21 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

The inside word I received prior to the season was Kozzie was leaving to WA and Goody will go at seasons end if we don’t make finals. Take it as you will as Kozzie is a demon for life (overjoyed by this). But at the time I do believe Kozzie was looking elsewhere and informed the club late last year.

If Goody stays it will be more about his payout than wanting to keep him as coach. His win loss record over the last 50 games is not good. Last year’s review recognised that the club had a favourable draw and finals was a minimal pass mark.

I will be forever thankful for Goody and the premiership he gave us all, but it seems he has lost his way and the club should bring in someone new at a reduced pay to stay within the cap in the first year and increase it in later years. (Back loading the contract).

Alan Richardson was seen as a weak Football Manager from the review and he needs to be replaced at minimum at years end. Who knows how the new CEO and President will views things. Their job is to build a strong performing club which includes the football department.

Thank you for sharing. It comes as no surprise that Goody is on notice and has to achieve certain targets to retain his position. I have heard something similar. Nor am I surprised to hear the assessment of Richardson. He seems a nice bloke but only the board would know if he is performing as the board demands.

It sounds like the review presented many problems and solutions, with the club addressing the easy ones and waiting for contracts to lapse before tackling the more challenging ones. Only the board know

22 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:
  1. Entice Darren Burgess back

2. Ring John Longmire

That will do for starters…

I reckon the mob in Navy blue are already into him.

21 hours ago, Older demon said:

To quote the external reviewer. "It is never as bad as it seems"

Without having any knowledge of the aims and goals for this season, I don't think anyone has any idea of what goals have been reached, how improvement has been measured or any of the parameters the club is looking for and not just this year in isolation but moving forward.

What we do know is that the club has invested heavily in Trac, Oliver, Picket, Viney, Langdon, Lever THolstrup, Windsor, & Van Rooyen for the long term and Gawn, Langford, Lindsay, Petty & Rivers until 2027. That has to be the core of the team moving forward. Goodwin is contracted this year and the next, and only the board will know if he is meeting their expectation. Everything else is our opinion, the optics of the team and scuttlebutt from journos.

I hope the board and the new CEO look after governance, finance and set up a football department that is organised, inventive and oversees the men's and women's programs. They (and I have no idea what this department thinks of the season, player and coach performance and health and fitness issues) should be getting regular feedback and reports from the football dept. Simon today correctly stated that AFL is a results-based sport, and good 3-quarter performances don't excite people, but in an 18-team comp, there is only 1 premier.

I want a CEO who keeps out of football matters and runs the club, and overseas on-field and off-field performance. I want a president who communicates, gets the right people in the best positions, demands the best and makes sure the club isn't bullied or misrepresented.

As angry and frustrated as I am with the losses, the goal kicking, the losses, and that diabolical first quarter today, I believe we have to trust those in charge to manage the here and now and the future.

If I was the list manager I think that Fullarton, TMac, K Brown, M Hore will not have their contracts renewed. Billings & Woewodin may be on the cusp and with McVee yet to sign a new contract a little worried

You are a few light, Jefferson, Verall, Sharp, sparrow and Laurie are not AFL level talents. As well there needs to be a lot of change in the FD starting with the coach. He has been with the MFC for approx 10 years for whatever reasons his game plan is no longer revalant and the players seem to have lost the plot. He should be told his time is up and pay him out. We need a new coach and quite a few others. We need to start now or 2026 will go the same way as this year. It's time!

1 minute ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

I reckon the mob in Navy blue are already into him.

Yes you are probably right…

21 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:
  1. I would be organising another Full Review of the entire Club

Top to Bottom, as it’s obvious the Review last year did not address the real problems

Dont need another luvey dovey review, just get Friiggen ruthless and SACK the whole damn underperforming, clueless football department, starting with the coach, football operations, performance staff, the lot! End of story. Do not continue to accept sub par mediocrity and performance!

24 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Dont need another luvey dovey review, just get Friiggen ruthless and SACK the whole damn underperforming, clueless football department, starting with the coach, football operations, performance staff, the lot! End of story. Do not continue to accept sub par mediocrity and performance!

Yes mate, but there may be diamonds within the wreckage

We must boot out selectively

31 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Yes mate, but there may be diamonds within the wreckage

We must boot out selectively

SYWL, you should, seriously, start up a slogan business.

Just like Forest Gump. 💩 happens T shirts or the like 😛

1 minute ago, Nietaphart said:

SYWL, you should, seriously, start up a slogan business.

Just like Forest Gump. 💩 happens T shirts or the like 😛

I like to keep posts short. To the point, harks back to my Newsroom days.

Some posts on here are like novels, and take far too long to read on a phone 📱

Choose a direction and commit to it. I think we need to focus on the draft. Maybe move on 2-3 guys to improve draft hand and build a team. We’ve seen how quickly things can turn when a club is decisive. I’m just convinced this current scenario is doomed. We need change

12 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I like to keep posts short. To the point, harks back to my Newsroom days.

Some posts on here are like novels, and take far too long to read on a phone 📱

There is a market for SWYL.

You make me smile reading your post!

4 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

There is a market for SWYL.

You make me smile reading your post!

It just gets so frustrating because many of us on here saw the problems 3-4 Seasons ago. I don’t say that to win brownie points.

But what other professional Sports Cub, has the exact same problems for so long, Coming off a Powerhouse GF Victory

23 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

The inside word I received prior to the season was Kozzie was leaving to WA and Goody will go at seasons end if we don’t make finals. Take it as you will as Kozzie is a demon for life (overjoyed by this). But at the time I do believe Kozzie was looking elsewhere and informed the club late last year.

If Goody stays it will be more about his payout than wanting to keep him as coach. His win loss record over the last 50 games is not good. Last year’s review recognised that the club had a favourable draw and finals was a minimal pass mark.

I will be forever thankful for Goody and the premiership he gave us all, but it seems he has lost his way and the club should bring in someone new at a reduced pay to stay within the cap in the first year and increase it in later years. (Back loading the contract).

Alan Richardson was seen as a weak Football Manager from the review and he needs to be replaced at minimum at years end. Who knows how the new CEO and President will views things. Their job is to build a strong performing club which includes the football department.

I'm also convinced that the club thought they were losing Kozzie in late 24/early 25 and were expecting some picks in this year's draft. Going off our trading behaviour last year they either expected to be back in the first round this year or over-estimated our talent and midfield talent coming through.

16 minutes ago, layzie said:

I'm also convinced that the club thought they were losing Kozzie in late 24/early 25 and were expecting some picks in this year's draft. Going off our trading behaviour last year they either expected to be back in the first round this year or over-estimated our talent and midfield talent coming through.

Possibly Layzie. The word around town this year’s draft is hugely compromised and the club has a history of trading future picks into earlier drafts. If the talent is there the club will try to enter into this draft as well. With Tassie possibly coming into the league, it maybe a lot harder.

I’m of the opinion the club thought it could trade up further in the 2023 draft for pick one to get Reid. It didn’t occur with Kolt and Windsor coming our way.

Either way I am very happy with Langford and Lindsay. IMO Lindsay will be the better of the two.

10 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

Possibly Layzie. The word around town this year’s draft is hugely compromised and the club has a history of trading future picks into earlier drafts. If the talent is there the club will try to enter into this draft as well. With Tassie possibly coming into the league, it maybe a lot harder.

I’m of the opinion the club thought it could trade up further in the 2023 draft for pick one to get Reid. It didn’t occur with Kolt and Windsor coming our way.

Either way I am very happy with Langford and Lindsay. IMO Lindsay will be the better of the two.

Yeah no doubt about 2023, we likely threw everything at that one.

I think Langford will do some amazing work but I'm also a big rap for Lindsay.

I'd go as far as saying by favourite moment of of 2025 was hearing his name called out on draft night (if you count the 2024 draft in this season and not last).

We have hit the draft hard since the premiership with 5 first rounders in 3 drafts

If the comparisons hold true (Langford = Bontempelli and Lindsay = Sidebottom) then we are laughing

Windsor’s obvious comp is Max Holmes; unsure about Tholstrup

Sadly el jefe makes Weed look like a world beater; we really need him to step up

Without a first rounder this year and the quality of the draft under serious question, it will be interesting to see how the team continues to develop

So I expect even the board have accepted that a finals berth this year is looking like a near impossible task. Which means that the club has failed to meet its own expectations two years running. Time for a rethink. Club needs to take a long-term assessment of where we are at. Both the footy department and the List need to be looked at and we need to come up with a plan on how we are going to win our next flag.

What annoys me is the number of people on here that came out of the woodwork a few weeks ago to celebrate Pickett's signing and are nowhere to be seen now. It was their grand final and dont seem to care about where the list is going. They were ready to kill anyone who had something different to their own opinion and some even suggested it was a simple decision. Fairweather and I'm glad they arent in charge.

When the new CEO comes in I want to see more considered contract offers. With free agency there is no reason to extend so long as the compo pick could possibly be better than something offered in a trade if their career goes bad. Game changes fast, the list needs to as well.

2 minutes ago, biggestred said:

Yeah. We're treading water until new leadership comes in. There's no direction and you can feel it.

Imagetovideomakethewheelspinandtheseasmove-ezgif.com-optimize.gif

24 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

All fair comments.

Having the two CEOs at the conference is sub-optimal to say the least, given Chippendall ran for the job and didn’t get it.

Remember all the luvvies on Demonland telling us what a great job Roffey & Goodie were doing & canning the naysayers.

It was all Woodstock & a modern day love in.

The rot was clearly obvious from mid 2022 & let's not forget Goodie failed miserably in 2017, 2019 & 2020.

He wasted a generation & presided over an era of gross underachievement.

Knives out