I’m worried about this game. We seemed to have struggled this year when playing against teams that have a coach.

Surely the afl has got to step in seeing as we are going into each game without an actual afl level coach. It’s just not fair.

1 hour ago, Dee-tonator said:

Five goals for Turner in VFL today.

Could replace any of our forward flops, especially Fritsch.

ESPECIALLY FRITSCH...Time for a long spell at Casey. Make him earn it.

Unaccountable footy up the field. Not willing to chase early or chase much at all.

Doesn't look match fit. Zero intensity at the contest (alot of mates).

Did a few good things but he is VFL level at best at present.

Speaking of which. Petracca's accountability on Miller at stages of that third quarter was non-existent. Miller running amok had a field day whenever Tracc matched up on him.

And he's supposed to be a senior in the team setting examples. Jokefest.

Not alone but pathetic effort / attitude without the ball today.

How the hell are we at game three and seemingly un prepared in so many facets...

Fitness...many looked shot by about 5 minutes or so into the 3rd!

Intensity at the ball

Accountability without the ball

Work rate without the ball in the first three quarters

Skills by hand and foot (eg; Howes, Max, Viney, Tracc & Rivers) in the first three Qs.

Viney's kicking coming inside 50 and disposal in general is deeplorable 🤮

Where is Lingers at? Just no impact and kicking to the wrong spots, fumbles, panic turnover king.

Rivers... see Lingers

Rooh....yeh nah

Still unable to ice a quarter, giving up a goal in the last few seconds before three Q time.

Stacks more wrong with this club at present.

Whatever happened at Bright, these players have seemingly exited as not happy campers.

it has not had any positive effect at all on the field and has seemingly had the opposite effect.

The energy in the group appears to be one of being resolved to another hard day at the office before the first bounce!

Potential Positives (some of these probably not positives, just not as negative as the really shizen negatives above)....

️LANGFORD

Tracc with ball in hand at times in second half. His goal around the body in the third.

Bowey in the first half and parts of the second.

Sharp getting on the end of a few

Clarry's second half ....better. Not a great first half but seen worse and plenty were worse.

Maxy in general. Two of the worst games in succession i think i've seen him play since making it to the top. Has age finally caught up with the great man? Is Campbell an option as an assist or do we even consider rotating Max out every third week or so if he can't cope?

Billings not bad or good either but what is his role?

Salo... still involved but what does he bring? Has the game gone past him?

Having May back

Petty did ok in patches

T-Mac ok in the first half aside from the awful 45 attempt in the 2nd Q which he should never ever try to pull off. Turns the ball over with those almost always.

Changes.... Where do you start!

Turner a must IN for Fritsch this week if Goody has any integrity at selection

I'd also bring Campbell in and play Max off the bench with alot less game time in general. Max is so far off the level he can't go for more than a quarter or so with his oppo at present.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Okay this had been bubbling away for a while (last year as well) - our midfield is getting consistently beaten. Out top echelon is no longer completive with the top echelon; and we lack depth.

The speed of the game has moved past Viney; Trac seems only interested in the "showy" stuff, Rivers is out of form and Sparrow didn't develop to the next level.

So:

Lever May Bowey

Rivers Petty Windsor

Chandler Oliver. Langdon

Brown JVR Petracca

Fritsch. Turner. Henderson

Gawn. Oliver. Pickett

Tmac Sparrow McVee/Woewodin Viney (as a tagger)

Sub. Mentha

Salem comes in for Windsor (if injured), and yes there's more in the team that should be dropped before him; but tjos is for team balance - it is to one paced.

Langford needs some experience with him in the middle and we also need some speed in there.

Tmac Petty rotate through back and ruck; and can swing forward if needed. Turner also capable of swinging back.

Rivers to gain confidence in the backs.

Fritsch showed glimpses and I feel (hope) is close - we need a genuine marking target.

Sparrow rotates through midfield because I can't think of anyone else!!!!!!

Edited by Ungarieboy

10 minutes ago, Ungarieboy said:

Okay this had been bubbling away for a while (last year as well) - our midfield is getting consistently beaten. Out top echelon is no longer completive with the top echelon; and we lack depth.

The speed of the game has moved past Viney; Trac seems only interested in the "showy" stuff, Rivers is out of form and Sparrow didn't develop to the next level.

So:

Lever May Bowey

Rivers Petty Windsor

Chandler Oliver. Langdon

Brown JVR Petracca

Fritsch. Turner. Henderson

Gawn. Oliver. Pickett

Tmac. Sparrow McVee/Woewodin Viney (as a tagger)

Sub. Mentha

Langford needs some experience with him in yhe middle and we need some speed in there.

Tmac Petty rotate through back and ruck; and can swing forward if needed. Turner also capable of swinging back.

Rivets to gain confidence in the backs.

Fritsch showed glimpse and I feel (hope) is close - we need a genuine marking target.

Sparrow rotates through midfield because I can't think of anyone else!!!!!!

Brown has been underwhelming at Casey

Id have to say

Out

Lindsay (Inj), Howes, Billings

In

Kozzie, Lever, Windsor (If available)

But by all means after todays performance there could be another 10 on the chopping block.

3 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Brown has been underwhelming at Casey

Is there anyone else that plays forward and have the speed to go with opposition back flankers running through the middle of the ground.

And if Fritsch kicked straight today (2-3) goals then the witch hunt might end be do loud.

2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Melksham, Howes, AJ and Billing’s should never play again. Clarrie and Fritsch on notice. Viney and TMac should retire

AJ has only played 2 games. I haven't seen him, is he not up to it???

Seriously fritsch was pretty good today. Not the problem. Yea he missed shots, but he had a fair few looks at goal, he is not what cost us the game. we need to look at the mix of each section and marry it together

In: lever, Windsor, Kozzy, turner, Spargo

Out: Henderson, Johnson, Howes, Lindsay, billings.

That is a lot closer to our ideal team than what we had today.

6 minutes ago, samcantstandya said:

AJ has only played 2 games. I haven't seen him, is he not up to it???

Tries hard but does very little.

Ah heading out to KP when we are at a real low, where have I heard this before?

3 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Melksham, Howes, AJ and Billing’s should never play again. Clarrie and Fritsch on notice. Viney and TMac should retire

Hold on I was at the game today and one of my take aways was that of all our veterans, TMac seemed to be the one who was still playing to his normal level. The old midfield/ruck firm are all well off their best, May had a shocker, Melk looked rusty but TMac seemed to me to be up for the battle and performed well under a lot of pressure.

AJ looks like a solid depth option which is positive but our foward trio should be Jeffo, Turner with JVR fwd/ruck

Gotta play Jeffo (once back from injury) & Turner for the entire year to see what they've got

We felt a tall short against the Suns

38 minutes ago, Neitz the Great said:

Seriously fritsch was pretty good today. Not the problem. Yea he missed shots, but he had a fair few looks at goal, he is not what cost us the game. we need to look at the mix of each section and marry it together

In: lever, Windsor, Kozzy, turner, Spargo

Out: Henderson, Johnson, Howes, Lindsay, billings.

That is a lot closer to our ideal team than what we had today.

There’s no way I’d drop Henderson for Spargo.

The other changes are fine but what is the plan for May, Lever, TMac and Petty?

18 minutes ago, adonski said:

AJ looks like a solid depth option which is positive but our foward trio should be Jeffo, Turner with JVR fwd/ruck

Gotta play Jeffo (once back from injury) & Turner for the entire year to see what they've got

We felt a tall short against the Suns

I like AJ, I just think he’s nowhere near fit enough. His work rate and second efforts are always there but as the game wore on he became increasingly ineffectual.

I’m not against going with Jeffo, Turner and JVR, but I’m nowhere near sold on JVR rucking and I think we’ll risk continued stoppage annihilation with him in the ruck.

B: Lever, May, McVee

HB: Salem, Petty, Bowey

C: Langdon, Langford, Windsor

HF: Petracca, Johnson, Pickett

F: Fritsch, van Rooyen, Turner

FOLL: Gawn, Oliver, Viney

IC: Chandler, Rivers, Laurie, Melksham

SUB: Henderson

34 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

Ah heading out to KP when we are at a real low, where have I heard this before?

What could possibly go wrong ?

7 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

This game could well become an embarrassment.

Because today's wasn't ??

1 hour ago, Neitz the Great said:

1 hour ago, Ungarieboy said:

And if Fritsch kicked straight today (2-3) goals then the witch hunt might end be do loud.

Agree with this. Aside from a couple of howler moments it was the best of his 3 games today, and a positive that he had 3 set shots.

People automatically think Fritta is a dead eye but he’s definitely had moments in his career where the radar’s been off. I think in 2020 he kicked more behinds than goals and in rounds 1 and 2 of 2021 I think he kicked a combined 2.6 or something.

21 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Agree with this. Aside from a couple of howler moments it was the best of his 3 games today, and a positive that he had 3 set shots.

People automatically think Fritta is a dead eye but he’s definitely had moments in his career where the radar’s been off. I think in 2020 he kicked more behinds than goals and in rounds 1 and 2 of 2021 I think he kicked a combined 2.6 or something.

It seems pretty normal for players who have been out of form to doubt themselves in front of goal. I agree he was much better. I would keep him in and put JVR in the 2s to build confidence. Disco in. If Fullerton keeps getting 2 to 3 goals at Casey I think they should try him too.

If Windsor is back, I would put him down back and try Rivers in the middle. He was good last year and has been playing out of position, which is why he had so many fumbles. I think it's worth a try.

I think Clarry was good today. I don't think he should be on notice. Langford needs to be in the middle every week. He's going to be a gun.

Sharp was good today. We need his speed anyway.

Agree Max needs someone to share the load. If Campbell can come in, playing Geelong would be the game to try it, as they are still working out their ruck situation...

1 hour ago, biggestred said:

186 incoming

My only hope is the smaller, narrower ground allows us to compete on pure grunt. A bit like the rain affected, heavy track in round 1 allowed us to go head to head with GWS on the MCG to the point we should have actually won if we could have thought our way through the last 2 minutes. Once it’s a fast and wide track I think we are cactus, we just don’t have the legs.