View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Gee culley has showed something that we can definitely work with.

I think he's shown more in 2 games than koltyn has shown in all his games he's played this season

Just now, Dees1911 said:

Yep, and we lost !!!

I understand but they played the right way today and although I hate losing, I can’t be disappointed with the way they went about it.

• Oliver hit the contest with pace and was clean

• Windsor had a breakout game

• We held up in defence without Lever and May

• We had a different mix all day in the middle

57 minutes ago, Random Task said:

Liked seeing Bowey at half forward in the last. Refreshing to see a kick to a key forwards advantage that draws them to the ball.

We need to merge Windsors pace and agility with Bowey's kicking. Ill give Dr Nick a call and see what he can muster.

They had way more high performers than we did and ultimately that got them over the line.

Liba, Bont, Richards, English, Kennedy...

Gawn was our standout and the drop off is significant after that but we held our own. BUT you just knew that was always going to be the outcome.

Petracca Viney and Oliver were just all astonishing average and uninspiring as they have mostly been all year.

Pretty proud of the effort today. But it does sadden me how quickly our best players have dropped off. Petracca in particular. I really hope a new coach brings new energy and identity for these three.

Super proud of McDonald, Disco, Culley, Pickett, Gawn, Fritsch and even Petty today. They all played a role in keeping us in touch.

8 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Cully another great game always gives 110%, makes you wonder how many other players have been stuck in the vfl that haven’t been able to get a game due to goodwins loyalty to the premiership team that could also have what it takes

Let the rewriting of history begin.

1 hour ago, Heart Beats True said:

Lots of positives from the game. Young guys played really well. Rivers, Petty and Langford really lifted.

Massive calls on some ineffectual old guys coming up. Viney and Salem firmly in the gun.

I think Tommy Mac and Milkshake go again.

2 minutes ago, cantstandyasam said:

I think Tommy Mac and Milkshake go again.

Yep and till we find replacements will be middle of the road

Just now, dees189227 said:

I think he's shown more in 2 games than koltyn has shown in all his games he's played this season

Culleys size can be a real weapon I reckon and he hits the scoreboard

Just now, binman said:

Let the rewriting of history begin.

Not quite, how many players from that 2021 premiership side ever got dropped, for 4 years since that game if they were fit they played while everyone else rotated in and out for the reminding spots, the only one that really got dropped was tmac, fritsch gets a week, lever a week, but Goodwin never changed the core of that side, Trac Oliver Viney and Gawn were still the midfield core, Rivers despite talk only got a run when those players were unavailable, Pickett only finally got his chance now and we have seen how well that has gone. We had to be one of the most stagnant sides in the afl over that time, if you went over the dogs list playing today I wonder how many were in that 2021 gf team or the lions and cats sides that lost to us in that finals series.

Edited by Garbo

5 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Not quite, how many players from that 2021 premiership side ever got dropped, for 4 years since that game if they were fit they played while everyone else rotated in and out for the reminding spots, the only one that really got dropped was tmac, fritsch gets a week, lever a week, but Goodwin never changed the core of that side, Trac Oliver Viney and Gawn were still the midfield core, Rivers despite talk only got a run when those players were unavailable, Pickett only finally got his chance now and we have seen how well that has gone. We had to be one of the most stagnant sides in the afl over that time, if you went over the dogs list playing today I wonder how many were in that 2021 gf team or the lions and cats sides that lost to us in that finals series.

Spot on. Sparrow would never have been subbed under Goodwin, so it's already changing.

31 minutes ago, Dees1911 said:

I've been thinking same all year, I just couldn't bring myself to shame max.

Think he is still enormous around ground, but we have lost our advantage with hit-outs

Had a look at the whole years stats and it’s:

Hit outs: 768- 620

Clearances: 730-736

Centre Clearances 255-240

Stoppage - 475-496

So we’ve won a truck load more hit outs but as other have mentioned, our mids aren’t taking advantage. Whatever the reason for the disconnect, we’re +148 for hit outs but -12 for all clearances.

I really like Chaplin. I hope he stays and takes back the job of defense coach.

Just now, DeeMee said:

Does anyone else think Kossie doesn’t seem quite right at the moment.

Looks sore. Wouldn’t surprise me if he is carrying a an injury.

54 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I know you love Jefferson but by any measure Roo and Petty are better.

Your blind hatred for almost our entire playing list is one of the most bizarre takes on this site. I have no idea why you even support us.

Not hatred, AND your subjective and selective commentary of "Hatred for entire list" is puerile childishness without any evidence at all. Just stating an opinion of some players who have UNDERPERFORMED! to which I have an entitlement of opinion to!

47 minutes ago, binman said:

I reckon the responsibility for our midfield woes, today and all season, in large part falls to Jones, who is charge of stoppages and the other midfield coach (whose name escapes me - Sam ratcliff?).

Our set up and structures have been woeful all season.

I went to a player sponsor event last year and Maxy was on our table. I was talking to him about stats and whether he is into them. Short answer is yes (he noted every player has access to an app with the full stats the club keep, team wide and for each player - he showed me the app on his phone).

I asked him if hitouts is the most useless stat in footy - leading question but he agreed.

But of more interest he volunteered that by far his least favourite stat was hitout to advantage as it's dependent on the mids being in the right spot - that's to say he hits it to a designated spot on the clock (his phrase) and a mid is supposed to be there.

In games that's mainly on the mids but it also comes down to how the midfield coach sets up structures etc and how well drilled and coached the mids are.

At what point should a core midfield group be beyond the need for detailed instruction? Gawn, Oliver, Viney and Tracc should, after 10 seasons together be able to read each other’s minds at CBAs.

5 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Not hatred, AND your subjective and selective commentary of "Hatred for entire list" is puerile childishness without any evidence at all. Just stating an opinion of some players who have UNDERPERFORMED! to which I have an entitlement of opinion to!

Literally just saw you talk [censored] about McVee in another thread.

I can count on one hand players and coaches you don’t constantly get stuck into.

Jefferson has also underperformed, sorry to break it to you.

2 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Literally just saw you talk [censored] about McVee in another thread.

I can count on one hand players and coaches you don’t constantly get stuck into.

Jefferson has also underperformed, sorry to break it to you.

Mc Vee HAS been bog ordinary this year. Jeffo has been woefully handled by the Goodwin regime!

30 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Culley is a good fit for our side, he runs, tackles, takes the game on, and repeats his efforts - he really wants to succeed, nothing was given to him. The fact he has a big frame, and athleticism, is something to be excited about. Tholstrup is the opposite, high draft pick, doesn't repeat his efforts, prefers to admire his work, and has had games given to him. If it were up to me I'd move Tholstrup on for a 4th round pick at seasons end, some side might be fooled by the fact he was drafted early on the board.

First game I’ve been to in years, it was a valiant effort but the dogs were more polished and I’d say significantly harder at the footy.

Both teams made it their mission to kick the opposition as much as possible, so many horrific turnovers.

In the end, the dogs better players were just more polished and that was the difference.

If we could excise some mental demons, we’d be thereabouts with the other teams between 5-9.

Plessed we have given Culley a go, he can play . A full preseason with our lads will help.

I also thought Adam’s showed composure and might make a go of it. Not so positive about Jeffo or Laurie.

Who staying and who is gunna go will be interesting

1 hour ago, Maldonboy38 said:

It's strange to feel disappointed AND proud after a game. Loved the shuffling of players into different positions, loved our heart and intent, loved the wrestle in the last quarter, loved the high moments of great play, HATED our poor poor disposal. The unforced skills errors today were infuriating.

I felt your last couple of points where clearly what cost us the game today, so frustrating.