Posted

Start of the season, first game after 6 months and the players run out to empty stands… we are a pathetic fan base. 

7 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

Start of the season, first game after 6 months and the players run out to empty stands… we are a pathetic fan base. 

While I disagree with the whole statement, that crowd size you quote does give it merit.

Thanks for your physical support today and to those who are there.

Id say it is the financial climate but other games have been packed. 

I hope we start to do much better.

• Author
Just now, leave it to deever said:

While I disagree with the whole statement, that crowd size you quote does give it merit.

Thanks for your physical support today and to those who are there.

Id say it is the financial climate but other games have been packed. 

I hope we start to do much better.

My concern is what the players feel coming out to empty stands. We need every edge that we can get and yet this happens. 

2 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

My concern is what the players feel coming out to empty stands. We need every edge that we can get and yet this happens. 

I reckon the players don't expect massive crowds every week, and know that on a Sunday arvo in the pouring rain vs GWS with the grand prix up the road, a small crowd is expected.

I don't think it would affect them at all. They are focused on executing a game plan they've been working on.

3 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

By this logic GWS should be the worst team in the comp every year…

We have a small supporter base which is extremely die hard

We don’t attract theatregoers and certainly not in the rain on a Sunday after a massive heat wave over the previous week, up against the oztrayan f1, playing a franchise with about 2000 total supporters, if that

43 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

We have a small supporter base which is extremely die hard

We don’t attract theatregoers and certainly not in the rain on a Sunday after a massive heat wave over the previous week, up against the oztrayan f1, playing a franchise with about 2000 total supporters, if that

The Demon Supporters are still making good noise on the TV 📺 

I had organised to go with a mate of mine, who is in his 80's.  He rang me around lunch time and said he would prefer not to go, given the weather.  I was not going to argue with him.  I went on my own.  The fact of life for the MFC is that we have a significant cohort of supporters in that age bracket.  That is just the way it it it is.  Would have been far worse, if it was a twilight game.

That said, I feel shattered with the result right now.

MFC and my extension AFL can’t expect people to just turn up anymore, if you want big crowds you need to play at times people want to go, play a style of football that is pleasing to fans, not schedule games against special events like the f1 and play in venues that aren’t still stuck in the 90s, I know saying that about the mcg is sacrilegious to some but if you ever get the chance to travel and see some of the state of the art grounds in the USA and Europe you would agree. Also I would say AFL has to many games leaving people to pick and choose when to go, NFL is the best example of less is more

Edited by Garbo

Typical half-hearted effort from a lot of our so called ‘supporters’.

Bad weather? It’s a winter sport.
GP was on? WGAF

What else are you going to do on a Sunday afternoon?

Fans want to be entertained. Our game plan is defence first and boring. Create a spectacle and the fans will come. 

if you want crowds, get a coach with an exciting game plan. 

Not a great crowd but really what do you expect when the game is at the same time at the F1, the weather is [censored] and we're playing against a tin pot club?

It’s almost like the Tigers and Pies have 3 or 4 times the fan base than us

Weird

I believe 23k in that weather, versus GWS, should be considered a win.

The Grand Prix had 130k and that’s an enormous, global sport. 

6 minutes ago, DubDee said:

It’s almost like the Tigers and Pies have 3 or 4 times the fan base than us

Weird

I bet pies or tigers v gws today wouldn’t have broken 40k today, pies average 35 vs gws at home and tigers 29k which is the same as us, gws never get big crowds even playing big teams here let alone on a cold Sunday 3pm game while the f1 is on

Edited by Garbo

32 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

23,278 I think it was?

10k more than I expected

For a rain soaked day with the GP that a reasonable crowd