View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, Robbie On Skates said:

I like the idea of Buckley but he needs support as a people manager. He is a smart football tactician but has the warmth and likeability of a house brick. One of those mission brown ones from the 70s. Knowing some in the industry I fear that this has been the barrier for him in the past.

We will need a Craig McCrae type assistant to build the bridge between process and people.

This is Buckleyโ€™s biggest issue. He tends to think too highly of himself and struggles to build meaningful relationships.

As a player, he was not liked by many around him. Eddie loved him and gave him a leg up and still he failed.

ย 
3 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

This is Buckleyโ€™s biggest issue. He tends to think too highly of himself and struggles to build meaningful relationships.

As a player, he was not liked by many around him. Eddie loved him and gave him a leg up and still he failed.

Did he run over your cat?

How do you know he struggles to build meaningful relationships, how do you know he thinks to highly of himself? And if so, what's the problem with that? You need to have conviction in your philosophy, or no one will buy into it. You also need to have flexibility, and an ability to reflect, on what works, what doesn't and why, which I feel he has shown in his media career post coaching.

It's a high performance environment - and as per society, there will be a bell curve of people who think Bucks, Goodwin, Engorged Onion, or Neitaphart are pretty decent, let's say 70%, then 15% who think they is absolutely amazing and a clear communicator and 15% who will think, nah, wouldn't poke him with a stick. And each will have their lens on why he is or is not their sort of guy.

Welcome to life... and particularly, welcome to leadership. People are not going to agree with all decisions made, particularly when livelihood/career prospects are at stake, because it's existential.

In watching for afar since he exited coaching, there is a humility (which Goodwin had to work on) and demonstrates clearly greater understanding of why you would NOT invest in performance at all costs to the detriment of relationships, and how that impacts on performance.

People evolve, get behind him rather than potting him, unless of course, he actually did run over your cat, and sent you a photo text and this guy.

Wayne Knight Laughing GIF

Edited by Engorged Onion

Just now, Engorged Onion said:

Did he run over your cat?

How do you know he struggles to build meaningful relationships?

It's a high performance environment - and as per society, there will be a bell curve of people who think Bucks, Goodwin or Neitaphart are pretty decent, let's say 70%, then 15% who think he is absolutely amazing and a clear communicator and 15% who will think, nah, wouldn't poke him with a stick. And each will have their lens on why he is or is not their sort of guy.

Welcome to life... and particularly, welcome to leadership. People are not going to agree with all decisions made, particularly when livelihood/career prospects are at stake.

In watching for afar since he retired, there is a humility (which Goodwin had to work on) and demonstrates clearly greater understanding of why you would NOT invest in performance at all costs to the detriment of relationships, and how that impacts on performance.

People evolve, get behind him rather than potting him, unless of course, he actually did run over your cat, and sent you a photo text and this guy.

Wayne Knight Laughing GIF

Sorry Engorged, I have my opinion. I respect the opinion of others in support of Buckley. I had some inside knowledge, but this was a long time ago. Therefore I am happy to accept people change.

Iโ€™d rather have kept Goody than have Buckley. Imo the guy is a [censored].

Quite fascinating to read all the 'pros' and 'cons'.

Im not entirely convinced he the very best option, but neither am I convinced he isn't.

Im going to think that quite possibly his stint away from the job will have done himself a power of good.

He's older, wiser and a lot more circumspect in my opinion. From the occasional listening to him, granted not that often ( but don't listen/watch many footy shows) he seems very well versed in where footy is..Thats as big plus.

Im fairly certain he hasn't JUST been sounded out. I think youll find someone(s) at the club have had a few 'hypothetical' type chats to a number of 'identities' .

Will he be selected ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Is he the very best option ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Are there numerous options (really ) ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Can we afford to stuff around too much ? No

If Bucks was picked would he bring enthusiasm and hunger to the club ๐Ÿค”.. Truckloads I reckon.

We've lacked hunger since 21.

Bucks is a bloke with unfinished business.. Reckon he'd hit the ground not just running.... but galloping. He'll understand there's not a second to waste.

Is he the ideal candidate... candidate , most definitely. He knows what he's doing , probably has already started working on how he'll do it. Most importantly really, sounds like he actually wants the job. Not a bad thing.

He's been in an ideal position to watch us critically, as well as the other 17 clubs.

When first suggested I nearly chucked !!

Then I engaged brain. I'd be very interested in who are any and all other genuine contenders.

I'd be very interested to know what the entire Coaching/Football dept would look like.

I think Buckley ver 2.0 would be a vast improvement on the original.

Im not closed to the idea.

All that said it doesn't matter 1 iota what I think.

Bloody intrigued as to how this plays out.

Looking forward ( well, atm ) to Footy 26.

We'll be different..

How ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Edited by beelzebub

I think heโ€™d be a great appointment for a lot of the reasons countenanced here

For me, though, with filth in laws and wife , seeing him raise a cup in red and blue is what I burn to see

Wife asked if Iโ€™d be ok with him given he is Pies, I said I donโ€™t care if he gets the job done for the Dees

29 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Sorry Engorged, I have my opinion. I respect the opinion of others in support of Buckley. I had some inside knowledge, but this was a long time ago. Therefore I am happy to accept people change.

Iโ€™d rather have kept Goody than have Buckley. Imo the guy is a [censored].

No need to apologise - your opinion is just as valid. 10 years ago, I would have been in the anti Buckley camp for reasons you described. Keep to your convictions ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ

3 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

I think heโ€™d be a great appointment for a lot of the reasons countenanced here

For me, though, with filth in laws and wife , seeing him raise a cup in red and blue is what I burn to see

Wife asked if Iโ€™d be ok with him given he is Pies, I said I donโ€™t care if he gets the job done for the Dees

My Wife, most Bros/sisters in law (including one ex Pie player )...all Filth.

Amount of msgs in last 5 days regarding Football = 0 , Zilch, Nada ....

I actually find that hilarious

For me, there has to be a lot of weight on the fact Bucks actively wants the gig.

Simpson and Longmire were always lukewarm at best.

ย 
55 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Ross Lyon was one bounce of the ball from a premiership and I wouldnโ€™t have him. Goodwin is a better prospect than Buckley. He has one in the bag.

Iโ€™ll add that one to the pile of clueless comments going around at the moment.

2 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Iโ€™ll add that one to the pile of clueless comments going around at the moment.

Would you like to substantiate why Michael?

6 hours ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

Blind Freddy can see that itโ€™s going to be Bucks now. I know the bloke is arrogant but thereโ€™s not a chance heโ€™s sourcing out assistant coaches without clear knowledge of where he stands in the queue.

Some people on here are going to hate him right off the bat but I think this is the right choice, especially with Horse out. An untried assistant would be great if we nailed it but is just too risky (it was 14 years ago but I havenโ€™t forgot the Mark Neeld hype), and Adam Simpson is just too uninspiring, in fact keeping Goody would have been preferable to that!

Yep, its Buckley and or Nunn

Got my vote!

3 hours ago, SPC said:

Adam Simpson spoke the most sense on this topic. You donโ€™t want a coach that needs to be convinced to join your club (Longmire). You want someone who is dog hungry to prove themselves.

Paul Roos says hello

45 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Quite fascinating to read all the 'pros' and 'cons'.

Im not entirely convinced he the very best option, but neither am I convinced he isn't.

Im going to think that quite possibly his stint away from the job will have done himself a power of good.

He's older, wiser and a lot more circumspect in my opinion. From the occasional listening to him, granted not that often ( but don't listen/watch many footy shows) he seems very well versed in where footy is..Thats as big plus.

Im fairly certain he hasn't JUST been sounded out. I think youll find someone(s) at the club have had a few 'hypothetical' type chats to a number of 'identities' .

Will he be selected ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Is he the very best option ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Are there numerous options (really ) ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

Can we afford to stuff around too much ? No

If Bucks was picked would he bring enthusiasm and hunger to the club ๐Ÿค”.. Truckloads I reckon.

We've lacked hunger since 21.

Bucks is a bloke with unfinished business.. Reckon he'd hit the ground not just running.... but galloping. He'll understand there's not a second to waste.

Is he the ideal candidate... candidate , most definitely. He knows what he's doing , probably has already started working on how he'll do it. Most importantly really, sounds like he actually wants the job. Not a bad thing.

He's been in an ideal position to watch us critically, as well as the other 17 clubs.

When first suggested I nearly chucked !!

Then I engaged brain. I'd be very interested in who are any and all other genuine contenders.

I'd be very interested to know what the entire Coaching/Football dept would look like.

I think Buckley ver 2.0 would be a vast improvement on the original.

Im not closed to the idea.

All that said it doesn't matter 1 iota what I think.

Bloody intrigued as to how this plays out.

Looking forward ( well, atm ) to Footy 26.

We'll be different..

How ๐Ÿค” ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ

U like using emojies donโ€™t u beelz!!!

Buckley had 2 major weaknesses at the Pies. He demanded from players a standard of performance and excellence that he produced as a player which was far too high for most players. He struggled with coaching B grade players which is 75% of most lists. Secondly, his player management relationships were poor. Really, really poor.

However, he fixed both these things, grew as a coach and got a team into a GF. But I reckon he is Tassie bound.

7 hours ago, Howard_Grimes said:

Buck's wants a premiership, and whilst the Tassie gig has its own list of unique perks and positives, even he knows being head coach at a time where the Devils are ready to challenge is unlikely.

I mentioned it earlier in the year as countless others have. We've been in contact with him since the start of the season, a lot of prep has already gone into this. And letting go of Goodwin three weeks to go before the end of the season gives us the best chance of getting a settled coaching group together, RETAINING certain players and hitting the trade and draft period knowing exactly what we're going to do from a list strategy POV.

I think the second point has been missed a lot around here with those who think someone like Buckley is the wrong choice.

I bet my bottom dollar that part of why we're keen on Buckley is to retain Petracca as well as get a spike in performance from our senior core group who will be more inspired and motivated by an aura like Bucks. As well as the assistants that will be brought along.

Supporters forget how important this is.

It's happening, get on-board and leave your silly Melbourne-bias anti Collingwood nonsense behind. Buckley is the one.

What a shambles of a club if this is true; approaching a potential coach and effectively undermining a flag winning coach and the season you are inโ€ฆ

So either you are full of it or the club is.

9 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

But I reckon he is Tassie bound.

With Tassie election fall out we're the only game in town at present

17 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

They're handy..

I do miss ๐Ÿค”

4 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Not excited by a retread coach most of whom will be happy to collect $1.2M a year for 3-4 years and leave us mid table.

On the other hand it will calm the membership exodus and give us a short term media bump.

As Dickens wrote in David Copperfield .... Tell MFC that Bucks is willing....

Hopefully I'm surprised but MFCSS runs deep in most of us

MFCSS ?what is it?

1 hour ago, Nietaphart said:

Ross Lyon was one bounce of the ball from a premiership and I wouldnโ€™t have him. Goodwin is a better prospect than Buckley. He has one in the bag.

Yep, but the club is clearly banking on a new voice.

Let's hope the admin have finally made a good decision.

It is funny seeing those anti Goodwin posters fawning over Buckley though.

2 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Yep, but the club is clearly banking on a new voice.

Let's hope the admin have finally made a good decision.

It is funny seeing those anti Goodwin posters fawning over Buckley though.

๐Ÿคž

Longmire out of the race is a disaster. Buckley overrated player overrated coach. We are stuffed.

26 minutes ago, rpfc said:

What a shambles of a club if this is true; approaching a potential coach and effectively undermining a flag winning coach and the season you are inโ€ฆ

So either you are full of it or the club is.

Blind Freddy could tell a a few weeks into the season that Goodwinโ€™s time as coach was coming to an end sooner rather than later

Iโ€™d be disappointed if the club didnโ€™t start sounding out options as a contingency plan because, guess what, things didnโ€™t get that much better after the 0-5 start

The club preparing for the potential of a new coach didnโ€™t cook our season, our (now previous) coach did that

John Longmire deciding (for the moment) that he isn't interested in coaching the Melbourne Football Club is very disappointing.

I guess we could still try to convince him?

Otherwise, it's Adam Simpson or Nathan Buckley, or perhaps one of the new untried coaches?

I am slowly warming towards the possibility of Nathan Buckley as coach of the Demons. But only if he has that "fire in the belly" to help us win a Premiership.

ย 
39 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

At least Bub uses proper English, not like u. C what I did there? ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

53 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

Paul Roos says hello

Very different appointment. He was brought back to reset a poor organisation, where other coaches wouldnโ€™t be afforded the time. He was there under the agreement it was only a short term gig, with a handover.