3 minutes ago, Trac-man said:

MFC please go talk to Nathan Buckley as soon as possible.

please don't

replace one coach that drove a premiership winning team into the ground with another

no thanks

3 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

On one hand what else can he say?

On the other hand his comments in the press conference were the comments of a coach with a young team trying to instill good habits. Not the coach of an experienced side that won a flag 4 years ago (14 premiership players). If he hasn't instilled those habits into them by now after 10 years as coach then it ain't gonna happen.

The level of regression we have seen with this side is inexcusable. The place needs to be cleared out from top to bottom.

We are a club with a proud history so I would never say we are a joke of a club but we have plenty of clowns in senior positions running the place into the ground.

He could start saying "Sorry to the supporters and members for that [censored] performance".

18 minutes ago, Dees1911 said:

MFC staff should go too government work.

they are already doing government like work- bunch of over paid people who do nothing but f everything up.

atp we should promote JT to head coach about the only one who hasn’t let us down. really hope we haven’t scared him off now keen to see what he has up his sleeve this draft period

The enormity of what we “achieved” today must not be minimised.

Of course we yet again [censored] up a close finish. The final 2 minutes are a checklist of how to embarrass yourself in losing a close game from in front.

But to be in that situation at all, or even anything close to it, took such a unique and rarely seen level of disgrace that it has to be properly acknowledged.

When it comes as the 27th loss out of our last 44 games, with membership spiralling, with formerly elite players floundering, with no leadership on the field, it cannot be tolerated.

Edited by titan_uranus

There is a real stench at the club and has been for some time, like they have been trying to cover things up, for eg the words love and culture ring a bell....

I think we got too far ahead of ourselves after 21', the coach being the main culprit, senior players not far behind.

A Graders wanting to leave and don't look like they want to be there, off field dramas, many we probably aren't aware of.

I have never been a fan of Goodwin, he was never our first choice, the guy is full of spin and doesn't seem like the sharpest tool. He has one main way & if it doesn't work, he is like a deer in the headlights.

We have screwed up so much since 21, no key forwards to come our way which has always been our Achilles heel, relying on smalls and medium forwards. Constant selection integrity issues and even today it happened, I'd rather lose trying some kids and something different, but he continues to select all the protected species, there must be something deeper in this....

While today wasn't all Simon's fault by any means, we played bruise free footy with no defensive alertness. He needs to go, the club is at rock bottom after today. Our board is a shambles, president (interim) MIA, memberships plundering, players going backwards, the list goes on. Goodwin must go and time to trade out some senior players and start fresh, thankfully we have some kids to build on.

18 minutes ago, VNightCityLegend said:

I keep seeing “but the players love Goodwin” narrative and sacking him would see mass trade requests and Pickett only signed because of the coach. What a load of nonsense…

Just look at Ange Postecoglu at Tottenham. It’s very rare to keep players onside in football/soccer especially over in Europe for a big club, but in spite of coming 17th in the Premier League, and yeah, he was able to win a trophy, but literally 95% of the Tottenham squad, including Romero, a World Cup winning centre back, touted by Messi as the best defender in the world eulogizing Ange on social media to bid him farewell post sacking. You rarely see such support these days such is the ego of multi millionaire football players.

2 months later, they are hard at work doing pre season because that’s what they are paid to do.

Point being, these are professionals. Natural disappointment would definitely occur, but they would also know this is part of the caper and will quickly move on.

I sincerely hope the fear of discontent within the locker room isn’t a big factor for moving on Goodwin.

Garry Lyon spoke well a few weeks back, loved Northey, loved Balme, loved Danners in fact wished he had played a bit longer under Daniher. I'm sure he would've been shattered to see Balme go but we went from the depths of despair in 97 to a Prelim in 98. Yes it was a generation ago but shows that unless the next coach coming in is a disaster like Neeld the players will love him too.

17 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

If we are going to replace then will have to get moving before Carlton do, and before trade period starts.

This.

38 minutes ago, JTR said:

Seriously mate, who the [censored] do you think you are?

I'm not going to come on here to defend Goodwin because its not posisble.

I will defend the "happy clappers" though, cause I'm sick to death of hearing from people like you that I/we are part of the problem, simply because I/we choose not to be a tiresome [censored] sad sacks when things don't go our way.

If I don't want to wallow in negativity, I won't, so with all due respect, shove your self righteous BS up your [censored].

Almost as embarrassing as the loss 😍

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

[censored] him off.

Insipid to let NMW just roam freely in the last quarter.

Won't be renewing my membership next year unless he is gone.

RISE UP PEOPLE! IF NOTHING CHANGES, NOTHING WILL!

I cannot fathom why people would want Goodwin sacked. We should be thanking him every day for getting us the flag in 21 and let him coach for as long as he has a desire to do so!

All of you people are so greedy. If You want a coach who can actually coach, someone who makes match day changes, has good tactical nous, doesn’t play his favorites every week, gives the younger players a chance, implements a current game plan, gets improvement from his players year on year, has a team that plays exciting football that brings in the fans and gives exciting press conferences that are not the same dribble every week then I suggest you look elsewhere as this type of coach is not currently wanted by the club. We want a coach that the players love and someone who will have fun with them no matter what the result.

Stop being so needy, he is our coach for life.

The issues run deeper, Goodwin needs to go but the whole footy dept & line coaches, not acceptable! The senior players something isn’t right and not sure they believe in plan or Goodwin, our list mgt decisions to hear Goodwin say we need the 24-28 yo players wtf have they been doing since 22???

17 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

On one hand what else can he say?

On the other hand his comments in the press conference were the comments of a coach with a young team trying to instill good habits. Not the coach of an experienced side that won a flag 4 years ago (14 premiership players). If he hasn't instilled those habits into them by now after 10 years as coach then it ain't gonna happen.

The level of regression we have seen with this side is inexcusable. The place needs to be cleared out from top to bottom.

We are a club with a proud history so I would never say we are a joke of a club but we have plenty of clowns in senior positions running the place into the ground.

Today, the players spoke of their thoughts on LOVE for the coach.....

Hoping for a strong response from Gary on 360.

He's our only hope of making our incompetent board accountable

1 hour ago, Brownie said:

What did we do?

Subbed Windsor off

We stemmed the bleeding by benching Koz and Melksham.

Petty had a chance in the pocket 6 points in front 3 mins to go to and bash it through to get us 7 points up so we could ice the game.

I saw Fritsch in St Kildas goal square trying to spoil while Petty was still looked to be up forward.

I watched one of our club all time greats and posession gatherer run into goal clear to kick and hack it out on the full.

Our skills and goal kicking are truly deplorable.

I saw our team totally confused in the final minute while our mung bean coach looked like a startled deer in the headlights on the boundary.

I saw a young st Kilda kid paid no respect and run free in the f50 with under a minute to go after kicking a goal a minute earlier.

I saw Jeffo get dropped and Petty continued to be played forward when it just doesn't work. I'm happy to see us bleed now if we give the kids a go AND give them something besides complete chaos as a game plan.

I saw us hug the boundary line week after week after week after week.

I saw Disco continued to be played back when he could be the part of the solution.

I saw us take the foot off the throat because we don't have the killer instinct to be the champion club we had the opportunity to be.

The buck stops with the coach(es) and the board that hire them.

Thank you Simon for bringing us a wonderful moment in time I'll never forget.

But your record since that moment has completely crumbled.

We became the hunted and every club has run us down.

Agree Brownie, and RIGHT ON THE MONEY

THABK YOU!

So if and when Goodwin ( I prefer the soccer player) decides to go or gets the Putsch Who then replaces him.

Experienced or novice ? And for how long.

Today was a coach killer if I ever saw one, Goodwin seems to repeat the same message every loss this year but clearly it’s getting no traction with the players. If the club has any backbone left they will sack him first thing Monday

Edited by Garbo

13 minutes ago, 640MD said:

So if and when Goodwin ( I prefer the soccer player) decides to go or gets the Putsch Who then replaces him.

Experienced or novice ? And for how long.

I couldn't care less who the interim coach is. Throw Choco in there for 4 rounds.

The search should have started at 0-5 and as others have mentioned we need to move now before Carlton do.

Sad thing is he'll probably see the year out because our ship is rudderless and our leaders are asleep at the wheel.

5 minutes ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

Throw Choco in there for 4 rounds.

I'm sick of chocco milking us to top up his super. he can pack his bags as well.

i'd let chaplin be interim coach

afl.com.au
No image preview

Online threat to Simon Goodwin reported to AFL Integrity...

An anonymous social media post has been passed on by the Demons to the AFL

I know everyone is upset, but this is putrid behavior. If it was a Melbourne member I hope they’re banned for life.

Everyone is entitled to be upset and angry, but let’s get some perspective.

Rubbish carry on!

1 hour ago, Wrecker45 said:

Why was Kozzie on the bench with 5 minutes to go? Farcical if not fixed

I was watching closely as I thought he was subbed he was off so long. He was ready to come on. Multiple stoppages and Opportunities to come on. Serious flaws in coaches communication. Goodwin vitriole aside, something nqr more broadly in our coaches box.

55 minutes ago, Age said:

I cannot fathom why people would want Goodwin sacked. We should be thanking him every day for getting us the flag in 21 and let him coach for as long as he has a desire to do so!

All of you people are so greedy. If You want a coach who can actually coach, someone who makes match day changes, has good tactical nous, doesn’t play his favorites every week, gives the younger players a chance, implements a current game plan, gets improvement from his players year on year, has a team that plays exciting football that brings in the fans and gives exciting press conferences that are not the same dribble every week then I suggest you look elsewhere as this type of coach is not currently wanted by the club. We want a coach that the players love and someone who will have fun with them no matter what the result.

Stop being so needy, he is our coach for life.

Yes, I’m grateful for everyone involved in that trophy, Goodwin included. But the car Simon Goodwin drove across the finish line in ‘21 was built by Paul Ross, and since then he seems to have lost the manual.

But he won’t go, because the people involved in making that decision are a rabble themselves.

23 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Today was a coach killer if I ever saw one, Goodwin seems to repeat the same message every loss this year but clearly it’s getting no traction with the players. If the club has any backbone left they will sack him first thing Monday

I know we have said to sack coaches ad nauseum, but in all seriousness with an interim CEO and President, how does this technically get done?

Does getting Paul and Steve (zoom/webex or whatever) in for an emergency meeting tomorrow to vote and decide on the future of our coaching dept even constitutional given they haven't officially started? Does the charter / constitution allow for an interim ceo/president to sack the coach and gm of footy now? Surely there is a way to act now. The job is clearly untennable and the sooner we start looking for a replacement the better. There is no way on earth Goodwin is the coach in 2026.

1 hour ago, jaydenh10 said:

they are already doing government like work- bunch of over paid people who do nothing but f everything up.

atp we should promote JT to head coach about the only one who hasn’t let us down. really hope we haven’t scared him off now keen to see what he has up his sleeve this draft period

Not sure what the pejorative attack of govt workers are

I’ve worked in private industry and the govt (In health)

This slur is confusing and beneath DL