1 hour ago, Redleg said:

You may not be aware, but Bluey is the DL master of sarcasm.

Master is doing an awful lot of work in that sentence.

I have a question! I only got to see the first half of the Suns game and I was perplexed how badly Viney played. Every thing he touched, apart from one handball, failed. Did he improve in the 2nd half or is the option of dropping him unthinkable?

35 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

We got towelled up by Rowell. He ain’t that fast. Get Kozz and Lindsay in there and see if Rowell runs away from us then.

Well, he ain't slow either.

9 hours ago, DemonKolt said:

I’m out at Casey now. Happy to report and answer questions

Lindsay and Campbell first on track, both doing a fitness test with conditioning staff

Lindsay moving reasonably well, sideways movement and light ball handling looking ok

Thanks for the report Kolt - much appreciated!

Howes about Howes? I'm assuming he's still in the A's 🫤

7 hours ago, DemonKolt said:

Expect to see #19 and #12 as prime midfielders once we hit 2026

One of the current frustrations - we're a season away from starting to really see the fruits of current changes to the list and game style. In the meantime it looks like (and is) a bit of a dog's breakfast, both in who we put on the field and the way we play. Injuries haven't helped either.

Great to hear Lindsay, Culley and Windsor are training.

Hoping all 3 are back to full fitness very soon! ❤️💙

1 hour ago, binman said:

Master is doing an awful lot of work in that sentence.

Champion, you may go home now and regale your family over dinner.

36 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

Well, he ain't slow either.

I reckon Clarry matched him for pace. Just couldn’t catch him. Rowell got a head start which gave him a meter. Also ran too far.

Edited by Strawberry Fields

3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

I doubt that Laurie would be slower than Viney

possibly not this year but even as recently as last year Jack would run rings around him. Viney’s explosive first few steps are a big part of his game (if they still exist)

2 hours ago, demon3165 said:

This has been known since 2022. Even Stevie Wonder could see it. We have just not invested in it and did the old What I did today, you do tomorrow now it's bitten us in the 🍑🍑🍑🍑.

Are you taking the p? Kolt, Windsor, Lindsay and Langford. We've invested 4 first round picks in our midfield in two years...

59 minutes ago, bluey said:

Champion, you may go home now and regale your family over dinner.

I'm confused.

I am at home, just had dinner (delicious too I might add - perfectly cooked porterhouse with vegetable medley) and did regale them - as is my wont.

11 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Are you taking the p? Kolt, Windsor, Lindsay and Langford. We've invested 4 first round picks in our midfield in two years...

Which is a point goody made when answering a question about our midfield and game plan in today's presser.

Spoiler alert - we ain't going back.

5 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Laurie, Woey and Brown ... just not sure. None seems to have that X factor needed to succeed at today's AFL

not sure everyone can have X factor.

But I di know Brown can make a tackle that sticks similar to Spargo.

Pressure and Tackling coupled with controlled aggression At the ball of course not the player

Hate being thought of as soft cooks

Lucky to get within 30 points this week I reckon. But. Come on Dee’s

Edited by 640MD
Spellin

re Laurie, Woey and Brown - I like them all but have serious doubts if Laurie, and Woey have a point of difference. Brown, on the other hand, in his very limited exposure has shown he can grab a vital tackle, yet I don't think we have seen him since. The suggestion above of high HF in the ANB mood - could that be worth considering? Does he have the tank?

3 hours ago, Roost it far said:

We got towelled up by Rowell, he ain’t that fast. Get Kozz and Lindsay in there and see if Rowell runs away from us then.

You don’t have to be fast you have to be prepared to gut run, our mids aren’t prepared to run hard defensively. There’s also footy shows have had a field day with the vision and it will be getting shown in review

35 minutes ago, monoccular said:

re Laurie, Woey and Brown - I like them all but have serious doubts if Laurie, and Woey have a point of difference. Brown, on the other hand, in his very limited exposure has shown he can grab a vital tackle, yet I don't think we have seen him since. The suggestion above of high HF in the ANB mood - could that be worth considering? Does he have the tank?

You're dead right as regards the three players you've mentioned not having a point of difference. None have great skills. They're not tall, or powerfully built, or fast, or good kicks, good marks, can read the play etc.

My mate said the same about Jimmy Toumpas who we took with pick four. No point of difference. Can't see any of the three on the list in two years time.

15 minutes ago, M_9 said:

You're dead right as regards the three players you've mentioned not having a point of difference. None have great skills. They're not tall, or powerfully built, or fast, or good kicks, good marks, can read the play etc.

My mate said the same about Jimmy Toumpas who we took with pick four. No point of difference. Can't see any of the three on the list in two years time.

I thought Brown had a good turn of pace?

Can certainly tackle and I agree about a HFF or pocket role.

4 hours ago, demon3165 said:

People are forgetting one big difference: one has a round ball that doesn't bounce in different ways, and you don't handle the ball, but if we bring it in the side, we might be in with a chance.

Umm, people don't know soccer balls are round? Really?! Can you elaborate your point? I don't want to just dismiss how it sounds. As I said kicking a soccer ball is still kicking practice which, same as torps, banana kicks, dribble kicks, help reinforce the biomechanics of kicking. Kicking a soccer ball for half an hour isn't going to have players un-learn how to kick a Sherrin just the same as ending a training session with 30 mins of practising banana kicks won't ruin a midfielder's kicks two days later.

18 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Umm, people don't know soccer balls are round? Really?! Can you elaborate your point? I don't want to just dismiss how it sounds. As I said kicking a soccer ball is still kicking practice which, same as torps, banana kicks, dribble kicks, help reinforce the biomechanics of kicking. Kicking a soccer ball for half an hour isn't going to have players un-learn how to kick a Sherrin just the same as ending a training session with 30 mins of practising banana kicks won't ruin a midfielder's kicks two days later.

Simple when you struggling to kick a ball 20 metres with an oval ball i suggest you practice with that first as seen in our last two games a soccer ball won't help that and as for you saying helping to kick tops, banana, flat punts kicks it's not even close kicking a soccer ball now if the were learning how to curve using the inside of the foot well yes but we don't do that.

41 minutes ago, demon3165 said:

Simple when you struggling to kick a ball 20 metres with an oval ball i suggest you practice with that first as seen in our last two games a soccer ball won't help that and as for you saying helping to kick tops, banana, flat punts kicks it's not even close kicking a soccer ball now if the were learning how to curve using the inside of the foot well yes but we don't do that.

No, kicking a soccer ball and practising torps, bananas etc and kicking short and long distances and when fresh and when exhausted , with a breeze, against a breeze, with a waterlogged ball yada yada yada all help overall with kicking skills. No one's gonna try kicking bananas with a soccer ball.

I'd wager the huge majority of AFL players could kick 20m since puberty and if suddenly our players can't that's more likely due to lack of confidence or morale, maybe complacency and maybe lack of fitness. The shape of a ball won't fix those things though maybe a break from a Sherrin ,while still practising everything else , may help slightly.

8 hours ago, binman said:

I'm confused.

I am at home, just had dinner (delicious too I might add - perfectly cooked porterhouse with vegetable medley) and did regale them - as is my wont.

Must have been a looooong dinner. 🥱🥱

47 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Must have been a looooong dinner. 🥱🥱

Sick burn bro.

8 hours ago, Go Ds said:

No, kicking a soccer ball and practising torps, bananas etc and kicking short and long distances and when fresh and when exhausted , with a breeze, against a breeze, with a waterlogged ball yada yada yada all help overall with kicking skills. No one's gonna try kicking bananas with a soccer ball.
I'd wager the huge majority of AFL players could kick 20m since puberty and if suddenly our players can't that's more likely due to lack of confidence or morale, maybe complacency and maybe lack of fitness. The shape of a ball won't fix those things though maybe a break from a Sherrin,while still practising everything else , may help slightly.

8 hours ago, Go Ds said:

I'd wager the huge majority of AFL players could kick 20m since puberty and if suddenly our players can't that's more likely due to lack of confidence or morale, maybe complacency and maybe lack of fitness. The shape of a ball won't fix those things though maybe a break from a Sherrin ,while still practising everything else , may help slightly.

I'm all for doing things differently and being inventive to change things up but when you cannot execute the simple things then you keep practising until you get it right, as for the fitness part you may be right there when Burgess was there you still went hard even when sore attitude and we ran out games hard but that was when we played a contest game the game has changed for us.

11 hours ago, M_9 said:

So what are they doing on our list at the moment