View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Buckley is a lock.

Does the club run a process still with a panel to select him and announce in 6-7 weeks or do they get on the front foot and announce it in a couple of weeks. Will be interesting to see how itโ€™s done.

ย 
49 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Buckley had 2 major weaknesses at the Pies. He demanded from players a standard of performance and excellence that he produced as a player which was far too high for most players. He struggled with coaching B grade players which is 75% of most lists. Secondly, his player management relationships were poor. Really, really poor.

However, he fixed both these things, grew as a coach and got a team into a GF. But I reckon he is Tassie bound.

Which leaves us with......

JOHN NORTHEY

2 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

he hasn't at this stage

it's all media speculation

there's a lot of noise though and numerous posters here saying he's a shoo in

his last few years at the pies were not good at all. maybe he has grown and changed but how has he done that sitting on a couch. it's not like he has gone back to work as a senior assistant and rehabilitated his reputation.

and to those saying how sweet it would be if Buckley wins a flag with us so we could stick it to the pies. Carlton supporters said the same thing about Malthouse. That worked out well for them.

he's been out of coaching while the game has changed significantly. i don't know why we think he is better prepared than a top-notch assistant ready to take the step up

if he gets the gig I'll support him 100% of course. i want to win flags and don't care who is coach if we do.

but i want the club to go through a proper process to make sure that Buckley is the best out there.

25 minutes ago, demoncat said:

Blind Freddy could tell a a few weeks into the season that Goodwinโ€™s time as coach was coming to an end sooner rather than later

Iโ€™d be disappointed if the club didnโ€™t start sounding out options as a contingency plan because, guess what, things didnโ€™t get that much better after the 0-5 start

The club preparing for the potential of a new coach didnโ€™t cook our season, our (now previous) coach did that

Yes... it's called contingency planning.

2 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

Ross Lyon was one bounce of the ball from a premiership and I wouldnโ€™t have him. Goodwin is a better prospect than Buckley. He has one in the bag.

Goodwin is available I hear

28 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Goodwin is available I hear

He has a better record at a poorer club who has decades of poor mismanagement.

Maybe Buckley is the new Roosโ€ฆ ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค”

Bring back Goody in a couple of years ๐Ÿคช

Iโ€™d we did sign Bucks would we be more likely to bring someone in like Mihocek in the trade period?

ย 
1 hour ago, rpfc said:

What a shambles of a club if this is true; approaching a potential coach and effectively undermining a flag winning coach and the season you are inโ€ฆ

So either you are full of it or the club is.

Alternative view; this is very good succession planning that you tap into IF needed. We need it now. Even better than if this has occurred itโ€™s been done without any media leaks.

9 hours ago, Howard_Grimes said:

Buck's wants a premiership, and whilst the Tassie gig has its own list of unique perks and positives, even he knows being head coach at a time where the Devils are ready to challenge is unlikely.

I mentioned it earlier in the year as countless others have. We've been in contact with him since the start of the season, a lot of prep has already gone into this. And letting go of Goodwin three weeks to go before the end of the season gives us the best chance of getting a settled coaching group together, RETAINING certain players and hitting the trade and draft period knowing exactly what we're going to do from a list strategy POV.

I think the second point has been missed a lot around here with those who think someone like Buckley is the wrong choice.

I bet my bottom dollar that part of why we're keen on Buckley is to retain Petracca as well as get a spike in performance from our senior core group who will be more inspired and motivated by an aura like Bucks. As well as the assistants that will be brought along.

Supporters forget how important this is.

It's happening, get on-board and leave your silly Melbourne-bias anti Collingwood nonsense behind. Buckley is the one.

And Norm Smith was a Collingwood supporter before joining The Fuschias.

1 hour ago, demoncat said:

Blind Freddy could tell a a few weeks into the season that Goodwinโ€™s time as coach was coming to an end sooner rather than later

Iโ€™d be disappointed if the club didnโ€™t start sounding out options as a contingency plan because, guess what, things didnโ€™t get that much better after the 0-5 start

The club preparing for the potential of a new coach didnโ€™t cook our season, our (now previous) coach did that

So โ€˜blind Freddyโ€™ was in charge making rash decisions and undermining the club? I just donโ€™t believe it, it is trash behaviour.

And if we were tapping up Buckley after our โ€˜awful startโ€™ then it is absolutely a sign of a poorly run club.

Fire him then. Itโ€™s like when we told Neale to โ€˜reapply for your jobโ€™ and he told us to GFO. Good clubs make decisions when it something is so obvious you are undermining the status quo.

So, again, itโ€™s BS or this administration is.

On 08/08/2025 at 19:35, qarocks said:

surely the only way bucks in fav rn is if longmire and daly both turned it down

No one at any stage suggested we were even into Daly and Longmire seemed underwhelmed with the prospect.

Word and all indications are that Buckley was the first option from the start, love it or not.

5 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Keeping his powder dry for when Carlton inevitably sack Voss midway through next season.

Or, aware Melbourne are chips in on Buckley and he doesnโ€™t want to look silly

Truth is we asked Petracca what he wanted to do and he said become a pie, so we thought the next best thing would be to bring in a legendary pie in as coach.

1 minute ago, Young Angus said:

What has Bucks said on all his media appearances about which Melbourne players he would be trading etc I wonder?

I was thinking something similar - I donโ€™t watch much footy media nowadays but would love to get some sound bites of his ramblings on the dees

8 hours ago, lorn said:

Yes. We don't want the same coaching team that failed to win a premiership at Collingwood.

Failed to win a premiership by a goal...

12 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Or, aware Melbourne are chips in on Buckley and he doesnโ€™t want to look silly

Yes that's another option

15 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Truth is we asked Petracca what he wanted to do and he said become a pie, so we thought the next best thing would be to bring in a legendary pie in as coach.

Jock McHale, Leigh Matthews, even Tony Shaw would fit the status on Legendary.

16 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

I was thinking something similar - I donโ€™t watch much footy media nowadays but would love to get some sound bites of his ramblings on the dees

10:40 after our 0-5 start

Edited by adonski

19 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

What has Bucks said on all his media appearances about which Melbourne players he would be trading etc I wonder?

I watch Bucks probably more than any other football commentator or talking head. I do so just because one night I listened to his carefully thought out, nuanced and tactical analysis of a game that surprised me.

There was and is no sign of hubris, and he is always respectful of what he says about players - even ones that overtly make a mistake.

He knows Freo's list very well and has made really good observations on their tactics that were born out in later games.

BUT the other thing I noticed all season was how intimately he understood and had his head around our list, our players strengths and weaknesses and our tactical wins and mistakes as the season went on.

Now this may be because he was actually just doing his job and investing more into his knowledge of teams than other commentators but it just gave me a feeling...

Any one with doubt pls just watch him talk about a couple of games this season. He is fully invested in the current state of footy and tactics, he knows every list way better than nearly any other commentator and particularly he talks about our list and playing group like he has been carefully monitoring everyone in detail.

Simpson seemed coy, Longmire seemed coy and maybe that was just because neither got a call or a sense of interest because we wanted someone specific.

I would add that his Collingwood lost a grand final by a goal and lost a prelim by 4 points the next year.

I would agree that Goodwin's record is probably slightly better than Bucks, that he has a premiership and the love of his players but I think Lomgmire and Buckley are better tacticians.

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

Itโ€™s absolutely ludicrous that there are many fans that have the opinion that making a grand final equates to failure. Contrast that versus any other coach (plenty) that have not made finals.

The unrelenting standards and lack of nuance in understanding the many and myriad of factors that allows a team the ultimate success, across effectively a 10 month period of time as well as some singular games,to then rule someone out of a coaching gig- that some posters show shouldnโ€™t but does astound me.

If thatโ€™s your measure, prepare to be disappointed for all other coaching appointments whilst supporting your team.

Edited by Engorged Onion

12 minutes ago, adonski said:

he is balanced/ on the fence a lot (his style) but also a LOT of insight in here. About the 16 min mark interesting though when asked what heโ€™d do game-plan wise if he was 0-5 with that team. I feel like Goody turned them around in their ability to play a modern brand so Id love to hear what heโ€™d do now after seeing them for another 15 rounds

ย 
4 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:
ย  18 minutes ago, adonski said:

The buck stops with the head coach....He did not even skip a beat when saying it, cracked me up!

He will make a great coach for us where players can play exciting footy without fear of failure.

Imo our club has been a pressure cooker for our players for last few years. Goodwin always seemed a tad on edge, and our players I think took that onto the field. Too many seemed afraid of making mistakes.

Exciting times ahead, we are far better than what we have shown last few years. I predict that bunch of stagnant players will revitalise their careers and motivation/ excitement levels and we will bounce back into finals next year.

3 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Buckley had 2 major weaknesses at the Pies. He demanded from players a standard of performance and excellence that he produced as a player which was far too high for most players. He struggled with coaching B grade players which is 75% of most lists. Secondly, his player management relationships were poor. Really, really poor.

However, he fixed both these things, grew as a coach and got a team into a GF. But I reckon he is Tassie bound.

Pheww!