Adelaide is our 2nd home, 1st win coming up tonight.

I want to be as self assured as Spaz was about our best football being close in his interview with the press yesterday.

27 minutes ago, SPC said:

We are mentally frail, lazy and not committed to the cause. We also have a coach who loves to reward the above, so not sure how we win this one.

Currently overseas on a family holiday, so will only see the result later this afternoon. Hoping this might be Goodwins last game as coach.

Sadly too apt a description.

I unfortunately doubt this club has the mental wherewithal to relieve us of Goody.

First day back at work and I’ll be coming home to a 2 week old baby and a tired mother.

my kingdom for a win & 3 melb bitter stubbies with a sleeping baby on my chest.

1 minute ago, Doug Reemer said:

First day back at work and I’ll be coming home to a 2 week old baby and a tired mother.

my kingdom for a win & 3 melb bitter stubbies with a sleeping baby on my chest.

Congratulations... somethings are more important...

Enjoy the family... footy is just footy

I'm over in Adelaide. Hosted by an Essendon supporter friend who threw down the challenge but included tickets to the Sydney Pies game (from a private Box (thank you Thomas Foods))where the mainly Port supporters were ambivalent about the result.

We were all impressed by some aspects of both teams and disappointed with much of it. Personally and my Essendon friend agreed the fact that both teams would easily beat ours.

WE are looking for a good game tonight, both probably hoping that our team wins easily. We both agree that on paper Melbourne has more, better players than Essendon. "Stop Merret and they have no other player" he says, He accepts that we will win but would understand with much derision why we lose.

Communication has diminished, tension is rising. GO DEES

4 hours ago, seventyfour said:

Dees by 19. Fritsch to fire with 4.

Yes, Fritsch to fire with 4 .......... behinds and three OB on the full.

3 hours ago, 48 Year Now said:

I’m going Fritta to kick 2-3 goals. Thinking he might have asked for less congestion in forward line. No knowlege of if that could or did happen.

Someone who’s actually trying to imagine what Fritta is thinking/requesting. I like it.

Sparrow plays his 100th today. Congrats to him.

I just hope we put on a good show, play out the 4 quarters & win

I’m sure I don’t need to elaborate, but I don’t like Essendon…

I [censored] HATE THEM.

The hate goes way back, long before 2000 and it only gets stronger with every passing year. But that’s something I’ll save for my inevitable session with a shrink.

For now I’m just gonna pray to sweet baby Jesus that we beat this revolting team.

Us by an X (20pts)

CARNA MIGHTY DEES!!!

❤️💙❤️💙❤️💙

I predict that we are going to see signs that our lauded game plan - (and I have NFI what that is) - will start to gel with the players later in the game tonight. I think we will be well behind at half time but actually come good and storm home. One or two points in it either way at the conclusion.

After the game, Demonland will be buzzing with talk of us making the finals. (probably went a bit far with this last prediction)

Sadly, this game day thread isn't as big as itc.used to be.

2 hours ago, Jack Vineys Anger Manager said:

I hate Essendon so much, that I can't even tip them even though I know they will win.

Dess by 50.points.

I might change my name to the poster that helps manage the anger of Jack Viney's Anger Management.

Warm one in Adelaide today - hopefully it cools down for game time.

Looking forward to a strong performance, but I’ll take anything, that’s a win!

13 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Sadly, this game day thread isn't as big as itc.used to be.

Gonna take a stab in the dark and say this might have a lot to do with the stifling negativity, and not so much to do with our terrible start to the season.

Those who don’t revel in abject pessimism will give DL a wide berth. I’m in that camp, but clearly I’m also a masochist 🤪

Homer Simpson Art GIF by AniDom

For those returning from the (northern) ski season. A brief recap of the season thus far.

Edited by Tarax Club
Keep it frosty! edit

3 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Gonna take a stab in the dark and say this might have a lot to do with the stifling negativity, and not so much to do with our terrible start to the season.

Those who don’t revel in abject pessimism will give DL a wide berth. I’m in that camp, but clearly I’m also a masochist 🤪

I think it's actually a good bit of both GW. I have been an avid reader of DL, but for the first time I'm not as regular as i was and also find that in some posts I'm skipping pages to get to the last post - something i would never have done previously, for fear of missing some good comments.

All we need are few good wins, and things will be swinging again. Just not sure when that will be.

So how are we going to kick a winning score?

Learnings….

Viney to tag and harass Ferret, and the game will hinge on his ability to nullify the Essendon captain.

1 hour ago, dpositive said:

"Stop Merret and they have no other player" he says,

Don’t worry dp we won’t tag Merrett and he will get about 45 possessions and 3 goals just like last week when we let the cats have a spare man in defence all game.

No need to change tactics during the game as all is going swimmingly!

Edited by DemonOX

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

Congratulations... somethings are more important...

Enjoy the family... footy is just footy

Thanks mate.

Signed her up last thursday as a Baby Demon.

Her mums a blue bagger and her aunty is a banwagon hawk. Both of them couldn’t name 5-10 current players! So I’ll be dammed if my daughter is going to be apart of those smug clubs!

Edited by Doug Reemer

7 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Don’t worry dp we won’t tag Merrett and he will get about 45 possessions and 3 goals just like last week when we let the cats have a spare man in defence all game.

No need to change tactics during the game as all is going swimmingly!

But plenty of learnings for Big Max!

I think we’ll win and would like a win for Langford and Lindsay but sadly our season is already cooked.

5th time this season I've tipped the Dee's

I cant be wrong forever surely

31 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

So how are we going to kick a winning score?

Learnings….

FIIK

Not sure those in jumpers know much better

Something magical needs to happen and soon.

It's not like these guys can't play football... just that our game isn't much chop !!

Go us