Posted
36 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Not sure that would make sense given there first pick will be 28 are they going to stop every other club bidding to including saints and gc 

No but if he gets past Richmond at 6 and the Saints at 7 and 8 then worst case they'll be paying pick 10 points instead of pick 5 (note these picks will all be +1 after Ashcroft gets bid).

Posted (edited)

Essendon the big losers needing to do such a trade. They need multiple top 20 picks. If Kako is a bust as most of their picks are it just condemns them to many more years in no man’s land. Even if he’s elite, small forwards don’t lead you to the promised land they just make the trip exciting. Tassie must be frightening for them. 
Personally I think it’s absolutely fantastic and a result worthy of a celebration.

Edited by Roost it far

Posted

Very happy with this and a better outcome than what I was expecting regarding the pick swapping this year. 

Get some elite talent in the midfield and we can look to set up again for the next decade, particularly if we lose one, or both, of Oliver and Petracca next year.

Posted (edited)

The thing is if we nail these picks and  Petracca and Oliver have strong seasons it puts us in a much stronger position to trade one or both for serious compensation. 

Edited by Roost it far

Posted
55 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Our draft motive will be to grab two players that can come in and impact straight away. 

I honestly don't think we'll go a tall with our first two picks. I think we'll go mids first and foremost. 

One thing to consider with the draft is the uncertainty of both Oliver and Trac next year.

Pick 5 should be in someone like Harvey Langford. 190cm big bodied midfielder who can have some serious impact up forward also.

His game against Gippsland Power where he had 33 disposals and kicked 4 goals was evident that he can be just as dangerous up forward. 

I reckon Smillie will be under heavy consideration for pick 9 also if he doesn't get taken by the Tigers at pick 6.

Why worry about about next year we will get picks in top 10 in the trade deals to get mids if we need them.

Let’s get the best of this bountiful draft now that we have 2 top 10 picks for our choice. 

ie one mid and one tall Tauru or Armstrong. Or two mids. 

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Our draft motive will be to grab two players that can come in and impact straight away. 

I honestly don't think we'll go a tall with our first two picks. I think we'll go mids first and foremost. 

One thing to consider with the draft is the uncertainty of both Oliver and Trac next year.

Pick 5 should be in someone like Harvey Langford. 190cm big bodied midfielder who can have some serious impact up forward also.

His game against Gippsland Power where he had 33 disposals and kicked 4 goals was evident that he can be just as dangerous up forward. 

I reckon Smillie will be under heavy consideration for pick 9 also if he doesn't get taken by the Tigers at pick 6.

Why worry about about next year we will get picks in top 10 in the trade deals to get mids if we need them.

Let’s get the best of this bountiful draft now that we have 2 top 10 picks for our choice. 

ie one mid and one tall Tauru or Armstrong. Or two mids. 

Posted

Not saying he’s going to be the next Bontempelli, but Langford does remind me of him. Unfortunately, can’t see him being available at pick 5. Can we package 5 and 9 for pick 2 or 3? 

• Vomit 2
Posted
5 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Not saying he’s going to be the next Bontempelli, but Langford does remind me of him. Unfortunately, can’t see him being available at pick 5. Can we package 5 and 9 for pick 2 or 3? 

Hope not. 5 and 9 is a nice spot, we need both quality and quantity

• Like 20

Posted

On face value a great trade.

With Saints having Picks 6 and 7 I anticipate they may draft 2 mids.

Posted
1 hour ago, adonski said:

Travalgia may come into consideration  at 9, adds speed, replaces Riv at half back

Good athlete and great competitor but his decision making and skills seem iffy. Think he projects better as a mid (as does Riv for that matter).

Posted
1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

North maybe if they are looking to nab Houston; except I cannot see them trading at Future 1st.

Posted
4 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Good athlete and great competitor but his decision making and skills seem iffy. Think he projects better as a mid (as does Riv for that matter).

Sounds like a Melbourne player

Posted

So do I Dazzle. If his work ethic matches his ability, could well be the pick of the draft. 

Posted
2 hours ago, old55 said:

We probably agreed not to bid on Kako with either 5 or 9 too, that's a big bonus for Essendon.

Surely the Saints will bid at 7 or 8?

Posted
2 hours ago, old55 said:

We probably agreed not to bid on Kako with either 5 or 9 too, that's a big bonus for Essendon.

That's called draft tampering and is accompanied by heavy sanctions if found guilty.

Posted
53 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

The thing is if we nail these picks and  Petracca and Oliver have strong seasons it puts us in a much stronger position to trade one or both for serious compensation. 

Or have them returning to their best and helping us win another flag.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Melonmonster said:

Will this trade go through tomorrow or will they wait until draft night ? 
Hopefully another club doesn’t come through and beat our offer!

Most likely go through tomorrow. 

Posted
43 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I'm happy to hold fire on pick 5 and 9.

I don't think there is too much of a difference in talent between pick 2 and pick 5, so either way I think we win with whoever we select with pick 5.

Posted

Best available for the 2. Hopefully mids. We are so overrated in the mids now on past efforts. Question marks over our best 2 plus Gus going. It's stale as twisties left out overnight.

Let's not get picky either. We overlooked Wines because he was the same type as Viney, yes no one complained that Toumpas slipped, but I'm disappointed our recruiters didn't see even a risk Toumpas was no good, or the upside in Wines was greater.

Posted

Pick 5 will in theory be an A grade mid, essentially a Gus replacement, any of Smith, O'Sullivan, Langford, Lalor, Draiper, Smillie would make an immediate impact for us next year. 

Pick 9 is interesting, we could go tall and grab someone like Armstrong or Tauru or another mid like Reid, Lindsay, Travaglia 

Posted
2 hours ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

Hopefully one of Smith/O’Sullivan/Lalor get through to 5 and we sneak one of Tauru or Travaglia in at 9. 

That Tauru looks fantastic and still 17.