recruiting isn't a year-to-year thing. Recruiters have been watching players from the age of 14, monitoring their development as part of a long-term plan. Whoever the new coach is, his input into recruitment will be sought, but will be minimal. Time and time again, coaches are quoted as saying they leave player recruitment to the experts

I am delighted that TMac & mewlk are back on board for another season

58 minutes ago, rpfc said:

If we are just bringing in Sinnema and White then that is different - we can lose Woewodin and Fullerton/Campbell. It does just make it more likely that there is more movement of players for list spots should we want to trade in/draft.

The following players are unlikely to be on the list next season: Fullerton, Brown, Spargo, Verrell, Woewodin, Billings. That’s 6 gone without any trading done. Two in with White and Sinnema and no first round pick. We won’t have any issues to find spots for trade ins and draft picks.

12 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

The following players are unlikely to be on the list next season: Fullerton, Brown, Spargo, Verrell, Woewodin, Billings. That’s 6 gone without any trading done. Two in with White and Sinnema and no first round pick. We won’t have any issues to find spots for trade ins and draft picks.

We probably won't but we are over allocated for rookies with our 2 ssp picks in Culley and Henderson. That brings it back down to 4.

In: Sinnema, White, Derkson

Leaves only one "live" pick in the draft which also prevents us from acquiring any other players via trade.

Of course we can trade out contracted players to make more room and I suspect Henderson may not get another contract either.

3 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Two of my faves. Sweet!

Interesting these were made without the input of the new coach?

Maybe the new coach (officially TBA but, wink nod?) has said he would like a couple of very experienced fantastic role models who are still making significant contributions on and off the field to stay and even help him settle in. There is a lot more than coming and gathering all around him - strong leaders are essential.

And I do just wonder with Tommy’s staying what that means for May and / or Lever who have been chronically injured that past couple of years. Both have been great contributors but are clearly waning.

20 minutes ago, Random Task said:

We probably won't but we are over allocated for rookies with our 2 ssp picks in Culley and Henderson. That brings it back down to 4.

In: Sinnema, White, Derkson

Leaves only one "live" pick in the draft which also prevents us from acquiring any other players via trade.

Of course we can trade out contracted players to make more room and I suspect Henderson may not get another contract either.

Hore retired and he was a rookie and I suspect Henderson won’t get another year.

Brown also a rookie who I don’t think gets another year.

Verrell Sestan Woewodin Billings and Spargo OOC and doubt they get another contract.

I really wouldn’t worry about list spaces

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Pfft, and we’re that terrible club that nobody wants to be at. Turns out Nibs is the only one who’s gone and even then he didn’t want to leave, he had to. He left reluctantly. Believe what y’all wanna believe but Tracc didn’t wanna leave, nor did Clarrie.

Oh, and Fritta. He loves the MFC. Has said all along the only way he’d leave is if he’s booted out. He doesn’t wanna be anywhere else.

Interesting you’re talking past tense about Trac and Clarry? Talking about didn’t want to leave. Have I missed something?

It’s the media department actually working I think. Drip feeding small positive news about Melbourne Just keeping thr name relevant during finals. Though the media as a whole are starting to ask how can we make these changes without the consent of the incoming coach . Go Dee’s 2026.

At least I got to enjoy the 17 (?) wins in a row . I had never before in the 55 years going, gone to a match totally expecting to win. It was a great feeling.

Look forward to much more drops of positivity coming our way

The move to lock these blokes in for another year looking quite shrewd now 😉

Starting to see method amidst the Madness

It's good management to re-contract TMac and Melksham now. They're loyal servants and they are having their exit interviews this week. It's a bit rude to say "go on holidays with the family but work hard and come back ready for pre-season and we'll think about it then".

13 hours ago, rpfc said:

TC will reportedly also get a one year extension, though I would suspect Fullerton will be off the list.

Both players had to be rewarded with another year. Melk kicked his most goals in a season and T Mac was more than serviceable down back.

Jake Melksham kicking the ball into an open inside 50 when we've got the oppo's defence on the ropes is a thing of beauty. Look forward to more of that next year.

I just read a rumour that May's off to the Bulldogs. It was from journo .... but it could be true. If so it makes sense to keep TMac.

17 hours ago, John Crow Batty said:

I am pleased to see Tmac and Melksham go around again. They are two of my favourite players but it just highlights how bare the cupboard is that there are no youngsters on the list to challenge their positions.

If there were 23 capable youngsters, they would be playing. We have brought in new players in the backline, but none has TMac's 85pc disposal efficiency. We have brought in new players in the forward line, but none has kicked 33 goals in a season or can lead as effectively as Melky.

Edited by Go Lordie