then he goes at Smith and applies head contact 

Intentional 

Head high

SEVERE IMPACT 

6 weeks in my view 

if thatโ€™s in suburban footy when I played, there would be an all in brawl 

it was a dog act 

On 20/05/2024 at 07:13, Bystander said:

So having read that, I looked at the vision again.

Parker clearly ran past the ball.

I am pretty sure that Smith, the big fella, being completely unaware, did not then decide to head butt Parker and manage to pull it off.

Parker is in position to attack the ball or receive a handball, not wanting to clean up his own team mate he waits for the handball receive, his team mate gives it a gentle soccer so he goes to shepherded for him. Nothing about that is running passed the ball. Parker never skipped over the footy. 

You and the footy media canโ€™t just use terms that have football meanings when they donโ€™t apply to make it seem more than it was.

Smith has zero awareness of a basic shepherd hence why his head and neck are floppy because thereโ€™s no brace for contact. Itโ€™s basic under 12โ€™s stuff but we are degrading the fundamentals of footy by teaching players to run around without a care in the world. If he didnโ€™t have tunnel vision heโ€™d have ridden the bump shoulder to shoulder. But nope, completely blind to the act of a normal shepherd.

On 20/05/2024 at 08:05, DeeSpencer said:

Parker is in position to attack the ball or receive a handball, not wanting to clean up his own team mate he waits for the handball receive, his team mate gives it a gentle soccer so he goes to shepherded for him. Nothing about that is running passed the ball. Parker never skipped over the footy. 

You and the footy media canโ€™t just use terms that have football meanings when they donโ€™t apply to make it seem more than it was.

Smith has zero awareness of a basic shepherd hence why his head and neck are floppy because thereโ€™s no brace for contact. Itโ€™s basic under 12โ€™s stuff but we are degrading the fundamentals of footy by teaching players to run around without a care in the world. If he didnโ€™t have tunnel vision heโ€™d have ridden the bump shoulder to shoulder. But nope, completely blind to the act of a normal shepherd.

Time to go to specsavers I reckon.

Iโ€™d have to look at the replay again but it looked like both heads collided and his shoulder stayed down. Not saying play on necessarily but Iโ€™m not sure it was as bad as it looked at first glance. 

I give up.

On 20/05/2024 at 06:26, DeeSpencer said:

He didnโ€™t run passed the ball

I suspected before, but now I'm sure you are taking the p...

Enjoy!

On 19/05/2024 at 00:41, rpfc said:

Do they have a tribunal process in the VFL? 4 weeks is insufficient.

lifted slightly to get him high. Shoulder breaking his jaw.

This should end your season, doing this in late May.

It's the VFL - so

• the hearing needs to be on Tuesday night at Harrison House
  • Neil Busse needs to be the presiding officer
  • the dead player needs to say it was only a flesh wound
  • Scotty Palmer is there with his notebook and pen
  • and beware of flying crutches.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

On 20/05/2024 at 07:41, Jaded No More said:

If an opposition player did that to one of our young guys at Casey, everyone would be RIGHTLY screaming for a lengthy ban.

A totally unnecessary and dangerous cheap shot from an experienced AFL player who knows very well where his duty of care is.

Jack Viney playing VFL early in his career ring any bells???

IMG_9668.jpeg.ebe4eb3803470634d717c8882f39064a.jpeg

A couple of frames before the bump, ball is about 3m from Parker, heโ€™s seen the bloke coming and heโ€™s decided to put a block on.

IMG_9669.jpeg.2d4204d0e24dba0d83ae03d77cfe14cf.jpeg

One frame before the bump, ball is still in the area, max 10m from Parker, in front of the umpires knee in the picture. What I donโ€™t get is how that bloke is not expecting contact here? Parker is stationary between him and the ball/players contesting the ball and he just does not see Parker at all. 

Now I get Parker is liable here, heโ€™s elected to bump, whatever damage is on him and heโ€™ll get 4-5, but I think his mistake is due to him not being used to playing lower level footy. Thereโ€™s no way an AFL player in that scenario doesnโ€™t see him, they would either meet him with their shoulder or take a step and try and go around him.

Itโ€™s pretty standard if the balls gone past you and you arenโ€™t in a position to get after it you block an opponent, itโ€™s gone wrong here and heโ€™ll get weeks but thatโ€™s based on the unfortunate outcome, not any outrageous action by Parker - heโ€™s stationary when the impact happens bracing for contact against a taller opponent who flat out has not seen him. 

"shepherd"?   that's comedy gold

a shepherd is what he should have done and he wouldn't be facing 5/6 weeks holiday

but keep digging that hole

On 21/05/2024 at 07:20, daisycutter said:

a shepherd is what he should have done and he wouldn't be facing 5/6 weeks holiday

Didn't Longmire have something to say about hits to players after the Paddy Mc Cartin hit against the suns don't hear him today.

Wow you donโ€™t see jaws broken 10m off the ball like that anymore

lucky for him there are not camera angles 

Id say worth 8-10 weeks but who knows with footy these days

On 21/05/2024 at 07:20, daisycutter said:

A hip and shoulder bump delivered to the body is a valid form of shepherd, in fact I wish some Melbourne players would learn this. Especially all of the softies like Billings, Howes who are afraid of contact 

Our team is starting to resemble our fan base again. 

โ€œJosh Smith was knocked unconscious, suffered concussion, sustained multiple fractures to his eye socket and cheekbone and will undergo surgery when able.โ€œ

just a shepard, lol

Edited by DubDee

On 21/05/2024 at 08:15, DeeSpencer said:

A hip and shoulder bump delivered to the body is a valid form of shepherd, in fact I wish some Melbourne players would learn this. Especially all of the softies like Billings, Howes who are afraid of contact 

Our team is starting to resemble our fan base again. 

I wish we had more fans as tough as you DS. I reckon it would make a tangible difference on gameday 

On 21/05/2024 at 09:08, binman said:

Such an iconoclast....

Iโ€™m sorry, maybe our team was just load managing after a loss yet again 

On 21/05/2024 at 09:12, DeeSpencer said:

Iโ€™m sorry, maybe our team was just load managing after a loss yet again 

Ouch, Dame Nellie Melba standard comeback right there. 

An iconoclast with a rapier wit. 

That's a dangerous combination -

Parkerโ€™s opponent will spend a lot more time recovering than Parker will miss games. Considering heโ€™s a part time player with a full time job, not earning hundreds of thousands like Parker is, this ban would be small comfort for him. 

On 21/05/2024 at 00:41, Fromgotowoewodin said:

IMG_9668.jpeg.ebe4eb3803470634d717c8882f39064a.jpeg

A couple of frames before the bump, ball is about 3m from Parker, heโ€™s seen the bloke coming and heโ€™s decided to put a block on.

IMG_9669.jpeg.2d4204d0e24dba0d83ae03d77cfe14cf.jpeg

One frame before the bump, ball is still in the area, max 10m from Parker, in front of the umpires knee in the picture. What I donโ€™t get is how that bloke is not expecting contact here? Parker is stationary between him and the ball/players contesting the ball and he just does not see Parker at all. 

Now I get Parker is liable here, heโ€™s elected to bump, whatever damage is on him and heโ€™ll get 4-5, but I think his mistake is due to him not being used to playing lower level footy. Thereโ€™s no way an AFL player in that scenario doesnโ€™t see him, they would either meet him with their shoulder or take a step and try and go around him.

Itโ€™s pretty standard if the balls gone past you and you arenโ€™t in a position to get after it you block an opponent, itโ€™s gone wrong here and heโ€™ll get weeks but thatโ€™s based on the unfortunate outcome, not any outrageous action by Parker - heโ€™s stationary when the impact happens bracing for contact against a taller opponent who flat out has not seen him. 

Still frames can be deceiving, Parker deviated into his path with Smith only having a split second to react. This should have been a regulation hip and shoulder to the body and its play on without catastrophic injuries. 

What I don't get is how Parker could stuff up the "shepard" so badly. He's lower to the ground and from your pictures his elbow is around the level of the opponents waist. Quite a feet to raise your elbow so much to fracture his jaw/cheekbone and eyesocket from that starting position. 

On 21/05/2024 at 10:00, Nascent said:

Quite a feet to raise your elbow so much to fracture his jaw/cheekbone and eyesocket from that starting position. 

He didnโ€™t do that, it was a clash of heads that caused the damage. 

On 21/05/2024 at 10:00, Nascent said:

This should have been a regulation hip and shoulder to the body and its play on without catastrophic injuries

It was a regulation hip & shoulder except the guy didnโ€™t see it coming and got ragdolled because he wasnโ€™t ready for contact. 

Parkerโ€™s evidence was in line with how I saw it, and the tribunal didnโ€™t disagree, but as heโ€™s caused damage he gets a long holiday. Thatโ€™s fine I guess but apply that interpretation consistently. I seem to remember an incident in the finals last year where causing damage didnโ€™t matter if you didnโ€™t mean to do it, all of a sudden it does again. 

Swans also tried the good guy discount of only 1 suspension in over 200 games but the tribunal noted heโ€™d been fined 9 times so threw that out too. Fines didnโ€™t count when Cameron tipped Lever on his head so who knows what the rule is there. 

Overall he was always going to go, I tipped 4-5, he got 6 so be it but some consistency would be nice. 

On 21/05/2024 at 09:28, Demonland said:

Should habe been 10 if Afl and Smithys basket case league were fair dinkum!