NON-MFC: Round 11

2 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

[censored] !!!!

Umpiring is bull [censored] !

It is [censored] up the game !!

Umpire #15 and umpire #22 (was not umpiring the Feral / Freo game) in my opinion are the two stand outs for incompetence.   

I get the impression from previous posters that umpire 22 does Melbourne no favours but I reckon #15 might just pip him at the post.  He has a history of making controversial decisions late in games.

Poor umpiring decisions have certainly impacted a few games this year. (but if it cost the Ferals a victory tonight, can it be all that bad?)😉

1 hour ago, doc roet said:

Annoyed, Jackson has the chance to kick Maynard in the face when he smothered his kick in the goal square.

I want to like this, I really do.

Sneaky chance we can go 4th, if GWS beat the cats and if we win and gain some percentage it can happen, that would be a great weekend for us tbh. Carn the giants.

Loving the anguish over a free paid against Cwood because they didn’t return the ball correctly. Seen it paid against us plenty - most recently when it was returned to the wrong player - and no commentator gave a hoot.

10 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I work with a rusted on Swans season ticket holder and he hates going up there because nobody watches the game. They're all constantly going to the bar, talking or looking at their phones. They also like getting tarted up like they're going to the theatre. Swans games are an occasion to be seen at, not to see the Swans, apparently. 

You’ve just described the MCC

• Thinking 2

8 hours ago, Left Foot Snap said:

Good to see Corey Wagner getting a run.

Good luck to him.

Changed the game!!! His run and carry and kicking actually started the change in Freo getting momentum. 8 possessions in a qtr.  75% efficiency 

Re the free for not handing ball back, a caller to SEN post game said his son was at the game listening  to the in stadium commentary and apparently it picked up the umpire telling Pendles earlier being warned that players weren’t handing the ball back quick enough (ie time wasting).  Puts a different paint job on the “controversy”. See if the AFL come out and out Pies back in their box (cage).  Could be deliberate tactic by Pies and they have been caught out. They should have other officials running the clock like basketball and  make it black and white when the clock stops and starts (ie in the rules) and remove the need for field umpires to call time off and on.  Such an antiquated system and so not necessary.  Move with the times AFL. 

Pies were umpired to a flag = Pies fans think umps should favour them forever. The sooking is hilarious. What a bunch of wankers.

Can't be time wasting if it's a ball up because the clock stops. Maybe they believe it's a tactic so they can get their defensive set up right.

Leaving aside Nichols decision I count at least 5 times in Collingwoods last dozen games they've been helped by a contentious umpiring decision ( twice) or a opposition player missing a clear chance missing a shot to win the game. Don't tell me they're not lucky.

6 hours ago, layzie said:

Getting tired of the subject of extra time being on the agenda purely because Collingwood have played in a few lately.

The only instance where OT should be considered is in finals. Regular season who cares really.

10 hours ago, Chook said:

You hate to see an Australian football player injured.

But not him or Maynard

43 minutes ago, loges said:

Can't be time wasting if it's a ball up because the clock stops. Maybe they believe it's a tactic so they can get their defensive set up right.

It's exactly why they do it. If McRae wants shorter games........

What a great way to start Saturday 

pies choking apparently and a controversial free against them. Lovely.  Turned it off when they were about 18 points up and going away, 

What a great way to start Saturday ,

And they're back in the percentage game now! Where all those close (= lucky?) ones can bite them again! Ha!Ha!

Now, who's gonna deliver the same to Essendon?...

8 hours ago, JJR said:

Sneaky chance we can go 4th, if GWS beat the cats and if we win and gain some percentage it can happen, that would be a great weekend for us tbh. Carn the giants.

One can hope that happens.

8 hours ago, JJR said:

Careful, JJ; that sort of vocalising preceded our Weagles *cough* 'win'...😏

38 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

The only instance where OT should be considered is in finals. Regular season who cares really.

I just don't see why there has to be a result in the home and away season and only 4 points for a win handed out. I know the players work hard for 2 hrs and it's a weird feeling all that sort of rhetoric but it adds a element to the game that few others have. 

I would have been thrilled to snatch a draw against Carlton in a similar fashion to what Freo did.

1 hour ago, loges said:

If they don’t know the rule about handing the ball straight to the umpire, they probably aren’t aware either that the clock has stopped, so it’s no use time wasting.