1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Besides, they did goal kicking practice today.

And 👻, did many go through the middle?😮

But seriously were they taking shots from all over the field or just (what should be) “easy” set shots?

Just now, monoccular said:

And 👻, did many go through the middle?😮

Yes, many did go through the middle. Some hit the post, some went through for a minor score. 

2 hours ago, jaydenh10 said:

still soccer at training, useless

I thought that soccer involved good kicking, speed and instinct, but maybe that's just me. 

1 hour ago, jaydenh10 said:

well i think we should scrap this in favour of basic skills drills set shots etc, says alot when our cleanest player by hand sunday was in his second game, make it something competitive aswell maybe

Maybe you should write to the FD to let them know. According to a couple of threads on here Melbourne are looking for a couple of new coaches.

1 hour ago, Flowergirl said:

I thought that soccer involved good kicking, speed and instinct, but maybe that's just me. 

Oh I don’t know, I’ve followed Bolton a long time and we were the masters of 10 behind the ball, hack it long to Kevin Davies and then hope he can hold while the rest amble up to reinforce…

I mean that sound familiar…

1 hour ago, Flowergirl said:

Completely different concept to AFL footy.. but okay.

They do soccer as a flush run to get the legs and blood moving again. A good way to get sore or stiff spots out of the way.

I don't agree with it personally and i know other AFL clubs dont do this at all but i prefer just some extra light touch skills with actual footballs and still incorporate some fun in it if need.

Some posters have us getting rid of 10-20 players at season end, so maybe we're just getting ready to transition out of the AFL and into the A-League?

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

A test for this week.

I’d consider him as sub. If by some bizarre chance we’re in the game at 3 qtr time, I reckon he’d be a dangerous option coming into the game fresh.

He will play 2nds first

3 hours ago, RedLegs23 said:

Gut feel 

May, Windsor & Melk held back until the cats R4

May will play on Saturday.

Training in beautiful weather, minimal wind. 

More construction in the method today, included running then competive game of soccer in two paired teams attempting to get a win over each other.

Some kicking for goal around the mannequins, followed by general goal kicking. 

It was good to see the majority of the Squad.

kossie and Mentha have a special relationship, their body language is the mirror.

Windsor rolling around barefoot.

A few in runners, including Melksham 

May is main training. 

Adams looks ready

AJ going about it.

A few laps and run throughs were also done.

Edited by Kev

6 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Leb should be right for round 4

Maysie a chance for this week

Jai looking to join in main training within two weeks

Luker improving ahead of time, looking at three or so more weeks rehabbing

Excellent news!

Looking forward to seeing Jai Culley get a good run at it with Casey (and hopefully at AFL level) when he has fully recuperated. 😎👍🏻

7 hours ago, Harvey Wallbanger said:

Kentfield and Tholstrup jogging gently 

If Kentfield was fit he'd almost be getting a crack this weekend 

2 hours ago, old dee said:

May will play on Saturday.

Hope you’re right OD.

I’m not sure playing a 33 year old Melksham in the ones so soon after injuries is ideal. The preseason was going so well and then it seemed we started losing talent. McAdam, AMW, Melksham, McVee then Windsor and May and now Jefferson and Lever. 5 weeks ago they all looked like playing in the ones. If anyone doesn’t think injuries are a reason for our form run your eyes over that list. I’d say Jefferson and maybe McAdam are the only 2 who weren’t best 22 5 weeks ago. Please for the love of whatever, no more injuries!

9 hours ago, Kev said:

Training in beautiful weather, minimal wind. 

More construction in the method today, included running then competive game of soccer in two paired teams attempting to get a win over each other.

Some kicking for goal around the mannequins, followed by general goal kicking. 

It was good to see the majority of the Squad.

kossie and Mentha have a special relationship, their body language is the mirror.

Windsor rolling around barefoot.

A few in runners, including Melksham 

May is main training. 

Adams looks ready

AJ going about it.

A few laps and run throughs were also done.

we were the mannequins on Sunday

Really only for that last quarter 

we were “in the game” till then.  Not playing great but there.   I think the north side are underestimated. A mix of youth. They brought in 3 really experience players . 
and they have the grumpy little bloke as a coach.   He can coach.

but definitely witches hats or cones for north to run around in the last. 
Two weeks in a row poor last quarters

I still think we need to play with say 26 main players and rotate games to beat certain clubs and rest the spare blokes.

too many games on the heat and not enough down time to recover.

11 hours ago, Demons1858 said:

He will play 2nds first

He came straight in last season from memory

12 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

Oh I don’t know, I’ve followed Bolton a long time and we were the masters of 10 behind the ball, hack it long to Kevin Davies and then hope he can hold while the rest amble up to reinforce…

I mean that sound familiar…

But you also had that sexy period of Jay-Jay Okocha, Anelka, Ivan Campo, Hierro, Djorkaeff, etc, All protected by one of the most underrated in Jaaskelainen

Not opposed to soccer as part of variation of training but our ball skills were so poor on the weekend that i would hope there is agreater mphais on this.

Also perhaps playing soccer with a football to improve the reading of the bounce which seemed to go against us so many times.

TAckling was poor for us and excellent for North so hope theres some consideration of rugby concentrating on making and sticking tackles.

Talking with a mate the structure and method we have of guarding space was more obvious at the ground. We leave too much space for opponents to run into and we are then trying to tackle when we are running at an opponent. only able to throw an arm out to tackle. They brush through that method,

I reckon we need some real coaching changes to techniques and structures.

16 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Leb should be right for round 4

Maysie a chance for this week

Jai looking to join in main training within two weeks

Luker improving ahead of time, looking at three or so more weeks rehabbing

Sounds like May will play but Lever may not. Do you go to Casey?

2 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

Sounds like May will play but Lever may not. Do you go to Casey?

Nah way too far, but I have a buddy who does. She’ll likely send me notes later 👍🏽

edit: not training at Casey today it seems. Well, thus far. They may be planning an arvo session. It’s not listed on the website so who knows?

Edited by Ghostwriter

3 hours ago, dpositive said:

TAckling was poor for us and excellent for North so hope theres some consideration of rugby concentrating on making and sticking tackles.

I reckon we need some real coaching changes to techniques and structures.

One thing. Spargo can tackle. Usually locks them up takes them to the ground.

4 hours ago, roy11 said:

But you also had that sexy period of Jay-Jay Okocha, Anelka, Ivan Campo, Hierro, Djorkaeff, etc, All protected by one of the most underrated in Jaaskelainen

Jussi was a star. Ever underrated, but always loved at the Reebok.

Andd you are right we played some wonderful football, but even then, Big Sam loved the long ball.