View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

18 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

wow. that is some veiled comments that is. No secret he clashed heads with Selwyn when he did his hammy. That event can be seen as the trigger event that sent him tumbling down.

Pointing the finger at Griffith for our issues is a bit rich coming from Oliver. Doubt Selwyn told him to give himself a prison tattoo on his own foot that extended his injury that year either.

Oliver did a little interview yesterday where he talked about how much he loved the club and how much he owed and then comes out with this. It's not great.

11 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Clarry... Mate. It's time to stop talking to the media.

Totes agree. C'mon man.

12 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Clarry... Mate. It's time to stop talking to the media.

Why? It's an opinion. He can have one. I like it, he is saying everything we have.

He probably shouldn't be saying this in public.....But what he is saying is completely accurate.

Our fitness has been declining steadily since Selwyn took over.... We need a replacement ASAP.

I reckon Bucks is gunna wanna bring his own fitness guy with him.

41 minutes ago, wheaters31 said:

I am not sure how Selwyn will take these comments from Clayton:

“They’ve got Darren Burgess in charge of their strength and conditioning who was at Melbourne.

“He came to Melbourne when we obviously didn’t play finals, finishing 17th in in 2019 and ninth in 2020 when he came.

“Then we won the flag the next year, and then he left and we bowed out in two straight finals and it’s gone downhill since.

“That man is amazing.”

No image preview

The best team in the finals, according to Oliver

The Demons star has made his pick.

Love it. We want players to talk honestly and then when they do it’s oh u shouldn’t say that.

Can’t please everyone.

9 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Why? It's an opinion. He can have one. I like it, he is saying everything we have.

Yeah, nah. It's completely unprofessional. More airing of dirty laundry that has been so toxic for our club in recent times.

Maybe he's saying it because he knows Selwyn is gone?

Either way, he's the equivalent of Ed Langdon in front of a microphone. Zero pragmatism.

1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

Either way, he's the equivalent of Ed Langdon in front of a microphone. Zero pragmatism.

I don't expect our players to be Rhodes Scholars but, after ten years in the AFL system, surely it's not unreasonable that they can engage in a conservation with a journalist without tipping a bucket of poop on the club or its employees.

Or do they all say whatever they want in the hope that the club won't ask them to do it again?

Well done Clayton. We want honesty, not smoke and mirrors.

1 hour ago, KozzyCan said:

Pointing the finger at Griffith for our issues is a bit rich coming from Oliver. Doubt Selwyn told him to give himself a prison tattoo on his own foot that extended his injury that year either.

Oliver did a little interview yesterday where he talked about how much he loved the club and how much he owed and then comes out with this. It's not great.

I AGREE with Clarry, our fitness this year has been iffy!

I feel like he's not trying to insult anyone, he's trying to compliment Burgo and he's just worded it really really poorly.

7 minutes ago, picket fence said:

I AGREE with Clarry, our fitness this year has been iffy!

Doesn't really matter if he's right or wrong. Keep it in house.

15 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

I feel like he's not trying to insult anyone, he's trying to compliment Burgo and he's just worded it really really poorly.

I think that's exactly what he was doing...and giving it as his reason why Adelaide will win.

1 hour ago, DemonOX said:

Love it. We want players to talk honestly and then when they do it’s oh u shouldn’t say that.

Can’t please everyone.

Not saying our fitness is as good it was when Burgess was there but seriously Oliver needs to look at his own "standards" before he starts suggesting others within the club need to do better

Part of the problem with our club is that they talk a big game more often than play one

1 hour ago, Brenno said:

Our fitness has been declining steadily since Selwyn took over....

If fitness is indeed declining as you claim there would be a club-wide awareness of it as there's so much data and it's easy to confirm.

Our fitness per se is not declining, and given the way sports science works and the way information is widely available, I'd be surprised if there's much difference in fitness across the AFL.

What players feel about their fitness, or what they believe about other clubs' fitness, are different stories. Like everything in the AFL, fitness is a lot to do with what's going on between the ears.

i think burgo was a bit more than just fitness and injury mgmt. he was a great motivator too

I was actually surprised we won 10 out of 23 last quarters this year, and last quarters are surely a KPI of how fit your team is.

However, we lost every last quarter in our first 7 games which set the tone for the season.

A massive tick for Griffiths was our superb injury list which was in turn an indictment on the coaching staff for our pathetic W/L. Consider that Carlton have been roasted just as much as us this year but they had a genuine atrocious injury run.

I'm genuinely on the fence on whether to keep him, but a new boss might best for all parties.

35 minutes ago, bing181 said:

If fitness is indeed declining as you claim there would be a club-wide awareness of it as there's so much data and it's easy to confirm.

Our fitness per se is not declining, and given the way sports science works and the way information is widely available, I'd be surprised if there's much difference in fitness across the AFL.

What players feel about their fitness, or what they believe about other clubs' fitness, are different stories. Like everything in the AFL, fitness is a lot to do with what's going on between the ears.

There is a huge differences in the fitness levels of teams accross the AFL.

I'd argue that behind injury, is the biggest determinate in success.

And id also argue that the disparity in fitness levels across the competition is a key facror in the huge gap between the top 9 teams and the rest

We are nor fit enough.

Our unbelievably poor record in last quarters ths season, which i thinnk had got worse every year under Griffith (though I stand ti be corrected - calling @WheeloRatings), and in red time are just two bits of evidence supporting that opinion.

4 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I was actually surprised we won 10 out of 23 last quarters this year, and last quarters are surely a KPI of how fit your team is.

How many did we win when we were 2 goals down to say 5 goals up (or 8 in the case of the saints game)?

Winning them when you’re 6+ goals down but never threatening or 6 goals up and the other team has packed it in doesn’t mean much.

In close games we seemed to consistently run out of puff.

Unbelievable… where in that comment does Clarrie bag Selwyn? Someone please point it out coz I’m not seeing it. “Reading between the lines,” I imagine ppl saying. Yeah nah, with Clarrie you don’t ever need to read between the lines.

He was asked about who might win tonight. He answered the question which included glowing praise for Burgo and deservedly so. Why do people assume that by praising Burgo Clarrie’s sch!ttt-canning Selwyn? Ffs get off his case.

2 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

Exactly, he was just stating the facts. Clarry doesn’t say enough most of the times.

2 hours ago, binman said:

There is a huge differences in the fitness levels of teams accross the AFL.

Also a huge difference in age profile/experience, number of pre-seasons etc.

Perhaps I should rephrase the original: I'd be surprised if there's much difference in fitness programs across the AFL.

2 hours ago, binman said:

Our unbelievably poor record in last quarters ths season, which i thinnk had got worse every year under Griffith (though I stand ti be corrected - calling @WheeloRatings), and in red time are just two bits of evidence supporting that opinion.

Once again, the stats would be available internally at the club — and losing last quarters could come down to any number of factors. Several players, including Max, have denied in interviews that it’s about fitness.

On the other hand, a narrative that’s grown louder late in the season is that the players have “forgotten how to win.” In other words: the challenge might be fitness between the ears. The idea that the players need to harden up (or words to that effect) is one that has grown since the sacking of Goodwin, that the players have been wagging the dog/need to toughen up.

Equally, I do concede of course that in the latter part of the year our younger players have tended to drop off as the games have progressed, which is definitely down to fitness though little to do with training or preparation per se. It takes time to build an AFL-ready tank. Just that drop off would have a negative impact on outcomes.