7 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Both the Brothers along with The Coach of C have been to the umpires and their AFL boss in a one on one and it's worked especially about diving on the player with the ball on the ground, and the pushing in the back, doing shifty stuff on and around the mark, and also playing on to advantage.

They're a "special" lot those birds.

They knock on a door...it opens...

Were we to we'd be told to [censored] off. Not that we would anyway.

10 hours ago, ElDiablo14 said:

What do we do moving forward with our veterans in the midfield? JV, Petracca and Clarry.

I think the way the game is going we need better users of the ball there. None of those 3 are unfortunately.

Now with the likes of XL, Langford, McVee in our best 22. Can we realistically keep the 3 before mentioned for the long term?

10 hours ago, demon3165 said:

Been saying that since 22 but some posters don't agree with that analogy....

We unnecessarily extended JV to the end of '28 last year. And we all know the contract situation with the other two. Tail has wagged the dog down at Jolimont Terrace for too long now. There are just no words.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

11 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I thought the same, reminded me of the time Whitten went around before the SOO game almost 30 years ago to the day. I was getting a bit teary at the ground.

Yep, me too on Whitten and my tears.

10 hours ago, Jjrogan said:

Turner is on our list. . Switch him and Petty or JVR for 2 months. I dont care if he's dominating down back. So would any gun forward. The kid can play, has dash and takes the game on. Also he can take a hanger. Right now we need a 14 disposal 6 mark 3 goal game way more than we need 8 intercepts in the backline. Tmac is an AFL level backman and him sitting watching is a total waste of resource.

The problem is he needs the ball coming to him and fades in and out of games as a forward, like young forwards do. Whereas when playing defence, the ball comes to him. He stays back IMO.

10 hours ago, OhMyDees said:

Langford should have been subbed not Lindsay. He looked noticeably cooked.

I know Goodwin loves Petty as a forward but I think we’d be better off playing Turner forward and Petty down back.

Lindsay looked far more tired. He was subbed after lying on the ground exhausted grabbing at Hill's ankle that gave him his only goal for the day. Conversely, Langford was our 6th highest disposal getter with 19. Lindsay managed 8 to nearly the end of the 3rd, making him 3rd equal lowest possession getter. Windsor managed 6 in one quarter or so.

8 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

Totally agree for the reasons you state.
Also their elite disposal.
Been watching those 2 carve us up for years and they've been the difference more than once.
Sidebottom particularly.

Every November for the last 20 years in the Sidey household:

• Mrs. Sidey: Do you think we can afford to take the kids to Europe, first class, for six weeks next year Love?

• Sidey: Let me check next year's fixture. Yep, we play Melbourne twice as usual.

• Mrs. Sidey: Oh good. That's six votes guaranteed in the Copland Trophy - a top three finish again and a 50K bonus.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

2 hours ago, Clintosaurus said:

Pies NEVER have frees paid against them late in the game. McCreery could have run 100 metres without a whistle. It's why their under 1 goal win % is so good.

I also feel they get the especially dubious frees/50s early in the game so it's not so glaringly obvious in the dying minutes.

Flat as a pancake after that result. Gave up on finals after our 0-5 start and have been happy to look at positives other than results in games since that.

But yesterday I just wanted a win no matter how we got it. Thats 10 out of 11 games we have lost to the filth. Horrible.

I was one of the few confident going into the game, felt we were getting them at a good time. It ended up being as good an example of all the things we have been doing wrong for way too long now.

We were not good enough I50. Tough job umpiring but todays effort was bewildering and cost us dearly. Melky free against just bizarre.

9 minutes ago, The Cult of Disco Turner said:

Pies supporters on both sides of me in the office today.

It is taking all my strength not to lose my temper.

Pray for me.

Nah.... snot'em all 😉

5 minutes ago, Colm said:

Flat as a pancake after that result. Gave up on finals after our 0-5 start and have been happy to look at positives other than results in games since that.

But yesterday I just wanted a win no matter how we got it. Thats 10 out of 11 games we have lost to the filth. Horrible.

I was one of the few confident going into the game, felt we were getting them at a good time. It ended up being as good an example of all the things we have been doing wrong for way too long now.

0/5 start says it all.

Completely gut wrenching.

On the back foot thereafter.

How could we be so seemingly underprepared to start the season?

9 hours ago, Jjrogan said:

You said it yourself we dont need a star kpf, we just need at the least an average kpf. not going to know unless we give turner a try for real. Still only 23. Why do you think he cant be a competition average forward? Too small?

When Hehas played there in the past is ok against the lower teams but not the top sides. Let's use him back where he is best.

16 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

I also feel they get the especially dubious frees/50s early in the game so it's not so glaringly obvious in the dying minutes.

Yes , sets a tone most definitely

Last time I looked you're under no compulsion to give the opponent the ball ( if free given )

1 hour ago, Travy14 said:

No, Disco has been our best player over the past 5-6 weeks (Bar Max). not only does he intercept and beat his opponent, but he gives us drive. he cannot be moved. He has a clear role and is thriving in it, swapping young guys around like that gives no balance and confuses them. Same as putting JVR in and out, I think we need to give him 5 weeks here and let him go. Other wise his role and synergy with teammates changes every 2 weeks, very different playing with Melk, Kossie and Petty in the AFL compared to Jeffo, Mentha and Fullarton in the VFL

So we agree then. Disco stays back. Excellent.

Draft for talent, trade for need. There has to be some uncut diamond out there wanting a crack at senior footy. Without doing any research, you’d have to think GC, Brisbane or Freo would have some young key forwards that are looking at options.

Proved to me JVR is not going to make it

was and observer and passenger most of the day in my view doesn't have a clue about how to play forward Cant ruck Cant mark

Shame really just doesn't get into the game

19 minutes ago, The Cult of Disco Turner said:

Pray for me.

You can borrow one my sledges for such fans from the bad old days (ie 1977 to 2017, with some gaps) - a half decent team would have beaten us by 8 goals.

52 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

The problem is he needs the ball coming to him and fades in and out of games as a forward, like young forwards do. Whereas when playing defence, the ball comes to him. He stays back IMO.

Lindsay looked far more tired. He was subbed after lying on the ground exhausted grabbing at Hill's ankle that gave him his only goal for the day. Conversely, Langford was our 6th highest disposal getter with 19. Lindsay managed 8 to nearly the end of the 3rd, making him 3rd equal lowest possession getter. Windsor managed 6 in one quarter or so.

I thought Lindsay may’ve taken the subs vest early. He looked knackered in the 2nd term.

1 more game to go and he can get a rest. Don’t like resting kids unless they are hopelessly out of form, which he isn’t.

16 minutes ago, Dockett 32 said:

0/5 start says it all.

Completely gut wrenching.

On the back foot thereafter.

How could we be so seemingly underprepared to start the season?

Maybe Goodwin thought he could pull off a Brisbane-like season, guaranteed premiership. 😎

I woke up today still bummed about the loss, but a little more buoyant than I normally am after losing (to the filth).

Guess I am just optimistic. I think we are looking a lot better this year than the same time last year. We could have and should have won, against the top team right now. That's nothing to be taken lightly. We've had a good 8 weeks - I am actually angrier about the Saints game, if we had played just a little bit better/kicked just a little straighter we would have won that easily (despite playing poorly), and the Pies loss would not mean too much, and I think we can beat Port over there. But 0-2 from those and finals looks extremely unlikely.

But in saying that, I have seen enough to know two things:

• We can actually have a big 2026 if we can look after Maxy and May. Both fit next year would be huge. Draft for a couple of needs - try to sell the dream of a big 2026 for the Dees. We will have Kozzie, Trac and Oliver. They want another flag. The kids are building, they will want their first flag. We need a solid forward presence. I think JVR will put together a few good games this year. He can't be dropped so soon though, he needs a block of weeks otherwise the constant promotion/demotion is pointless.

• IF we can actually sort out our a) forward entries (just a little) and our conversion (even just a little), we will be a serious threat, provided we start in Rd 1 (or 0 or whatever malarkey those gooses in HQ do next year), and not Rd 6. Hell, with better conversion, steadier heads in the final minutes and this year we win against GWS, the Saints and the Pies - we would be equal 5th!!! And that's WITH a disastrous Rds 2-5!!

I know the second point above is the eternal IF for us. But I am positive!! :-)

40 minutes ago, The Cult of Disco Turner said:

Pray for me.

I’d come out swinging after smoko!

12 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

@Gorgoroth pretty much summed it up all well in one post.

My positives: Young players in Bowey, Langford, Howes, Tholstrup, McVee, Turner all showing a bit.

I think with Howes and Tholstrup, you just leave them in for the rest of the year. Get as much game time into them as possible. I started celebrating Koltyns set shot in the last because it was gun barrel straight, only to then fall shot.

Between Howes and McVee, they both Completely shut Hill down for the game.

I actually thought Lindsay was still to be subbed? BTW he has all the traits to be our Sidebottom in years to come. Hes definitely composed and clean with the footy.

Turner is officially in our best 22 line up.

Yeah the young kids are showing some good mettle. I'm gla to see Tholstrup get into the game, he has the ability to be a very hard working player who influences games if he can put it all together, sort of like Rayner is finally doing at the Lions

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Our players tried their hardest yesterday. They lacked polish and finishing skills going inside 50 but the game plan was sound - which I said pre-game I thought Goodwin had adapted to beat teams like the pies that run frenetically from the backline

The umpiring was deplorable - why was Max called to play in in the last minute? Why weren't he Coll players hot with a 50m penalty for encroaching the mark?

But on Langford I thought he looked very tired yesterday as well. Said to my mate that he shirked a few contests. Could have run straight line at the ball but didn't and instead tried to put one arm out and spin around the Coll opponent.

I really like him as a player but he needs to get that out of his game IMO

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Name one forward that doesnt go in and out of games or even weeks. Its not a valid reason to not try something. We dont need someone to dominate. We need someone to just lead correctly and take a mark. In any case, we have 10 weeks to try something different. We cant keep doing the same thing and expecting different results. Im not big on jvr, but if he is to play, he cant be ruck. Give him a chance as a pure FF. Goodwin has to swallow some pride here and admit hes got things wrong.

Edited by Jjrogan

1 minute ago, Jjrogan said:

Name one forward that doesnt go in and out of games or even weeks. Its not a valid reason to not try something. We dont need someone to dominate. We need someone to just lead correctly and take a mark. In any case, we have 10 weeks to try something different. We cant keep doing the same thijg and expecting different answers. Im not big on jvr, but if he is to play, he cant be ruck. Give him a chance as a pure FF. Goodwin has to swallow some pride here and admit hes got things wrong.

100%

If he was put up there 80% game time, VERY minor ruck, with the goal of 2 goals a game. We win a few extra games this year.

But because we keep promoting/demoting and shifting his roles, he can't develop. Rucking is not helping.

I'll be pretty bummed if we trade him, and another team actually puts time into him and he kicks bags against us. Because he certainly has the potential. He is just low on confidence and low on exposure to his ideal role.

9 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Yeah the young kids are showing some good mettle. I'm gla to see Tholstrup get into the game, he has the ability to be a very hard working player who influences games if he can put it all together, sort of like Rayner is finally doing at the Lions

Yeah 2 snags for the young kid in a big game does take some mite. I wasnt convinced he had it to be successful in the AFL. Im not completely convinced but can see what he is capable of. You dont fluke performances like that. He can take confidence and build on that for sure.