2 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

This year is already ugly. 0-3 kiss top 4 goodbye. 0-5 kiss finals good bye. Both are likely prospects.

There was absolutely no urgency and effort today. Contrast with the saints last night. That’s how I expect us to play every week. Haven’t looked like it for 3 years.

Funny you think we have ANY chance for top 4 this year.

We'll be lucky not to give Essendon a top 5 pick.

Not sure where we go from here, every fwd entry was a fight for us while north were able to transition the ball much faster and to dangerous positions than us. We simply seem incapable of playing a modern style of football and are stuck playing the contest and territory style of the past 

Edited by Garbo

11 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Reckon we saw more last week in terms of stretching the ground and better delivery inside f50, today was a big step back to old habits of just bombing it in. Really lacked Windsor and his run in transition, large parts of that 3rd quarter where we transitioned quickly but turned it over or allowed them to get numbers back by handballing to ground or just not hitting the teammate in the open 

We did miss Windsor. We just don’t have any cut through speed without him. Without speed, you need sharp precise long kicking - today we had neither. 

Good footy teams have a sense of masculine presence, confidence and energy. We were smaller, slower and less skillful than North. We are nowhere.

Our premiership players aren't the real thing. We were a flash in the pan....

18 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Have we? I think we were closer to a flag come 2023 finals than in 2022 and then last year was a disaster. Today was dreadful after a solid effort last week. So currently a regression of ONE year?!!!

No a total regression. 
2021 - Premiership

2022- Straight sets finals exit

2023- Straight sets finals exit

2024 - 14th

We have gone from being good at contest and defence to now being good at what???? If that’s not regression we are stuck in quicksand and  teams are flying past us. 

5 minutes ago, gs77 said:

I knew we were [censored] today when in the 1st qtr JVR led and what should have been marked bounced off his chest.

And it was a fantastic lead and kick to him. As good as any of either we've done in recently memory except for the all-important bit about holding onto it.

23 minutes ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

We didn’t fluke that flag, however, everything else you said I absolutely and wholeheartedly agree with 

We were like the dogs. Everythingg fell in plac,e so yea,h we snagged a fla,g then sides worked us ou,t and we kept playing the same brand.

Edited by demon3165

21 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Sack Goodwin. 

I tolerated last year but today has done it for me.. officially off him now.

Since 2021 we've gotten worse as each year goes by. The lives dovey fake persona this off season was just a cover up for the rot that still exist within the footy club.

Certainly looks that way. The players switched off. That is unacceptable, however you look at it. 
These efforts will cost the Club Membership $$$’s 

why should supporters care if the players don’t. 9 goals under a roof…

Our forward line is putrid and has been for at least 2 years 

Gawn is starting to look old and tired.

It's not often that we are as uncompetitive as we were in the second half. A lot of what happened can be fixed. We were definitely tired from last week's slog. That's no excuse for bad play, but it was a factor. need to freshen up in a hurry. 

5 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Funny you think we have ANY chance for top 4 this year.

We'll be lucky not to give Essendon a top 5 pick.

I never did. These are the stats that are used every year to assess teams likelihood of playing finals. Also about assessing us against our own FDs publicised expectations. 

1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

he was best on ground last week ffs

I though Toby Green was 

48 minutes ago, Standard Deviation said:

I just don't see Goodwin taking us forward, we've slowly but steadily regressed year on year since the premiership.  I don't see him adapting, and I think he's too close to the players to make the hard choices that need to be made.  And there are definitely hard choices ahead based on this game. 

I'm officially moving to the Goodwin has to go camp as of this, admittedly helped along by how much I absolutely hate Norf.

It's taken you a while

Simon Goodwin. Bloody hell.

Hold the pen, write the story. Ffs what does that even mean? 

You honestly have to be either an absolute moron or undergoing some kind of psychological breakdown to speak like that in public. Thanks for your service as they say, but maybe a couple of decades spent somewhere nice and quiet might be the best thing for him, and us.

7 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

he was best on ground last week ffs

Against a player who isn’t a ruckman. 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• NON-MFC: Round 11

Round 11, the second week of The Sir Doug Nicholls Round, kicks off on Thursday night with the Cats hosting the Bulldogs at Kardinia Park. Geelong will be looking to to continue their decade long dominance over the Bulldogs, while the Dogs aim to take another big scalp as they surge up the ladder. On Friday night it's he Dreamtime at the 'G clash between Essendon and Richmond. The Bombers will want to avoid another embarrassing performance against a lowly side whilst the Tigers will be keen to avenge a disappointing loss to the Kangaroos. Saturday footy kicks off as the Blues face the Giants in a pivotal clash for both clubs. Carlton need to turn around their up and down season while GWS will be eager to bounce back and reassert themselves as a September threat. At twilight sees the Hawks taking on the Lions at the G. Hawthorn need to cement themselves in the Top 4 but they’ll need to be at their best to challenge a Brisbane side eager to respond after last week’s crushing loss to the Dees on their home turf. The first of the Saturday night double headers opens with North Melbourne up against the high-flying Magpies. The Roos will need a near-perfect performance to trouble a Collingwood side sitting atop the ladder.

• 15 replies
  • PREVIEW: Sydney

The two teams competing at the MCG on Sunday afternoon have each traversed a long and arduous path since their previous encounter on a sweltering March evening in Sydney a season and a half ago. Both experienced periods of success at various times last year. The Demons ran out of steam in midseason while the Swans went on to narrowly miss the ultimate prize in the sport. Now, they find themselves outside of finals contention as the season approaches the halfway mark. The winner this week will remain in contact with the leading pack, while the loser may well find itself on a precipice, staring into the abyss. The current season has presented numerous challenges for most clubs, particularly those positioned in the middle tier. The Essendon experience in suffering a significant 91-point loss to the Bulldogs, just one week after defeating the Swans, may not be typical, but it illustrates the unpredictability of outcomes under the league’s present set up. 

• 3 replies
  • REPORT: Brisbane

“Max Gawn has been the heart and soul of the Dees for years now, but this recent recovery from a terrible start has been driven by him. He was everywhere again, and with the game in the balance, he took several key marks to keep the ball in the Dees forward half.” - The Monday Knee Jerk Reaction: Round Ten Of course, it wasn’t the efforts of one man that caused this monumental upset, but rather the work of the coach and his assistants and the other 22 players who took the ground, notably the likes of Jake Melksham, Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver and Kozzie Pickett but Max has been magnificent in taking ownership of his team and its welfare under the fire of a calamitous 0-5 start to the season. On Sunday, he provided the leadership that was needed to face up to the reigning premier and top of the ladder Brisbane Lions on their home turf and to prevail after a slow start, during which the hosts led by as much as 24 points in the second quarter. Titus O’Reily is normally comedic in his descriptions of the football but this time, he was being deadly serious. The Demons have come from a long way back and, although they still sit in the bottom third of the AFL pack, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel as they look to drive home the momentum inspired in the past four or five weeks by Max the Magnificent who was under such great pressure in those dark, early days of the season.

• 0 replies
  • CASEY: Southport

The Southport Sharks came to Casey. They saw and they conquered a team with 16 AFL-listed players who, for the most part, wasted their time on the ground and failed to earn their keep. For the first half, the Sharks were kept in the game by the Demons’ poor use of the football, it’s disposal getting worse the closer the team got to its own goal and moreover, it got worse as the game progressed. Make no mistake, Casey was far and away the better team in the first half, it was winning the ruck duels through Tom Campbell’s solid performance but it was the scoreboard that told the story.

• 3 replies
  • PREGAME: Sydney

Just a game and percentage outside the Top 8, the Demons return to Melbourne to face the Sydney Swans at the MCG, with a golden opportunity to build on the momentum from toppling the reigning premiers on their own turf. Who comes in, and who makes way?

• Sad
      • Shocked
      • Thanks
    • 271 replies
  • PODCAST: Brisbane

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 12th May @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we analyse a famous victory by the Demons over the Lions at the Gabba.
    Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.
    Listen LIVE: https://demonland.com/

• 35 replies