22 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Typical half-hearted effort from a lot of our so called ‘supporters’.

Bad weather? It’s a winter sport.
GP was on? WGAF

What else are you going to do on a Sunday afternoon?

There would be billions of instances where footy fans (or even just the general public) have cancelled things outside because of the weather. Sorry, but especially if fans haven't 'prepaid' with a membership it's so easy to just stay home and watch today's game on telly (without having spend time travelling or possibly overpriced food and drink.) - especially if the weather's lousy or you think (especially after a week of GWS being likened to the second coming) your team will be outclassed.

As for the F1 there are people that will prefer a yearly event as opposed to one twenty-third of their teams H&A season. If anything blame the AFL for starting the season this bloody early (and giving GWS the huge advantage of an extra game to condition them in this almost practice-matchLESS era )

Edited by Go Ds

23,000+ against an expansion club with bugger all members in the pelting rain while while global event in the grand Prix was on is a pretty phenomenal effort. Our supporters prove time and time again to be the most loyal. The narrative suggestion otherwise is false and Trump-eqsue. 

Hats off Dees fans!

24 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Typical half-hearted effort from a lot of our so called ‘supporters’.

Bad weather? It’s a winter sport.
GP was on? WGAF

What else are you going to do on a Sunday afternoon?

Not sure if you're trolling or you're legitimately as dumb as a brick and have no life?

Could have used a bit more noise today.

23 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

Fans want to be entertained. Our game plan is defence first and boring. Create a spectacle and the fans will come. 

if you want crowds, get a coach with an exciting game plan. 

Melbourne's MCG games with an interstate rival (barring finals or being match of the round) have been notoriously under attended for decades. Don't blame the coach. Besides it's better to win 18 boring H&A games and get a double chance, rather than finishing 10-13 but "entertaining".

Sorry @Go Ds, all im hearing are excuses…………And pitiful ones at that.

The 20,000 of us that did bother to turn up sure did make some noise. 

I bet it’s the type that don’t turn up to games that will complain the most if Trac leaves for a bigger club. We are not one, and going by todays paltry effort, never will be either.

Still………….id rather be in the company of the rusted ons than the bandwagoners who turn up when times are good.

4 minutes ago, Dockett 32 said:

Could have used a bit more noise today.

they were saying on TV how loud the demons fans sounded

I was going to share a long-winded reply - as this was the topic that got me from "long-time lurker" to "occasional contributor" on Demonland.

TL:DR I don't give a fig for attendance - and people who do, fall in the 'looking for a reason to kick a club' category.

For what it's worth - Junior Demon and his brother took the one Kayo login for the brum-brum cars and I spent the afternoon with Brian Taylor c/- Channel 7. The fact he is still given a platform is a much more pressing issue than whether 25 or 30 thousand fans chose to turn up on a Sunday evening in very early autumn.

Edited by Alex No Fancy-name

9 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

I bet it’s the type that don’t turn up to games that will complain the most if Trac leaves for a bigger club. We are not one, and going by todays paltry effort, never will be either.

Still………….id rather be in the company of the rusted ons than the bandwagoners who turn up when times are good.

My theory is every club has 25,000 rusted on nuffies who go every week. Members numbers outside that core of nuffies are only casual observers whose interest fluctuates with performance.   Our problem is we’ve got way fewer casual observers 

14 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Whatever , dude. If you feel like rain, hail, shine you have to watch every second of our home games at the ground then fine. Every one's different and it feels weird believing in divisions among Melbourne supporters. Anyway for all we know we have a higher percentage of ultra-devoted supporters and lower percentage of the bandwagon ones anyway. (And even if our supporters actually are the worst then so what?!)

Edited by Go Ds

24 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Melbourne's MCG games with an interstate rival (barring finals or being match of the round) have been notoriously under attended for decades. Don't blame the coach. Besides it's better to win 18 boring H&A games and get a double chance, rather than finishing 10-13 but "entertaining".

You don’t need to convince me, you need to convince the op that called us pathetic. I was proud of the boys today. 

To the posters that disliked my post, you need to get a grip of reality. The only people that will turn up to the Melbourne games are die hards that are on this site. If you want the next generation of supporters you need to have an exciting brand which will be impossible with the current coaching philosophy. Grow up. 

59 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

23k against a franchise in those conditions and given the other major sporting activity on elsewhere in the same city is a great crowd 

Agree, I was expecting 20k . Great atmosphere in the crowd today The Irish jig for Jimmy had the crowd going off when we goaled, was great.

Had I not just spent weeks in hospital I would of course have been there, rain, hail or shine.  Can walk around 40 meters at present.  
Hope to get there for the Suns game.  
Scheduling against one of the biggest events on the sporting calendar would never have helped regardless of weather.  Didn’t this happen last year too?

4 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

You don’t need to convince me, you need to convince the op that called us pathetic. I was proud of the boys today. 

To the posters that disliked my post, you need to get a grip of reality. The only people that will turn up to the Melbourne games are die hards that are on this site. If you want the next generation of supporters you need to have an exciting brand which will be impossible with the current coaching philosophy. Grow up. 

Exciting? What's exciting is winning lots of games, especially against the best teams, and especially premierships. Doing that gets more short-term supporters and hopefully more long-term ones too. I'm just not sure that that many footy fans choose their team based on recent exciting game plans or almost lose complete interest when their team is too defensive. (Ever wonder why club presidents talk about making finals or winning flags rather than their team being exciting or doing dances on TikTok?)

I was there with friends and had a good day out, as did the rusted on supporters around me in N53, despite the result. As a club, we are what we are. 

19 minutes ago, Fanatique Demon said:

Please sir, can I be excused?

image.jpeg

You have another leg!

5 hours ago, Oxdee said:

Start of the season, first game after 6 months and the players run out to empty stands… we are a pathetic fan base. 

image.jpeg.78580661d09e1fcbd7c904a2f32064c4.jpeg

They fixtured this game knowing the GP race was on. Think about that for a moment. Whoever played GWS today in Melbourne was going to struggle to beat 30K. The weather itself would have kept another 5K-10K at home. 

5 hours ago, Oxdee said:

Start of the season, first game after 6 months and the players run out to empty stands… we are a pathetic fan base. 

I'm sure we'll make up for it next Sunday arvo at Marvel against North... 🤥

5 hours ago, deanox said:

I reckon the players don't expect massive crowds every week, and know that on a Sunday arvo in the pouring rain vs GWS with the grand prix up the road, a small crowd is expected.

I don't think it would affect them at all. They are focused on executing a game plan they've been working on.

While they don't expect it, they NEED it... so they they are comfortable playing in loud, packed environment come the bigger games, and finals. 

42 minutes ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

Agree, I was expecting 20k . Great atmosphere in the crowd today The Irish jig for Jimmy had the crowd going off when we goaled, was great.

Yes agree hellainta………..,tobe plenty of noise up in N8-9 and the Irish lasses doing their dance every time we kicked a goal really got the crowd behind them and the Demon Army were very spirited as well, I thought that we could hold on but not to be sadly. The boys stood up just couldn’t hang on.😪😢

Giants average away crowd vs all teams at all venues is just under 24,000. 

Average at the G vs all teams is 27,000.

Average vs us in Melbourne is just 19,000.

Crowd today, considering the conditions + GP starting at same time is probably more than would have been expected.

Statistically anyway.

I was expecting 20k with the grand prix and the weather so wasn't surprised. It was pretty miserable out there today. But if they boys put in efforts like they deserve people to show up and cheer them on. Like others have said against the lowest supported team in the comp on a day like today thats not too bad but against especially suns in two weeks I want to see more.

Its those who are able to come but prefer to watch from the comfort of their own homes the annoy me the most. I remember Mike Sheahan saying that in an interview a few years back and it really [censored] me off.

If its medical, financial, being abroad etc. all of those things of course are understandable. But if you're in Melbourne and have the ability and resources to come to games at least try to make it along to a few.

Thought we were pretty loud for a small crowd today but come along and help us lift the boys up more!!!

Edited by Young Blood

I was there and considering the virgin lounge has been full of F1 fans we weren’t even on the card for sports fans in the city. 

23k was good and we are way too quiet - that’s my main gripe - we are so nervous and quiet.