1 hour ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

• the off-field catastrophy of 2024 most definitely, probably, cost us Houston.

So utterly *&%#ing Melbourne.

If we got Houston we would not have Lindsay so iโ€™m fine with that

But I get that youโ€™re [censored] off. As am I

3 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

goodwin has just done a quick post-game ahead of 4.5 hours of coding

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/1733798/simons-sign-off-round-1?videoId=1733798&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1742120670001

the change to his media persona is striking

definitely going down the reverend style of opening up in his coaching journey

Kudos to the new comms team MFC has clearly brought inโ€”almost certainly their idea. 

5 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

They hurt, we were aghast that no one was on the goal line with the ball pinging around like it was. 

My daughter and I were both yelling get back on the goal line, time and time again and Binman is right Cognillio won the game for them through our poor defensive structure.

1 hour ago, Wrecker45 said:

Nup. When they know you are coming at speed it's easy to change angles and walk around them. If you can get them by surprise it's a talent

Rubbish. Go hard or go home

1 minute ago, defuture15 said:

I seem to remember Melk being the fwd general and it working well

Can't wait until he and koz return!

Add Tholstrup's pressure and energy also.

2 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Fritta needs to get his mojo back, so Turner in next week to replace Fritta (for more conditioning) would probably be a wise move.

Memo don't play fritta when it's raining you can not play football when you have your hands on top of your head to stop getting your hair wet.

AJ IMO had a red hot go in his first game of AFL footy, cannot ask for more. Jeffo presented well and kicked 2 goals in his first game and JVR always presented. Note Buckley and Taylor their opponents are the best performed key backs in the game.

We had 9 players contribute goals something we have needed, a spread of goal kickers. If anyone should be under the pump for under performing it is Fritch who has continued on his ordinary form from last season. Someone teach him how to tackle and chase please.

3 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

We tried, Lever went inboard to Salem, but the ump called not 15, probably consistent with how they are umpiring this year

Yep, I noticed the umpires were particularly focused on the 15m rule today. Gawnโ€™s mark on the 50m line not paid either. Both his and Salemโ€™s marks stood a much better chance of being paid in 2024. All for it, as long as itโ€™s consistent across all future matches. 

2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Add Tholstrup's pressure and energy also.

And Judd McVee Dazzle we miss his safe hands as well. I thought that we had the better of GWS all day but they have some elite talent that just got them over the line today, Toby Greene, Cognillio and Whitfield to name three and we really missed Max in that last quarter. We loved the game just hated that last agonising minute.

I'd be interested to hear from Bin if he was sitting in his oft usual spot top of the Ponsford (kudos if he did in that weather!) as to whether we are (were) still pushing too high up the ground to try and lock the ball in during red time and got caught again out the back on the rebound!??

If so, something i feel has been an issue for us for quite some time now and we are often paying the penalty as a result with teams coming from behind far too often for the narrow come back win.

Hopefully Jeffo takes a chunk of confidence from that game and builds.

His leading pattern and mark in the last qtr for the goal reminded me of Neita.

Edited by In Harmes Way

7 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

Yep, I noticed the umpires were particularly focused on the 15m rule today. Gawnโ€™s mark on the 50m line not paid either. Both his and Salemโ€™s marks stood a much better chance of being paid in 2024. All for it, as long as itโ€™s consistent across all future matches. 

It won't be.  We are far too often the bunnies, i mean the lucky recipients, of such rules of the week / fortnight while others seemingly get the rub of the green both on match day and in the weeks / months following.

I still remember the pre-season praccy against the baggers where the umps paid a record 12 descent frees against us (or thereabouts) and continued to do so (to a lessor degree) early in the season proper.  Before seeing it pretty much disappear off the radar about half way through the season or so.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

2 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

Agree re Fritta. He looks a bit lost playing up the ground. And now that we have 2-3 talls who contest strongly, and will take the key defenders, he would be in his element close to goal.

Re. Forward line

Agree. Fritsch is best close to goals. He's a true forward, and has a great balanced mark and recovery for second effort as qell as snaps and set shots. An opportunist.Should not have been sent  back as backup defender..Bad decision

With physicality of AJ... he should get more opporunities

Sparrow should play within striking distance but given freedom to move up the ground...is a good long kick for goal .Played Well

JVR disappointing

Do like Turner as a lead ..to come back

And, other comments.

TMac is in our best 22... Can't beat experience and can go forward

Howes pretty ordinary defending against leading forward TMac always ahead of him in selection

Didn't see the run and carry from Rivers..I reckon with two doing that in tandem Rivers and Windsor, and wingers Lindsay and Langton we would have a good weapon for fast movement into the forward line..

Debutantes all pretty serviceable .. ๐Ÿคฃ

1 minute ago, Older demon said:

AJ IMO had a red hot go in his first game of AFL footy, cannot ask for more. Jeffo presented well and kicked 2 goals in his first game and JVR always presented. Note Buckley and Taylor their opponents are the best performed key backs in the game.

We had 9 players contribute goals something we have needed, a spread of goal kickers. If anyone should be under the pump for under performing it is Fritch who has continued on his ordinary form from last season. Someone teach him how to tackle and chase please.

AJ really impressed. 

Wouldโ€™ve been a bundle of nerves today, as mature age recruits from the VFL donโ€™t have the luxury of time to prove their worth, and a poor game from him wouldnโ€™t have been as easy to overlook as one of the youngsters. 

Now that he knows he can well and truly handle himself out there, I expect him to have a bit of fun with it. Great get from our recruiters. 

13 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

The painful thing about that one tho is Salem is backtracking as the kick comes, when it gets to him itโ€™s probably over 15, but the ump has signalled no 15 as itโ€™s in the air so Toby has a free hit on the tackle.

The big lesson in GWS vs us be it kicks or handballs is to make sure every player receiving the ball is on the move. Too many stationary targets, especially by hand.

One thing I love about Lindsay and also Windsor, theyโ€™re always calling for the ball out in space.

10 kicks (not bad) 4 Goals (good) 9 Tackles (good) 3 Marks (below par)

Not a bad day out for a forward (one forward)

But combined numbers for 3 different tall forwards? 

I doubt we'll be going in with that combo again.  Turner for Jeffo or AJ or maybe Turner & Jeffo (or AJ) misses out

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

My Fifteen year old daughter who's a Demon but never been a massive fan said, and I quote "I get it now, let's go every week" 

Thatโ€™s what my mate and I say to each other as we walk up to the bar for another pint with no queue in the Frank Grey bar, after questioning why we get Sunday 3.20pm timeslots. 

4 hours ago, Mickey said:

Predictable result, but pretty happy with that as a first up hit out. First times looked good, especially XL.

Fritta would want that game back. Shocker

Unfortunately heโ€™s played as many shockers as he has blinders. 
Iโ€™d look at moving him to the wing. His ball use is great and he simply canโ€™t find enough of the footy deep right now. 

3 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Coaching.

Left Maxy and Claz on the bench for 3 to 5 mins too long in the last quarter.

Couldn't organise numbers behind the ball with only a few minutes to go..... AGAIN!

It's been the same redline play book under Simon since 2022.  Ie,  a losing more often than not.  Unable to protect a small lead or not winning enough close ones coming from behind.

Subbed Langford for Howes when it was clear that Chin was our worst player all day.  Yes Howes was beaten also but at least had a defensive run with mindset on Toby.

After taking him off, Toby got off the leash and pretty much won the match for them single handedly in the final term, with a few cameos from others such as Tom Greene.

Max was solid but boy he played some dumb footy in between and to think he is going to kick every one of those big roosts from 50+!?  Especially late in a match.

Windsor asking for the give on at least two occasions but Max wouldn't when that probably gives us at least a fair option coming inside given he's a decent ball user and / or goal kicker inside the paint.

Viney Involved but disposals mostly up & under or scrubby hacks / handballs to no one.

Great effort from T-Mac to cover off for May.

Hendo looked at home.

Jeffo played his role.

AJ looked out of sorts at times in the ruck chop out role but gave us something up forward.

Roohey looks to be a mile off it at times.  Other times involved in getting ball to ground and giving some assists plus his opportune goal off the ground was nice.  But STILL running under the ball far too often for mine and pretty ordinary at ground level.

The weak links for mine are Chandler, Fritsch (since 2024), Roohey (today not a great day for talls but just looks too far off it even so) & Howes.  The sooner we get Melky, Kozzy (2 weeks to go) & knuckles back the better.

Can't see us higher than about 9th/10th with those last three coming in and staying in.

With the likes of Melk & Kozzy out that forward line continues to serve us up a dog's breakfast.

I'd consider bringing in big Campbell for Roohey at this point (not on days like today obviously) and having him cover off the chop out role for Max.

Then swapping TC and AJ up forward at other times to really test the oppo's tall defensive capabilities.  This would allow a few more breaks for Max also, hopefully keeping him more fresh for a big second half finish.

I agree with the Max observation.

He's showing a bit of ego trying to land those 50m plus goals.

He's just a terrible shot for goal in general

Dish it off and let Windsor or Salem deliver it inside 50

Here is an update of the pre-/post-clearance numbers. Attn @binman

Key Team Stats

Stats highlighted purple were won by Melbourne.

Stat For Against Diff
Disposal Efficiency
Disposal Efficiency 69.7 70.0 -0.2
Kicking Efficiency 59.9 59.6 +0.3
Territory/Attack
Inside 50s 56 52 +4
Shots At Goal 29 24 +5
Shots Per Inside 50 51.8 46.2 +5.6
Marks Inside 50 5 7 -2
Contest
Contested Possessions 149 133 +16
Ground Ball Gets 96 97 -1
Post Clearance Contested Possessions 92 82 +10
Post Clearance Ground Ball Gets 61 65 -4
Centre Clearances 12 12 +0
Stoppage Clearances 24 36 -12
Contested Marks 7 5 +2
Defense
Intercepts 77 72 +5
Intercept Marks 17 10 +7
Tackles 60 71 -11
Tackles Inside 50 9 8 +1
Def One On One Loss % 22.2 16.7 +5.6
Ruck
Hitouts 51 26 +25
Hitouts To Advantage 16 7 +9

Contested Possessions

For Against Diff
Melbourne's Defensive 50
Hard Ball Get 6 4 +2
Loose Ball Get 11 16 -5
Contested Mark 1 2 -1
Ruck Hard Ball Get 0 1 -1
Gather From Hitout 3 2 +1
Contested Knock On 4 0 +4
Free For 3 1 +2
Total 28 26 +2
Melbourne's Forward 50
Hard Ball Get 4 4 0
Loose Ball Get 18 19 -1
Contested Mark 2 0 +2
Contested Knock On 1 4 -3
Free For 2 1 +1
Total 27 28 -1
Post clearance
Hard Ball Get 14 9 +5
Loose Ball Get 47 56 -9
Contested Mark 7 5 +2
Contested Knock On 9 5 +4
Free For 15 7 +8
Total 92 82 +10
Pre clearance
Hard Ball Get 8 6 +2
Loose Ball Get 27 26 +1
Ruck Hard Ball Get 3 1 +2
Gather From Hitout 12 7 +5
Contested Knock On 2 3 -1
Free For 5 8 -3
Total 57 51 +6

Apologies if this has already been said. 

But WTF was Langdon in the last centre bounce while Tracc stood in no mans land? 

1 minute ago, Doug Reemer said:

Apologies if this has already been said. 

But WTF was Langdon in the last centre bounce while Tracc stood in no mans land? 

The best way to score a goal out of a centre bounce is to burst out the front with speed followed by a handball over the top to a half forward who then goes bang. Ie. the Sparrow play 

Iโ€™d have kept Tracc in but I get the set play they were going for. 

12 minutes ago, Brownie said:

I agree with the Max observation.

He's showing a bit of ego trying to land those 50m plus goals.

He's just a terrible shot for goal in general

Dish it off and let Windsor or Salem deliver it inside 50

You take the good with the bad. Some of those Gawn roosts have ignited the game in the past. This one, obviously not the right call, but Iโ€™ll take โ€œEgo Maxโ€ over whatever the alternative is, any day of the week. 

Edited by Mel Bourne

I reckon it's between Fritta and Jeffo for that other forward spot. 

I disagree with the notion that we need to play 3 talls forward of the ball. Turner and JVR will be fine. The third tall/medium is either Jeffo or Fritta.

If Fritta isn't kicking snags I don't think he offers enough.

And to be clear, I think he's going through a rough patch and is definitely in our best 23. But he needs to start turning it on soon.

Edited by Adam The God