Wildcard Weekend

2 hours ago, Big Col said:
  • Top 9 (once we have Tassie)
  • Split into 3 pools of 3
  • Each team plays the 2 other teams in their pool (1 x Home and 1 x away)
  • Top of each pool goes to Prelim (seeded by H&A ladder position)
  • Last spot in Prelim goes to the team with the highest H&A ladder position of the teams that finish 2nd in their pool

Nice to see somebody come up with an original idea.

The Big Col Finals Format (BCFF) would mean an eight week finals series, but that is absolutely workable if the H & A season consists of every team playing the other teams once only (18 weeks) with one or two byes added.

As @whatwhat say what proposed above, the H & A venue would rotate from year to year.

It would mean that the footy season would run for about the same length of time as it currently does.

7 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The main concept of the wild card it to reward the top 6 and make 7th and 8th an "also ran" in reality.

I don't think that's a terribly bad thing.

Furthermore, the weekend off between round 24 and week 1 finals is a joke IMO and needs to go. What league in the world closes down just before finals?

It’s quite possible that teams seventh and eighth this year end on the same wins as the fourth team. The competition is that even I don’t think we need it. 

I have been looking into this and reckon the best thing is to.....

LEAVE THE B****Y GAME ALONE FOR 5 MINUTES. Stop sitting around boardroom tables, or workshops with consultants, or discussion groups from professional systems overseas blah, blah, b****y blah, and let our game be our game.

14 hours ago, Demonstone said:

Nice to see somebody come up with an original idea.

The Big Col Finals Format (BCFF) would mean an eight week finals series, but that is absolutely workable if the H & A season consists of every team playing the other teams once only (18 weeks) with one or two byes added.

As @whatwhat say what proposed above, the H & A venue would rotate from year to year.

It would mean that the footy season would run for about the same length of time as it currently does.

No, it would be five weeks with each team getting 1 bye during the finals.

There would be three games in the first three weeks, 2 in the 4th week (Prelims) and the GF in the fifth week. No pre-finals bye, so it's the same length.

Pool A (1,6,7)
Pool B (2,5,8)
Pool C (3,4,9)

Week 1: Qualifying Finals

6v7 (1 gets a bye), 5v8 (2 gets a bye), 4v9 (3 gets a bye)

Weeks 2 and 3 are Pool A: 7v1 and 1v6, Pool B: 8v2 and 2v5 Pool C: 9v3 and 3v4

Week 4: Prelims

Week 5: GF

(to ensure no dead rubbers, the winner of the first week plays their second game in the third week.*)

*eg if 6 beats 7, then the next week it's 7v1 and the 3rd week is 1v6. If 7 beats 1 then the next week will be 1v6 and the third week 7v1. This way the result of the game in the third week will always determine the pool winner

[Note on prelims: Pool winners qualify for Prelim along with highest ranked 2nd place getter.
If teams 1,2 and 4 win their pools and 3 comes second in their pool, the Prelims would be:
1 v 3 and 2 v 4
If teams 1,5,3 won their pools, but team 2 came 3rd in their pool and 4 came second in theirs, the prelims would be:
1 v 4 and 3 v 5]

BCFS (cool idea for a name @Demonstone) pros:

• has 12 games versus the current 9 games and the proposed wildcard version which has 11 games.
  • If your team makes the finals you get to see them at home
  • while the system still advantages the teams that finish higher on the ladder (through pool seedings,and 2nd chance & home teams for Prelims) it provides a more realistic opportunity for any team in the Top9. This is important particularly with an uneven H&A draw.

Wildcard proposal is a pile of crop IMHO and having more teams in the finals then not in the finals,  sucks big time.

36 minutes ago, Big Col said:

BCFS (cool idea for a name @Demonstone) pros:

• has 12 games versus the current 9 games and the proposed wildcard version which has 11 games.
  • If your team makes the finals you get to see them at home
  • while the system still advantages the teams that finish higher on the ladder (through pool seedings,and 2nd chance & home teams for Prelims) it provides a more realistic opportunity for any team in the Top9. This is important particularly with an uneven H&A draw.

Wildcard proposal is a pile of crop IMHO and having more teams in the finals then not in the finals,  sucks big time.

So if the Dees finish 3rd and are in the same pool as Fremantle, (who finished 4th) and Hawthorn do we get the option of selecting our home game and our away game?

29 minutes ago, tilly18 said:

So if the Dees finish 3rd and are in the same pool as Fremantle, (who finished 4th) and Hawthorn do we get the option of selecting our home game and our away game?

We would get the home game against Freo and the away game against Hawks.
Freo's home game would be against the Hawks.
The highest rank team always gets its home game against the second highest rank team in the pool. I think that's fairest.
(Although having the highest rank team choosing is an intriguing idea)

16 minutes ago, Big Col said:

We would get the home game against Freo and the away game against Hawks.
Freo's home game would be against the Hawks.
The highest rank team always gets its home game against the second highest rank team in the pool. I think that's fairest.
(Although having the highest rank team choosing is an intriguing idea)

Yeah Im thinking if it was the other way around, Hawthorn 4th and Dockers 9th our games would be in Perth and Melbourne and both Hawthorn games would be in Melbourne.

• 3 weeks later...

13 hours ago, Jibroni said:

Apparently coming to our screens in 2025:

AFL House really lives in a bubble, completely devoid of any contact with their supporter base.

Edited by ElDiablo14

7 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

I hate this so much and it's just Americanised shizen. 

Worst part is that Americans favour the show more than the actual sport. Money grabbing machines they are.

Do you really think the AFL are going to pass up two potential 90,000 crowds at the MCG if Collingwood and Carlton finished 7th and 8th respectively?

If we're hanging around 9-12th next year in July and August I bet posters won't be complaining about this.

And surely Thursday night games will be all year round from next year.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

27 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Do you really think the AFL are going to pass up two potential 90,000 crowds at the MCG if Collingwood and Carlton finished 7th and 8th respectively?

If we're hanging around 9-12th next year in July and August I bet posters won't be complaining about this.

And surely Thursday night games will be all year round from next year.

We might as well let the AFL appoint the teams that should play finals no?

This is purely a money grabbing strategy and it will diminish the quality of the H&A, and it will benefit only those with a favourable fixture.

This now places a premium on finishing top 6.

And given we're trending towards mediocrity (unless we can turn things around over summer), the wild card weekend will probably suits clubs like ours. Who knows, we might finish 10th next year and finally win a final at the G?

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

No no no no no. The top 8 should stay the way it is.

With a 19th team coming soon enough, it makes qualifying for finals all the more of an achievement, as opposed to half the teams making them.

Finals should be for good teams playing in good matches, not ones just making up the numbers.

I remember when everybody thought Tassie was a bad idea and not financially viable because it was too small. It still might be, but thats become an unpopular opinion now. Things change opinions change. If it happens it happens.

We'll either see the "wildcard weekend" winners getting thumped because they didn't have a bye. Or maybe we'll get better semi finals in week 3 as a result of 5+6 getting a rest and mildly easier elimination final in week 2. 

Currently we have a top 4 and 4 "wildcards" making up a top 8. This is just creating a top 6 with 4 wildcards. Maybe it's just placing a higher value on 5th and 6th positions?

Who knows

And the earth keeps spinning.

Edited by John Demonic

52 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

I remember when everybody thought Tassie was a bad idea and not financially viable because it was too small. It still might be, but thats become an unpopular opinion now. Things change opinions change. If it happens it happens.

We'll either see the "wildcard weekend" winners getting thumped because they didn't have a bye. Or maybe we'll get better semi finals in week 3 as a result of 5+6 getting a rest and mildly easier elimination final in week 2. 

Currently we have a top 4 and 4 "wildcards" making up a top 8. This is just creating a top 6 with 4 wildcards. Maybe it's just placing a higher value on 5th and 6th positions?

Who knows

And the earth keeps spinning.

once tasmania and then the 20th team comes in the finals effectively being the top 10 the idea of a wildcard weekend will be deemed a lot more 'acceptable'

it won't be called that tho, cos the afl will want something to trademark and license

it gives the afl a new revenue stream opportunity - it's not part of the existing broadcast rights agreements, so perfect thing to pair with a streamer for two games one weekend

afl can ultimately 'sell' it a la gil's round in adelaide, and make it standalone friday nite and  saturday twilight / night in a sold location to the highest bidder

it would actually be perfect for tasmania as there's that white elephant of a roofed stadium to utilise once the thing is built

just add it to the bill as another thing for the tasmanian taxpayers to pay for as part of their initial afl set-up in the first few years

i like that it gives a benefit to finishing top 6 as they get a week off while the others play off in an elimination contest

presumably 7 vs 10 and 8 vs 9?