1 hour ago, Gorgoroth said:

It’s the same ol’ same ol’ isnt it.

Now forget the umpires, they are an easy out and an uncontrollable entity.

What we can control is Fritta playing on twice without looking, one led to a turn over and a goal, the other a point instead of a sure goal.

Disco kicking long to an out number when he had 3 teammates within 10 meters and 1 filth player. Turn over, goal.

Kozzie trying a don’t argue in tight spaces, then putting the ball on the ground, 50 meter penalty, goal.

The usual blasting forward to contests in our f50 (usually outnumbered).

However had how many interceptions by the end? We didn’t try and negate him, just kicked it at him.

When we had all the momentum in the second qtr we still managed to kick 2.4 to 4.0, classic Melbourne.

How many missed tackles did we have? How often did Sidebottom run away and through our players?

We have only ourselves to blame as per usual, but feel free to hate the umps if it makes you feel better.

All those things are correct. Umpires were also farcical. Both things can be true.

On the couch they're talking about Langdon on Daicos and umps should've paid a free in 1st 30 seconds. What about the scragging on Petracca and Oliver! Gawn getting scragged every marking contest! Give me a break.

A review was done last year on our culture which seems not to be working with May as you lose & win as a team!, but another one needed to analyse both our game plan with constant bombing & why we can’t trade in or develop a key fwd! How is Jvr meant to develop when he’s rucking part time?

1 hour ago, Gorgoroth said:

It’s the same ol’ same ol’ isnt it.

Now forget the umpires, they are an easy out and an uncontrollable entity.

What we can control is Fritta playing on twice without looking, one led to a turn over and a goal, the other a point instead of a sure goal.

Disco kicking long to an out number when he had 3 teammates within 10 meters and 1 filth player. Turn over, goal.

Kozzie trying a don’t argue in tight spaces, then putting the ball on the ground, 50 meter penalty, goal.

The usual blasting forward to contests in our f50 (usually outnumbered).

However had how many interceptions by the end? We didn’t try and negate him, just kicked it at him.

When we had all the momentum in the second qtr we still managed to kick 2.4 to 4.0, classic Melbourne.

How many missed tackles did we have? How often did Sidebottom run away and through our players?

We have only ourselves to blame as per usual, but feel free to hate the umps if it makes you feel better.

Took me a while to find . . . the one post that accurately and succinctly nails it.

1 hour ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Perhaps it was just me but I thought that the pre-game stuff with ND seemed just a little more poignant than usual.

I thought the same, reminded me of the time Whitten went around before the SOO game almost 30 years ago to the day. I was getting a bit teary at the ground.

@Gorgoroth pretty much summed it up all well in one post.

My positives: Young players in Bowey, Langford, Howes, Tholstrup, McVee, Turner all showing a bit.

I think with Howes and Tholstrup, you just leave them in for the rest of the year. Get as much game time into them as possible. I started celebrating Koltyns set shot in the last because it was gun barrel straight, only to then fall shot.

Between Howes and McVee, they both Completely shut Hill down for the game.

I actually thought Lindsay was still to be subbed? BTW he has all the traits to be our Sidebottom in years to come. Hes definitely composed and clean with the footy.

Turner is officially in our best 22 line up.

53 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

Shocking umpiring, we did pretty well considering the game wasn't a fair one. Surely we need some kind of arc to right the many wrongs that happen in a game like that. I don't care if it slows it down...until they can umpire fairly and un-bias they deserve a big brother making sure they do their job properly.

Daicos really is loved by the umps. I mean we got within a point against a good team and those bloody umps. I'm no sook, but that wasn't a fair game!

Granted we missed a few we should have got, we had a couple of chances to win it towards the end but just can't finish as well as others. Still...didn't seem like a fair game.

Agree. Everyone booing at the game knew we were being robbed! We made errors yes, but some of those umpiring decisions were very questionable.

I thought Langford made some uncharacteristic mistakes early on. Looked a bit overawed by the occasion. But he worked his way into the game.

It’s an enormous responsibility that we have given both him and Lindsay in playing the wings. It’s a big ask, especially in big games. And it’s going to reap the rewards down the line, but it does come with risks.

Sidebottom had a monster game, because he’s got 5000 more years on those two. But imagine what Langford learnt today playing on one of the best wingers in the game.

The sooner we get more of the footy in the hands of these two, along with Bowey, Howes, Turner, Chin and Windsor, the better. They are all very good ball users with a lot of composure, and unfortunately that’s something we lack in our very best players right now.

Gawn, Trac and Oliver are some of the best players in the league at winning the footy. In fact, we smashed them in clearances and contested possessions, and that’s why we were able to stay in the contest. But unfortunately these guys are also not great ball users, and their lack of skills can really hurt you in a really tight game where every mistake matters.

Couple that with Pies missing like one set shot to our 10 or so, and that’s the game.

6 minutes ago, Nasher said:

According to Gawn, he didn’t even hear what May said because of the noise. Talk about a storm in a teacup.

May probably told him “it’s ok big fella, I can’t hit that kick either” 😂

3 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

[censored] this corrupt joke of a [censored] competition.

And Daicos you are a soft [censored]. Should be ashamed of your carry on like you’re a ballerina.

FUUUUUUUUCK

Do you want odds on the MRO looking at Daicos dropping his knees into Langdon’s chest, when Ed was flat on his back on the ground?

I thought it was disgusting and if it was Kozzie it would be 2-3 weeks.

You won’t hear it even mentioned.

Edited by Redleg

7 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Dunstalls response says it all.

Just one of many stinkers, but it won't stop our 'supporters' bagging out their own players, rather than suggest the umpires played any part.

May played a ripper of a game, but he has form with sort of behavior.

Gawn on the other hand has been reminded time and time again to be aware of his limitations with his kicking, yet decides to do a torp and inevitable turns it over

I'm sort of in both camps here, but May needs to say this at the team review. Not out on the field

2 minutes ago, FireInTheBennelly said:

Just one of many stinkers, but it won't stop our 'supporters' bagging out their own players, rather than suggest the umpires played any part.

nearly every post in this thread mentions the umpires

Of the game itself, I thought we were far better with contest and clearance, but as expected, Collingwood's defence was just too good and our forward entries not dangerous enough.

I'm a firm believer that we're never going to have the wood over Collingwood until both Pendles and Sidebottom retire.

Their on-field leadership and footy IQ is too far above ours.

58 minutes ago, old dee said:

Picket fence are you out there? I never thought I would say this " we have to play Jefferson for the next 4 games" all the other KPF's on our list are not up to the job. We drafted Jefferson as a KPF. So let's find out if he has the goods. We sure won't find out playing him at Casey any longer or not playing in either team as an emergency. Play the kid for God's sake.

Amen to that Old Dee!

2 hours ago, binman said:

It's beyond a [censored] joke.

Another bloody game where instead of just enjoying the contest I'm livid at the standard of the umpiring.

What's the bloody deal with umpires 50 metreS away from a contest overrulimg an umpire who is 15 metres from the cintest with an unimpeded virew (eg the Howes marking contest free) - happens every week.

Made worse when they DON'T overuse blatant howlers or missed decisions, which i thought was the only time a non controlling umpire was supposed to pay a free (the bizarre decision to pay a block against melk in one on two contest when he was clearly shoved in the back)

What's the deal with the ridiculous inconsistency (eg sparrow insufficient attempt and then no free against daicos, tracc holding the ball with zero time to dispose od it then pies players with more time and no free)?

What's the deal with ruck lotto decisions?

Whats the deal with non decisions of blatant free kicks

One of the things that infuriates me us all the AFL accredited journalists give the idea of making them full time professionals is ALWAYS rejected out of hand by almost every single one if them.

I mean it's the only logical thing to do.

And the media's half hearted criticism of the standard of umpiring as if fans are just making it up how poor the standard of umpiring is, how much it is ruining the game for fans.

Can't bite the hand that feeds.

And to be clear i don't blame the umpires. I blame the [censored] AFL.

And i truly believe they don't make meaningful efforts to improve the standards of umpiring because all of the angst and controversy is such great content.

I’m sure you would have been at the game today, Binny, but on Ch 7 Luke Hodge was not at all happy with multiple decisions against us.

BT kept trying to bait him but he resisted blowing his lid

1 hour ago, old dee said:

He isn't at the club yet. We have tried drafting kids. We have tried bring in second time players from other clubs, we even tried to find a diamond in the rough at Werribee. We have even tried turn back men into forwards

It ain't easy. You have to keep turning over players till you snag a good KPF. We don't even need a champion just a good reliable player who who performs week in week out. We have to give Jefferson some games in a row to see if he can be that player. I doubt it but we won't know unless he plays at the top level.

Turner is on our list. . Switch him and Petty or JVR for 2 months. I dont care if he's dominating down back. So would any gun forward. The kid can play, has dash and takes the game on. Also he can take a hanger. Right now we need a 14 disposal 6 mark 3 goal game way more than we need 8 intercepts in the backline. Tmac is an AFL level backman and him sitting watching is a total waste of resource.

Can't fault the effort

I watched Fritsch in isolation. For a good chunk of the game.

1. He gets lost in our zone. Stands in no mans land defending absolutely nothing.

2. Applies next no no pressure unless the camera is on him.

3. His opponents show him no respect because he is not punishing them.

A ruthless club would move him on and build a forward line around genuine competitors that take their chances and want to be involved in the game.

Edited by Doug Reemer

The [censored] media will now replay the narrative about internal strife and division because May and Gawn got upset about losing….

Painful 2 hour drive home, no radio just silence. 12 pages of terrible umpiring so won't go there, but in those 12 pages not one mention of Levers contribution today, he has been horrible all year, pre and post injury. Watching him kick for goal pre game, maybe swing him fwd see what he can conjure up, I didn't see him miss, and disco has his spot covered down back, anyone has to be a better option than JVR at the moment. Yes he doesn't have the opportunity at a full fwd time game, but what forward does now?

Still makes my blood boil that 5 mins into the last qtr, we have Max, pickett and clarry on the bench, only way to win close games is have your best side on the field, not terrible rotations which left kozzy stranded on the pine for 10 mins.

Bad kicking and bad decisions is bad football, and tonight although having 24 pos, trac was horrible, looked shy to compete early and disposal was [censored].

Lastly, starting windsor as sub and then subbing out Lindsay isn't the best way to keep these kids growing, 4 or 5 senior players could have well been subbed out before X.

Tough month ahead on the road....

GO DEES.

Langford should have been subbed not Lindsay. He looked noticeably cooked.

I know Goodwin loves Petty as a forward but I think we’d be better off playing Turner forward and Petty down back.

3 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Or handball to Sparrow for a walk in goal

Fritsch is slipping back to old habits of burning team mates and just not pushing hard enough.

Even defending the mark. He just jogs up instead of running hard and aggressively to put pressure on.

When you team it with Petty, and JVR, I think we really need to swing Disco forward and have harder running aggressive players up there.

If we're going to keep bombing it under pressure, we may as well play more chaos ball.

Chin, Kozzy and Turner can do this.

Many mentioned that petty needed to be swapped with Turner by half time.

Goodwin should have pulled the trigger.

May as well put JVR back into the VFL for a few weeks as a Backman as well.

I thought the poor bastard did alright in the ruck today. I feel for him trying to be a key forwards with the slop we keep dishing up at times and he's almost always way too high up the ground to make an impact on the scoreboard anyway.

Lindsay and Langford look like they need a spell.

Glad we dropped Spargo and sharp. A better balance today I thought.

Can't knock us for effort.

Forward entries and accuracy. Same problem for four years now.

10 minutes ago, Cossie_84 said:

Painful 2 hour drive home, no radio just silence. 12 pages of terrible umpiring so won't go there, but in those 12 pages not one mention of Levers contribution today, he has been horrible all year, pre and post injury. Watching him kick for goal pre game, maybe swing him fwd see what he can conjure up, I didn't see him miss, and disco has his spot covered down back, anyone has to be a better option than JVR at the moment. Yes he doesn't have the opportunity at a full fwd time game, but what forward does now?

Still makes my blood boil that 5 mins into the last qtr, we have Max, pickett and clarry on the bench, only way to win close games is have your best side on the field, not terrible rotations which left kozzy stranded on the pine for 10 mins.

Bad kicking and bad decisions is bad football, and tonight although having 24 pos, trac was horrible, looked shy to compete early and disposal was [censored].

Lastly, starting windsor as sub and then subbing out Lindsay isn't the best way to keep these kids growing, 4 or 5 senior players could have well been subbed out before X.

Tough month ahead on the road....

GO DEES.

Why not Tmac into the backline for Lever and Disco forward?

Both May and Lever are losing their speed. Both were hobbling again by the end of the game. Can't knock their efforts though.

There's quite a few that look like they need a rest now