Deemented Are Go! 3,704 Posted November 27, 2024 Posted November 27, 2024 Just renewed me and the kids for 2025. CARNAFCKNDEEEEES! 3 1 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted November 28, 2024 Posted November 28, 2024 Just got an email from AFL asking me to update payment credit card. Logged in and they have a current credit card. Anyway deleted the card and put it back in and all ok. Fills you with confidence about their data management systems 1 1 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted November 28, 2024 Posted November 28, 2024 28 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Just got an email from AFL asking me to update payment credit card. Logged in and they have a current credit card. Anyway deleted the card and put it back in and all ok. Fills you with confidence about their data management systems My wife had exactly the same problem with Amazon this we DJ. 1 1 1 Quote
tincan 171 Posted November 28, 2024 Posted November 28, 2024 Anyone know if the club puts on special events for long term members? I heard the Saints have a funciton each year for 20 year+ members to meet players, etc. Quote
58er 6,872 Posted November 28, 2024 Posted November 28, 2024 2 hours ago, tincan said: Anyone know if the club puts on special events for long term members? I heard the Saints have a funciton each year for 20 year+ members to meet players, etc. Functions for 30 years and 50 are usually held in season before a game or mid week. Also sometimes another get together is inviting interstate fans to a pre game function. Notice of weeks or two/ three months is usually given and often includes a seat in the Northern Stand level2. 1 Quote
tincan 171 Posted November 28, 2024 Posted November 28, 2024 14 hours ago, 58er said: Functions for 30 years and 50 are usually held in season before a game or mid week. Also sometimes another get together is inviting interstate fans to a pre game function. Notice of weeks or two/ three months is usually given and often includes a seat in the Northern Stand level2. Thanks 58er, at 16 years I am still a long way off! 4 Quote
Katrina Dee Fan 4,077 Posted November 29, 2024 Posted November 29, 2024 18 hours ago, tincan said: Anyone know if the club puts on special events for long term members? I heard the Saints have a funciton each year for 20 year+ members to meet players, etc. I've been to the 30+ year function for the last 3 years. It's usually held in the Yarra Park function room at the MCG before the match, free drinks, free food, club staff (including CEO and Pres) addressing the guests, as well as a handful of non-playing members, and they also offer seats in the reserved seat area for guests on the second level of the Olympic Stand, although I've always gone back down to the Demon Army after the function. 2 1 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted November 29, 2024 Posted November 29, 2024 7 hours ago, tincan said: Thanks 58er, at 16 years I am still a long way off! Yes don't hold your breath tc. 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,536 Posted November 29, 2024 Posted November 29, 2024 (edited) I think this year is my 34th consecutive. Not bad for someone aged 37. Can anyone on here claim to be a member for longer than they are older? That’d be quite a feat 😁 Would be good to find/recognise the demonland member with the most years as a member, consecutive or lapsed…………..find out who is the most masochistic of us all. Edited November 29, 2024 by Demon Disciple 1 1 Quote
dpositive 1,838 Posted December 1, 2024 Posted December 1, 2024 Its not just about membership. I began barracking for the Dees following a match at Junction Oval. Dad took me, at age 6, to barrack for Saints as HIs playing mate from Dromana Eric "the Tank" Guy was playing. The skill and excitement of seeing Tassie, Barrass, Big BOb, Dicko etc soon overcame Dads preference. I followed the fortunes of the Dees from that time but we moved to the Latrobe valley and rarely went to Melbourne, certainly not to watch the footy. Grew up, with my best mate a collingwood supporter and we played out many of the epic matches on his front paddock. I was Bluey, he was Tully usually. Started work while he went to Uni. would occasionally go to town to catch a game, usually any match at Princes park coz we could get in for free at 3/4 time. I Moved to Melbourne and finally could afford to go to more than sporadic games. Joined some new mates who convinced me to go to Melbourne matches, eventually joined as a full member. So many good times and joined Redlegs as my economic circumstances improved. Continued great times but no joy with success(premiership) but the friendships and joy continued. We always obtained finals tickets through various circumstances, shout out to the ticket seller at Princes park who always had tickets saved for me. Moved to the country with economic and work demands limiting attendance, had country membership but couldnt fullfill attendance even at that level. My mates continued membership and I always joined them on my few attendances. I eventually joined as I knew success must come and I didnt want to miss finals tickets. Of course 21 was unatianable attendance so still denied the ultimate enjoyment at the G. Again full member of redlegs with regular payments to suit my income stream. The club has given me so much joy, with life time friends and so many memories. Theres still lots more joy to come. So im not a long term member, or even a long term supporter in some financial measures but my heart certainly beats true for the red and the blue. 4 2 2 Quote
Longsufferingnomore 1,691 Posted December 1, 2024 Posted December 1, 2024 On 29/11/2024 at 19:16, Demon Disciple said: I think this year is my 34th consecutive. Not bad for someone aged 37. Can anyone on here claim to be a member for longer than they are older? That’d be quite a feat 😁 Would be good to find/recognise the demonland member with the most years as a member, consecutive or lapsed…………..find out who is the most masochistic of us all. There might be a few junior members whose status was put down as Baby ....... prior to their birth usually to preempt other supporting family members from claiming said baby as a member! 1 1 Quote
picket fence 18,184 Posted December 1, 2024 Posted December 1, 2024 I haven't even recieved an invite to renew yet😱 Maybe they know I'm the Picket Fence!?🤣 3 Quote
Katrina Dee Fan 4,077 Posted December 2, 2024 Posted December 2, 2024 16 hours ago, picket fence said: I haven't even recieved an invite to renew yet😱 Maybe they know I'm the Picket Fence!?🤣 I didn't get one, I just logged in and did it. 1 1 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,536 Posted December 2, 2024 Posted December 2, 2024 (edited) On 01/12/2024 at 13:51, Longsufferingnomore said: There might be a few junior members whose status was put down as Baby ....... prior to their birth usually to preempt other supporting family members from claiming said baby as a member! Yes my brother was signed up as a member 5 months before he was born as he was an April baby and Dad signed us all up in December prior…………though no other family member was trying to get him to support their team. There was a stage when he was flirting with supporting the druggies due to his friend, but that was stopped the moment dad cottoned on to it 😁. Edited December 2, 2024 by Demon Disciple 3 Quote
Katrina Dee Fan 4,077 Posted December 2, 2024 Posted December 2, 2024 18 hours ago, Demon Disciple said: Yes my brother was signed up as a member 5 months before he was born as he was an April baby and Dad signed us all up in December prior…………though no other family member was trying to get him to support their team. There was a stage when he was flirting with supporting the druggies due to his friend, but that was stopped the moment dad cottoned on to it 😁. That story sounds familiar, actually! My brother and sister in law did the same, their first son was a February baby, so in the October the year before they enrolled him as a member. His pack came in the mail as "Baby Oxley". Later on the club rang and said "We don't have a name for your baby", to which Andrew replied, "He was only born yesterday, but his name is Samuel.". Sam's been a consecutive member since, next year will be his 25th year. 3 2 1 Quote
mattyg8 1 Posted December 10, 2024 Posted December 10, 2024 Hey has anyone got any extra gather round codes they dont need. Would be much appreciated 1 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted December 13, 2024 Posted December 13, 2024 (edited) 'Redleg' membership packs have arrived 👏 and nicely boxed again. ❤️💙 The club has done a great job these last few years ensuring they arrive before Christmas! Edited December 13, 2024 by Lucifers Hero 3 Quote
Demon_spurs 1,984 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 (edited) Article in "The Age" which I must admit I cannot access due to the paywall https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/is-your-membership-good-value-we-count-the-cost-of-joining-an-afl-club-in-2025-20241218-p5kzdn.html But it got me thinking how much value does my membership give me: I am a Redleg member which costs me $650 PA. For this I get Reserved seats on the 1st Level Shane Warne Stand Access to 2 Corporate rooms Ryder and Hassett, (which incudes Full strength beer at night games and Sundays) Guaranteed Option to buy GF tickets if the Dees make it Guaranteed final tickets of all games the Dees play in. Cup holders in my seat. Above head TV's The chance to enjoy every home game with my regular friends and like thinking Dees fans. I have invited guests to this area, One Bomber fan, One Lions fan and One Magpie fiend (sic) and they are blown away at the value, and say it is so much better than anything their teams provide for a lesser fee) Thank You MFC Edited January 30 by Demon_spurs 1 Quote
Wodjathefirst 2,671 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 (edited) How is this for luck. Used to get general membership for a number of years for my kids and me. At the start of 2021 one of my kids came out of the closet so to speak and told me he had for a number of years been a Port Adelaide supporter. Obviously this brought great shame to our family. (My therapist says it’s good for me to talk about these things) From memory just before the Collingwood game that same year, I took up an offer from MFC to upgrade membership to a GF guarantee. Took up the offer, I really thought that we were a chance as well as a bit of FOMO. I think that week Covid also meant we couldn’t attend any more home games in Vic. Such is. Cut a long story short, went off travelling up north and rather than head home went first to SA then WA (legally) and managed to attend all our finals games including the big one! Feel now obligated to renew membership each year without question (I’m on auto renewal). As an aside, everyone talks about the GF over there in 2021. The game against Geelong a fortnight earlier (where we smashed them) was right up there too. The atmosphere was electric. WA supporters obviously hate Geelong as well. Go Dees! . Edited January 30 by Wodjathefirst Typo 4 2 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,547 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 8 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said: How is this for luck. Used to get general membership for a number of years for my kids and me. At the start of 2021 one of my kids came out of the closet so to speak and told me he had for a number of years been a Port Adelaide supporter. Obviously this brought great shame to our family. (My therapist says it’s good for me to talk about these things) From memory just before the Collingwood game that same year, I took up an offer from MFC to upgrade membership to a GF guarantee. Took up the offer, I really thought that we were a chance as well as a bit of FOMO. I think that week Covid also meant we couldn’t attend any more home games in Vic. Such is. Cut a long story short, went off travelling up north and rather than head home went first to SA then WA (legally) and managed to attend all our finals games including the big one! Feel now obligated to renew membership each year without question (I’m on auto renewal). As an aside, everyone talks about the GF over there in 2021. The game against Geelong a fortnight earlier (where we smashed them) was right up there too. The atmosphere was electric. WA supporters obviously hate Geelong as well. Go Dees! . Lucky you. 1 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,617 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 On 31/08/2024 at 22:15, layzie said: Putting off paying MCC for a month, rents gone up recently and feeling the squeeze. I 'll be a football club member no matter what but am considering downgrading from Trident. I don't want to but $1000 is a heck of a lot to spend on memberships each year. Your not alone. The cost of living these days is intense. My 19 yol son is eating his weight in food and it ain't cheap. I'm sure the club is hemorrhaging members as a result of inflation. Some of these players don't know how lucky they are with their salaries. And yet 2024 saw record crowd numbers. 1 Quote
Damo 3,466 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 37 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said: At the start of 2021 one of my kids came out of the closet so to speak and told me he had for a number of years been a Port Adelaide supporter. Obviously this brought great shame to our family. (My therapist says it’s good for me to talk about these things). When my son was 4 he said he wanted to barrack for that team that is so unlucky. He said he wated to follow Poor Adelaide because he was sorry for them. Happily the sudden halt of pancakes for breakfast soon put a stop to that [censored]. 2 3 Quote
Bombay Airconditioning 6,508 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 On 31/08/2024 at 22:15, layzie said: Putting off paying MCC for a month, rents gone up recently and feeling the squeeze. I 'll be a football club member no matter what but am considering downgrading from Trident. I don't want to but $1000 is a heck of a lot to spend on memberships each year. Was does Trident get you that Redlegs doesn’t? Quote
Roost it far 10,136 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 I had a son and a daughter. They didn’t get to choose. Both remain Demons although not as passionate as me. That’ll come. Personally I would have stopped feeding them if they changed teams. Their great aunt chased them hard and I gave her short shift. My ex and my new partner and her kid have all come on board. If you want me I come with the Demons, end of story. 2 Quote
Demon_spurs 1,984 Posted January 30 Posted January 30 4 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said: Was does Trident get you that Redlegs doesn’t? That's an interesting question, I believe for starters you get a seat closer to the wing, (which is preferable), and I believe you also get invited to Premium member events that Redlegs don't get. But I think the people I know that are Tridents, believe it's an extra to give to the club ( a bit like a pledge), (Their choice). But my point is compared to other MCG members from other teams, we get a pretty good deal. Quote