View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, WERRIDEE said:

Baldi never played in that grand final. Woey, Laurie and Howes did though.

Oops - looked at the team sheet and overlooked that he was on the 'Emg' line🙈

And Howes: Howes it I missed him?!😄

6 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Charlie Spargo going to hospital. Bloody terrible result. Poor guy can’t catch a break with his body.

Agree even though I don't rate him as a player, he has had a bad run of injuries!

1 hour ago, deanox said:

Honestly, if our new coach is choosing who to retain based on whether they show up to watch the ressies final during the rholiday, then they have their selection criteria wrong.

I can't believe anyone is that much of a line ball decision that it would make a difference

While most things are not line ball how would we ever know? Given what's at stake is potentially a six figure sum and maybe a year or two extra in their dream job playing footy giving up a few hours on a Saturday might be an incredibly rational sacrifice.

6 hours ago, Fritta and Turner said:

I saw Ghosty on the telly

Nar it was just an apparition!

You could see what the attraction of Kolt was for the talent spotters based on today's showing.

Lets hope he comes with the right attitude and puts in a decent preseason to kick off next season.

3 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Baldi never played in that grand final. Woey, Laurie and Howes did though.

Brings back an old saying...

Great to play in one VFL flag but you never want to play in two

2 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

… and it’ll be played on the Gold Coast, and not even at Carrara. Boooo!

The FrankHauser oval

Sounds like a place to ...

Do the Time Warp Again

1 hour ago, Go Ds said:

While most things are not line ball how would we ever know? Given what's at stake is potentially a six figure sum and maybe a year or two extra in their dream job playing footy giving up a few hours on a Saturday might be an incredibly rational sacrifice.

Do you seriously think any of the first 22 are on the chopping block.

The six delistings were playing for Casey

Edited by Diamond_Jim

49 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Pray tell... please elaborate

3 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Who said just delistings? You could well be right re six. But what about trades? Did players like Sam Frost, Jack Watts and going back Woewodin snr want to be traded? Weren't Hawthorn 's Hodge , Mitchell and Lewis involuntarily retired? Just because often players stuck in the reserves realise they're gonna be delisted at season's doesn't mean our 'best' 22 are completely safe. We might get a new coach who really wants to shake things up; even moving on one now fading premiership players would be a statement.

11 hours ago, Go Ds said:

Maybe but can you direct me to a few of his AFL games where at least he held his own after coming on? I'd love to think I've missed a couple.

Fair point. He has never had an impact at senior level but has not really been given much opportunity. The sub role has diminished the prospects of a few players. The one who got away and now playing strong footy for the Giants is a similar example.

I had given up on Laurie but watching him today thought it may not all be on him.

9 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

That was the most enjoyable game i've been to (aside from witnessing Spargo's agonising dislocation) since Moose's 150th at Trevor Barker oval back in mid 2023.

And before that the flag at Princes Park against South Port.

The more i think about my time attending Casey games the more i realise how much more i prefer my experience there vs AFL.

I actually no longer enjoy the whole game day nonsense at that level any longer. I truly feel the essence and purity of the great game is significantly lost at that level both on and off the field.

I agree mate - there is something pure about the VFL I prefer. Helps that umpiring and drama doesn't take over most games

caseyD.webp

This Image of members of the Casey Demons team appeared on the MFC website this week. Not all played in yesterday's elimination team. On the question of those likely to remain and get the opportunity to succeed at the top level some decisions have already been made and there are question marks on others.

According to the club timeline for the appointment of the new senior coach, that shall be announced by the preliminary final weekend. Would like to think some fresh prospective is bought to bare on list retention and who to let go decisions. Personally, in my estimation there is one young bloke there, who given the opportunity to complete a pre-season is set to thrive next season.

Edited by Tarax Club

11 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

A5E6AA89-A953-4279-95FE-AD769FDA38DC.jpeg

Poor Charles 😢

I just wanted to make something perfectly clear… I didn’t take this photo. Idk who took it but I personally wouldn’t ever take a photo of one of our players while they’re obviously in such pain.

11 minutes ago, Tarax Club said:

caseyD.webp

This Image of members of the Casey Demons team appeared on the MFC website this week. Not all played in yesterday's elimination team. On the question of those likely to remain and get the opportunity to succeed at the top level some decisions have already been made and there are question marks on others.

According to the club timeline for the appointment of the new senior coach, that shall be announced by the preliminary final weekend. Would like to think some fresh prospective is bought to bare on list retention and who to let go decisions. Personally, in my estimation there is one young bloke there, who given the opportunity to complete a pre-season is set to thrive next season.

Trade, Draft and Free Agency board is your friend for this information.

21 minutes ago, Tarax Club said:

Personally, in my estimation there is one young bloke there, who given the opportunity to complete a pre-season is set to thrive next season.

T, I actually think there are two - the other one hasn’t played seniors but should have if not for injury.

Edited by Neil Crompton

• Author

THUMPING
by KC from Casey Demons

The Casey Demons issued a strong statement to the remaining teams in the VFL race with a thumping 76-point victory in their Elimination Final against Williamstown. This was the sixth consecutive win for the Demons, who stormed into the finals from a long way back with scalps including two of the teams still in flag contention.

Senior Coach Taylor Whitford would have been delighted with the manner in which his team opened its finals campaign with high impact after securing the lead early in the game when Jai Culley delivered a precise pass to a lead from Noah Yze, who scored his first of seven straight goals for the day. Yze kicked his second on the quarter time siren, by which time the Demons were already in control. The youngster repeated the dose in the second term as the Seagulls were reduced to mere spectators as they trailed by 44 points at half time.

The procession continued with the son of  Demon great and current Richmond coach Adem, lifting his goal tally to seven, an economical return from twelve possessions. It was a fine performance given the blustery conditions at Casey Fields.

Yze was complemented by effective partners in the goal kicking spree. Key forwards Aidan Johnson and Luker Kentfield each contributed two goals, while Casey-listed Paddy Cross demonstrated his improvement with four opportunistic goals that would have likely impressed the talent scouts in attendance.

IMG_2726.jpeg

The two men instrumental in securing the victory and ensuring a consistent supply to the forwards were ruckman Tom Campbell, who excelled in the ruck with 29 hitouts, 22 disposals, and 12 clearances, and midfielder Bailey Laurie, who delivered an outstanding performance in the engine room with 27 disposals, seven marks, four tackles, and a goal.

They received great support from teammates Koltyn Tholstrup, Jack Billings Jai Culley and a couple more father-son products in Taj Woewodin. Mitch Hardie was strong in the clinches and Riley Bonner had some impressive moments.

Tholstrup has faced criticism in the past for his inconsistency, but he is demonstrating rapid improvement at this level, and with a strong finish at Casey, a full preseason, and potential inclusion in Melbourne's midfield mix next year, he promises significant further development.

The defence remained resolute throughout, with some promising signs for transition into the future, as Melbourne assesses its ageing backline. Blake Howes (25 possessions, 12 marks), Jed Adams (17 possessions, nine marks, one goal), and Oliver Sestan (20 disposals) all played a huge part in the victory. Sestan is an excellent long kick and his return after several weeks off with injury was a bonus. Tom Fullarton was strong all day.

One sour note was Charlie Spargo's injury, which occurred when he dislocated his shoulder in the third quarter and ended up in hospital; until then, he had been motoring along nicely and given North Melbourne’s interest in the Demon premiership player, it might be the last time the fans will have to see him in the red and blue colours.

The team has an interesting assignment in next week’s semi final against neighbouring Frankston by the bay.  The local rivals did not meet during the home and away season but the Dolphins have always been tough opponents irrespective of ladder position. Details of the game are expected to be released early in the week

CASEY DEMONS 6.2.38 11.5.71 15.6.96 20.12.132

WILLIAMSTOWN 2.3.15 4.3.27 7.4.46 8.8.56

GOALS

CASEY DEMONS Yze 7 Cross 4 Johnson Kentfield 2 Adams Billings Brown Laurie Woewodin

WILLIAMSTOWN Mc McLaughlin 3 Hollow 2 Colenso Collier-Dawkins Gollant

BEST

CASEY DEMONS Yze Adams Laurie Cross Howes Campbell

WILLIAMSTOWN Greiser Fitzgerald Downie Toner Parks Hall-Kahan

IMG_2734.jpegIMG_2733.jpeg

10 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Didn't watch the game but by yours and others reports sounds like its worth a watch tomorrow arvo.

👍

It really is a great watch, scrappy in parts but our youngsters and Casey boys played some impressive football YesitwasaWin4tgeAges.

Just an observation on game style and a point of difference between Casey and the senior team.

I have watched a lot of the Casey games this season and note that after a point, they rarely kick long to the wing. Bonner did it once yesterday with the wind, and it came straight back and resulted in a score. For the rest of the game, Ollie Sestan took the kick in rarely kicked it long and found a short target every time and in some instances got the return possession. The commentators noted the calmness of maintaining possession down back and then moving it forward with fast play on football. Compare this to Steven May's long bombs to the left side of the ground (usually to Max with 3 players hanging off him). Whenever May starts to kick short, he tends to miss his targets and turn it over. Perhaps this is why he favours the long bomb! When Howes and Adams tried the cross-goal short, yesterday they both turned it over. It is a skill.

There is a bit more risk and pressure with this kick, but Sestan nailed every one of them and set the team up for the surge forward. The ball movement, VFL level, albeit at a lower standard, was a joy to watch. Contrast this with the tortured way the senior team tries to execute this. To me, this is coaching and, to a lesser extent, player ability. I believe it allowed Woewodin to shine on one wing and Culley on the other, or in the centre. Fast movement and lots of ground play allowed the smalls to dominate, especially Laurie.

I applaud the Casey coach; he has that team firing and playing a brand of football we want to see from the senior team. I would be giving Sestan a contract as soon as possible (he came off a significant injury break and did not miss a beat yesterday). Finally, I am conflicted re Laurie & Woewodin as they both showed yesterday that they have something to offer, and I ask "Are there any mature-aged players out there who are any better? Don't eject players for the sake of it unless you have a replacement who you think will do better.

Edited by Older demon
Spelling errors on review

1 minute ago, Older demon said:

Compare this to Steven May's long bombs to the left side of the(usually to Max with 3 players hanging off him). Whenever May starts to kick short, he tends to miss his targets and turn it over. Perhaps this is why he favours the long bomb! When Howes and Adams tried the cross-goal short, they both turned it over.

we have definitely transitioned away from the bomb-to-gawn-on-the-wings style of returning the ball from behinds style of play

it is still used on occasion, but nothing like as often as 2020-2023 - of course, that was also the successful period of goodwin's reign!

@WheeloRatings - do you have stats on who returns the ball for kick-ins, and whether they go long / short etc.?

11 hours ago, rjay said:

You could see what the attraction of Kolt was for the talent spotters based on today's showing.

Awesome to hear rjay. You mind telling us what you saw? Haven’t seen any of the game. Thanks

18 hours ago, Travy14 said:

He did, and yes. but we can pick him up in the pre-season draft or rookie draft

So can any club then

5 minutes ago, deanox said:

@rpfc I think having an AFLW board does mean that the threads don't get buried to back pages quite quickly. So while I think your point is valid, I can see the reason for the decision. Who knows, maybe those threads would get more posts of on the main board?

There is just no traffic on that board. Chrome caches for me the main board on the browser default as a quick link. Not the site home page, the main board. It’s the same reason why traffic on the trade board is low while people figure out there is another board to travel to.

I see the reason, I don’t agree with it. As we argue about whether Caulfield is 5% or 7% over the line - there are a group of Demon women worth pushing out to the Land masses that haven’t got the good word yet.

8 minutes ago, DeeBlood said:

Yes, of course censorship is the

last resort of the politically correct thought police when their stupidity is exposed and then they end up eating themselves ..Just ask Izak Rankine or Snoop Dog...🤣🤣

Look, I'm going to put you in ignore to join my handpicked collection of gold standard morons.

Before I do, and at the risk of breaking my rule not to feed trolls, I'll just point out how hilarious this quoted post is and what a self own it is in terms of highlighting how truly stupid you must be.

Do you even know what the word censorship means?

Let me put it in a way that you might understand.

If I choose not watch Sky news am I:

A) Censoring Sky News

B) A crazy brainwashed lefty victim of cancel culture

C) Stepping all over your first amendment rights

D) Exercising my right to ignore morons and moronic views I find offensive, not to mention moronic

By the by, don't worry about replying, I have put you on ignore.

But, by the way i do you hope you get censored and the mods ban you.

And also, just a personal FYI - I think they should change the name of the AFL competition ti the AFLM.

Any whoo, good chatting - I'm off to see my team beat the pies.