9 hours ago, Smokey said:

You seem to be myopically focused on the wrong guy. chin has improved out of sight and still has plenty more upside. we have guys on our list on twice as much money as him for contribute less right now.

8 hours ago, Smokey said:

it sounds ridiculous, but the temperament is what counts in my opinion, to bolster the stars in our team. Footy, is about mind and how players integrate into a shared vision. I always felt that Chandler's temperament meddled with what we had. It was sort of a 'it's not my fault' flighty sort of mentality. Hard to detect, but definitely there with Chandler - i see that with a lot of Carlton players too. They can turn it on but often their collective psychology lets them down. You couldn't question our collective psychology for a few years there. But I felt the turning point for bad habits came in when Chandler was given a spot. It's tricky to explain, but I definitely have a very clear and certain belief about it. Call me crazy. I think Chandler resembled a demarcation from the honest footy we had going. Yes Chandler has undoubtedly improved, but his attitude is still fake in my opinion. Take it or leave it. I know he's lovable. I just read fake too often. And I think it is contagious. I think he'd be just as happy to play state footy, he doesnt have that extra 'no-fake' 'this is what i want' sort of attitude. And if he shows glimpses I still think he defaults to a pretend sort of intention that affects the pysche of the team. It's why he gesticulates and demonstrates a lot, in my opinion, it's an over compensation for what his lack of confidence out there. And I think his lack of confidence has bred throughout the team. It only takes one mole, so to speak, to start the rot. To me, and I'm thoroughly aware this is not popular opinion, that was the mind and intent of Kade Chandler. Surface level looks good, great even. But there's a fickleness to his raison d'etre out there if you look deeper. He competes but rarely wins one on ones, often doesnt hold the tackle through, tip toes around the contest (keeping his width yeh but often makes himself irrelevant).

Yes it's myopic, but when I put on my myopic glasses with other players I find it to question their bottom line as footballers - even Salem (who by the way has proven himself in the past as completely formidable and impentrable as a player, so questioning him now is a different exercise), Van Royen (who i think has absolutely got the top-level footballer in him because desire and intent is true, not deviant or uncertain, and certainly serious not flighty, just young yes, but I have no doubt he will find it in a couple of years), or other players who have been down on form - their bottom line is trustworthy . I do not believe I can say that for Kade Chandler.

More games than not I usually find myself saying I still don't really know what he is.

9 hours ago, Smokey said:

You seem to be myopically focused on the wrong guy. chin has improved out of sight and still has plenty more upside. we have guys on our list on twice as much money as him for contribute less right now.

it's also not that Chandler is that bad, but that the position he occupies is vital to success - Neal Bullen is Adelaide's most effective kick inside 50 this year. Does that give some explanation as to why we're not winning games this year?

Our best are Pickett and Melksham.

You would want Chandler for the position he occupies to be up there with them, and I'm quite sure he is not.

Once again, Kade looks the goods, huffs and puffs, does some nice 1 percenters, pressure generally pretty good (though not what Neal Bullen's was) but is ineffective going inside 50, no better that Oliver or Petracca.

And that is the kick we should be paying players for. Oliver and Trac get paid for other aspects of their game too, including '[censored] you i'm the boss' attitude, which Chandler does not have. And he doesn't need to. But his short kick game needs to be impeccable inside 50. And it's not that.

On 24/06/2025 at 06:27, Lord Travis said:

Goodwin's fate seems sealed at this point, it's just a matter of if we can afford to pay him out end of 2025 or have to wait for contract end of 2026.

Meanwhile, on a planet far, far away.

On 23/06/2025 at 03:46, M_9 said:

I've mentioned this and nauseum, and I'll say it again.

The 'farm thing' is real. I've lived on the Surf Coast for 50 years. I know Danger's family, Cookie et al.

The Cats have Nigel Austin (Cotton On) and the Costa group as major sponsors.

Both are both Billionaires (capitalized on purpose).

The club and players want for nothing. The club is planning to build a $20m 'community facility'.

$10m donated by the aforementioned sponsors. The Cats rort the system. Costa fought the Australian mafia and 'won'. He schooled BC. Taking on the AFL is kid's stuff. The AFL is powerless. A joke.

No league in the world can control off the book payments

If the Cats wanted Clarrie they could get him tomorrow.

Same for any player in the league.

Statement/rant of the year @M_9

3 hours ago, demoniac said:

Goody has failed to imprint reliable repeatable structures and ball movement required to have us compete with best teams post 21. We're a team that relies on talent rather than structures to score. Goody's time is up.

We COMPETED(to quote you) post 2021, post 2023 was a different matter

If you think there hasn’t been a change in ball movement you’re wrong. It’s there unfortunately it’s there just not fully engrained with the F50 entries

1 hour ago, nextskipclaz said:

it's also not that Chandler is that bad, but that the position he occupies is vital to success - Neal Bullen is Adelaide's most effective kick inside 50 this year. Does that give some explanation as to why we're not winning games this year?

You would want Chandler for the position he occupies to be up there with them, and I'm quite sure he is not.

Once again, Kade looks the goods, huffs and puffs, does some nice 1 percenters, pressure generally pretty good (though not what Neal Bullen's was) but is ineffective going inside 50, no better that Oliver or Petracca.

And that is the kick we should be paying players for. Oliver and Trac get paid for other aspects of their game too, including '[censored] you i'm the boss' attitude, which Chandler does not have. And he doesn't need to. But his short kick game needs to be impeccable inside 50. And it's not that.

I’m sorry but Nibbler was with us last season how were we not winning more games last season.

Do you also understand Adelaide effectively play 4 tall forwards in Walker, Thilthorpe, Fogarty and Curtin who play a long down the line style of game, there is always at least one of them presenting high up the ground as a transition option from defence. So their F50 entries are very much to a contest.

There are some undeneinable facts. Since winning the premiership we have failed to appear in a gf since. Since 2021 we have slid down the ladder and now sit in the bottom 4 which is where we finished last year. Thank you for the flag in 2021 coach but it is now time for change both on and off the field. Our team is no longer a finals team and the FD is no longer relevant in 2025, a lot of changes are need.

4 minutes ago, old dee said:

There are some undeneinable facts. Since winning the premiership we have failed to appear in a gf since. Since 2021 we have slid down the ladder and now sit in the bottom 4 which is where we finished last year. Thank you for the flag in 2021 coach but it is now time for change both on and off the field. Our team is no longer a finals team and the FD is no longer relevant in 2025, a lot of changes are need.

I think this is how I’m feeling as well. I think Goodwin will stay but I’d be happy for change

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

I think this is how I’m feeling as well. I think Goodwin will stay but I’d be happy for change

If we are keeping Goodwin because we cannot afford to pay him out then we are doomed. So what happens if we don't pay him out? More of the same in the first half dozen games of next season and then the pain of not offering him a contract and after a loss in the KB game we fling him. Seems to me that he has to win the majority of games from this weekend on . Failure to do that and he is replaced. Let's not pour 2026 down the drain in the same way we have done in 2023 - 2025. To quote a line from the early 1970's "It's time".

Frustrating listening to Goodwin on 360. Fair dinkum, he should be a politician. A lot of words but no substance. I really don’t think he has got a clue.

21 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Frustrating listening to Goodwin on 360. Fair dinkum, he should be a politician. A lot of words but no substance. I really don’t think he has got a clue.

Was that around the forward entry stuff?

11 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Was that around the forward entry stuff?

Yes. Kept talking about our improved entry figures but didn’t address inability to convert.

3 hours ago, nextskipclaz said:

Well he's the closest thing to Nibbler that we have available. ANB was fantastic, but I think you are suffering from some recency bias as well - he became a great player, he wasn't always a great player.

We have far bigger list management problems to solve right now, and he isn't the only player on the team responsible for delivering the ball inside 50. He's a better field kick than Clarry and Trac by a mile. And before you say it - yes, Clarry and Trac do more in other areas of the game - but they are also among our highest paid players on the list. In reality you should be more annoyed by their horrible ball use., because its deplorable for players of their standard.

37 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Yes. Kept talking about our improved entry figures but didn’t address inability to convert.

I think Gaz was just as confused as all of us.

On 24/06/2025 at 16:56, nextskipclaz said:

Absolutely. Chandler has to go - he is the kind of player that kids you into thinking he's valuable (and many dees supporters fall for that), but Collingwood would never pick up someone like Kade Chandler - he "tries" but doesn't "do" or

Don't think you have a clue - at all, seriously clueless with a capital C.

Chandler is one of the few improvers this year. And one of the few who shows aggression when he attacks the footy.

This despite being played way up the ground often in a semi tagging role.

Chin would be leading the most improved in 2025.

Listening to John Longmire being interviewed on unfiltered on chanel 7.

So So So different to the corporate rhetoric we get from Goody. The game will better if anyone (including us) get him back into a coaches box. Like Goody he seems relationship focussed but has an honest country lad feel about it. A big yes from me to chase him!

Watched Goody on 360

Cardboard expression - can't see the players responding to his expression.

The particularity/nuance is missing in our game this year, because the particularity/nuance is missing in Goodwin

Therefore players glean generalities from him, and nuance is not imparted.

[censored] I wish footy people were educated, refined and responsive to nuance as human beings.

Well actually...Macrae is. And Pies on top

Goody....It's time to go.

2 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

Don't think you have a clue - at all, seriously clueless with a capital C.

Chandler is one of the few improvers this year. And one of the few who shows aggression when he attacks the footy.

This despite being played way up the ground often in a semi tagging role.

Chin would be leading the most improved in 2025.

Well that probably explains our poor form. If Chandler is our most improved player we must have a lot standing still.