Time to go Goody?

Pass mark is having a board approved plan and sticking to it.

Including Maintaining unity and hunger in the group despite the many distractions. 

It’s obviously not as simple as ‘make finals’ as you can miss this on %

Do we play kids or do Trac and Clarry and May come back in ripper nick ready to dominate?

If he gets us to the top 4 again in the next few years then he's an genius.

And if we get there again and he has to watch us fumble and choke under opposition pressure during the resultant finals then if I were him I'd walk away anyway.

Goodwin is the least of our problems in my opinion. A playing group who are doing the right things to be in tip top shape to compete, and who deliver when put under pressure by the big teams is the starting point. Reality is he's achieved a lot with a lot of forces going against him.

Questionable game plan, haven’t been able to improve the list with poor trades since 21 & fix our fwd issues, the bungled trade of Grundy & the words he used of how much they valued him only to stop playing him, whose to blame the list mgt team , how much say does he have in the trades? The improvement will need to come from the same list and the younger talent as I can’t see a back up ruck who will keep Fullerton company doing much .. great trade period again 

15 minutes ago, Fuchsias Forever said:

with a bit of good fortune Simon "Straight Sets" Goodwin will be out the door by Round 6 and we can get a modern fair dinkum coach with an attacking game plan to reenergize this group for another Crack before Max's time is up

Presumably I cannot describe how noxious and vain posts like this are without getting some kind of black mark from the admins, but it gets so boring wading through this stuff and the sheer volume of it even in unrelated threads is slowly driving me off the site.

12 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Presumably I cannot describe how noxious and vain posts like this are without getting some kind of black mark from the admins, but it gets so boring wading through this stuff and the sheer volume of it even in unrelated threads is slowly driving me off the site.

There is a lot of WCW about this post - and that’s a good thing!

25 minutes ago, Little Goffy said:

Good. You can join the conga line of Goodie hagiographers worshipping at his shrine.

It'll probably also increase the intellectual levels on Demonland considerably  😂😂

• Vomit 2

12 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

Good. You can join the conga line of Goodie hagiographers worshipping at his shrine.

It'll probably also increase the intellectual levels on Demonland considerably  😂😂

I am completely with Little Goffy on this. So tired of the ridiculous criticising c..p that is dominating this site. Goodie hagiographers: well, he has a flag,  multiple top four finishes and a record to match basically anyone's. The real criticism is that he hasn't made enough of it outstanding list - which completely ignores the fact that a few other clubs have had pretty outstanding lists too, and that he has had some pretty terrible luck with critical injuries at critical times. But some people just love to bag anyone and everything - the coach, the board, certain players (think of how much ANB and TMac have copped, among many others!) 

-yep, if there is a chance to criticise, along come CF, HTD, the almost aptly-named Kent....

• Clap 4

6 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

I am completely with Little Goffy on this. So tired of the ridiculous criticising c..p that is dominating this site. Goodie hagiographers: well, he has a flag,  multiple top four finishes and a record to match basically anyone's. The real criticism is that he hasn't made enough of it outstanding list - which completely ignores the fact that a few other clubs have had pretty outstanding lists too, and that he has had some pretty terrible luck with critical injuries at critical times. But some people just love to bag anyone and everything - the coach, the board, certain players (think of how much ANB and TMac have copped, among many others!) 

-yep, if there is a chance to criticise, along come CF, HTD, the almost aptly-named Kent....

I'm not in the sack Goody camp, but I get more irritated with this post than any Goody critics, because you totally ignore the facts. 

We haven't had multiple top 4 finishes. The season doesn't end after the home and away, though Goody probably wished it did post 2021.

And our injury record post 2021 has been no worse than most clubs. Our inability to cover injuries has been due to our pathetic recruiting and list management of late. I'm surprised you didn't include "loading" as a factor, because every year the sycophants bring it up.

If the review of the Football Department doesn't bring about wholesale changes, and results don't go our way early in 2025, then Goodwin deserves to be in the hot seat.

• Clap 3

33 minutes ago, Cranky Franky said:

I congratulate you on learning how to use thesaurus.com to bypass the auto-censor.

9 minutes ago, mo64 said:

I'm not in the sack Goody camp, but I get more irritated with this post than any Goody critics, because you totally ignore the facts. 

We haven't had multiple top 4 finishes. The season doesn't end after the home and away, though Goody probably wished it did post 2021.

And our injury record post 2021 has been no worse than most clubs. Our inability to cover injuries has been due to our pathetic recruiting and list management of late. I'm surprised you didn't include "loading" as a factor, because every year the sycophants bring it up.

If the review of the Football Department doesn't bring about wholesale changes, and results don't go our way early in 2025, then Goodwin deserves to be in the hot seat.

Injuries: in 2023, at the end of the season, our forward line was completely destroyed by injury. In 2024, we had our three best players, all multiple AA players, either out or totally affected because of injury.  Injuries kill teams. If you can't see that, you're not looking.

24 minutes ago, Ollie fan said:

Injuries: in 2023, at the end of the season, our forward line was completely destroyed by injury. In 2024, we had our three best players, all multiple AA players, either out or totally affected because of injury.  Injuries kill teams. If you can't see that, you're not looking.

You are doing it again. Unless you are prepared to look at the injury lists of every club, you can't use it as an excuse.

And including Oliver is ridiculous, because playing with injury is part of football. If he wasn't performing then don't play him.

• Clap 4

7 minutes ago, mo64 said:

You are doing it again. Unless you are prepared to look at the injury lists of every club, you can't use it as an excuse.

And including Oliver is ridiculous, because playing with injury is part of football. If he wasn't performing then don't play him.

Sure. Were  Brisbane missing Neale or Andrews? Were Sydney missing Heeney or Warner? Were GWS missing Greene or Hogan? Were Port missing Butters or Rozee?

We were missing Trac, Clarry was playing through a ridiculous amount of injuries but because he's Clarry he still deserved his spot, as well as it being very good for his mental health (and as a concerned club with a concerned coach and a difficult situation, that was excellent work by the club); Gawn had a stress fracture but still deserved his spot.

21 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Why bother your dealing with someone unreasonable who talks of

the last 3 years being a total failure because we didn’t win a flag or final- forget the fact there were certain circumstances and we put ourselves in the top 4 after home and away season 

Wanting Goody to debut Jefferson, even though he’s not ready 

Spargo being no good because he’s small- forget the fact he’s our best link player in transition and probably the best decision maker with ball in hand

Doesn’t understand despite being underdone, when he plays Petty takes one of if not the best opposition defender away from a younger forward 

And time is quickly running out FFS, another who is incapable of seeing the change in the group happening before his eyes

OK I'LL PLAY BALL

1 If you want to make excuses re Certain circumstances what were they?? And if you point to injuries, Gee Brisbane OBLITERATED Swans with 4 or 5 0f their best players OUT! IMV our last 3 years HAVE been a total failure!

2 The FACT that Jefferson was emergency in the last 4 games, PROVES that in the footy departments eyes he was ready.

3 Re Petty taking oppositions Best Defender can you back that up?

4 Defensive Forwards are OVERATED. Give me a GOAL Kicker anyday!

5 Spargo may be small, but I question his PACE, he is so slow and with an Achillies injury whatever pace he had could be comprimised further.

6 And YEP Clock IS Ticking and unless we go close or actually win it in 2025, I'll double down in my comments.

7 And after all it is JUST my opinion of which I am entitled to, as you are to yours! 

2 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

Cranky Franky I wonder who you actually barrack for, you never miss an opportunity to put the boots into anyone that has a differing view.

4 hours ago, Fuchsias Forever said:

with a bit of good fortune Simon "Straight Sets" Goodwin will be out the door by Round 6 and we can get a modern fair dinkum coach with an attacking game plan to reenergize this group for another Crack before Max's time is up

I'll get back to you after Round 7 then.

It is never black and white but...

Our fwd entries have been a concern for years. We have bombed the ball into our fwd 50 for years despite it being a major area of focus.

Our kicking accuracy has been poor for a number of years.

Our skill level has not improved overall.

A large part of our game plan has not changed and has been found it when it counts

Our reliance on Max is hurting us.

The flip side is we had a garbage year with lots of injuries and close losses. Losses by less than a goal against 4 finalists.

Win those and the discussion is probably different. 

I go back to looking at which players (leaving out first year players) have improved. It's a damningly small list. Rivers, McVee, Turner and maybe JVR

Langdon got back to his best as did Tmac and Viney.

Below their best is a long list for whatever reason. Petty, Fritsch, May, Lever, Oliver, Pickett, Sparrow....

I get the feeling its a big year for S Goodwin.

• Clap 3

6 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Our fwd entries have been a concern for years. We have bombed the ball into our fwd 50 for years despite it being a major area of focus.

A large part of our game plan has not changed and has been found it when it counts

The flip side is we had a garbage year with lots of injuries and close losses. Losses by less than a goal against 4 finalists.

I go back to looking at which players (leaving out first year players) have improved. It's a damningly small list. Rivers, McVee, Turner and maybe JVR

Below their best is a long list for whatever reason. Petty, Fritsch, May, Lever, Oliver, Pickett, Sparrow....

Don't disagree with this post. The catch is they won a GF that way.  I know its been  a few years of poor delivery into 50, but isn't this more a structure issue. Our forward line always seems the most crowded, and our pace is slow at best.

For those blaming injuries for us missing the finals, take a look at Brisbane Lions:

1) Lose Keidean Coleman to an ACL in opening round. One of the best players in last year's grand final and was a prime candidate to be an all australian small defender.

2) Lose Lincoln McCarthy and Darcy Gardiner on the same night to ACL's. Both were settled into their forward line at the time. The former a clear 30-35 goal kicker a year.

3) Lose their high quality Ruckman for the grand final of all games.

No how's that for dealing with adversity.

The only time I saw us dealing with adversity this year was the Adelaide oval business trip. We raised the white flag in Perth and Alice Springs when things got a bit tough.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell
  • Clap 4

3 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

I am not in the sack Goody camp Ollie. However, I am very interested to hear the "key findings" from the two reviews by early November.

54 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN@!

32 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

For those blaming injuries for us missing the finals, take a look at Brisbane Lions:

1) Lose Keidean Coleman to an ACL in opening round. One of the best players in last year's grand final and was a prime candidate to be an all australian small defender.

2) Lose Lincoln McCarthy and Darcy Gardiner on the same night to ACL's. Both were settled into their forward line at the time. The former a clear 30-35 goal kicker a year.

3) Lose their high quality Ruckman for the grand final of all games.

No how's that for dealing with adversity.

The only time I saw us dealing with adversity this year was the Adelaide oval business trip. We raised the white flag in Perth and Alice Springs when things got a bit tough.

EXACTLY!!