Demon Head 299 Posted March 23, 2024 Posted March 23, 2024 With the current state of the club’s injury list, I think consideration should be given to the field of players out there in the state league competitions to cover potential gaps in our lineup in the event of ongoing issues. The one clear area where the Demons seem to have a vacancy is a ready made big man to cover the rucks if Max Gawn is injured or simply needs a rest for a week. 4 Quote
Ollie fan 3,671 Posted March 23, 2024 Posted March 23, 2024 37 minutes ago, Demon Head said: With the current state of the club’s injury list, I think consideration should be given to the field of players out there in the state league competitions to cover potential gaps in our lineup in the event of ongoing issues. The one clear area where the Demons seem to have a vacancy is a ready made big man to cover the rucks if Max Gawn is injured or simply needs a rest for a week. Of course, there are heaps of them around. 1 Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted March 23, 2024 Posted March 23, 2024 I feel like leg speed and a bit of x-factor would be where I'd be looking or a calm mature wing style player. Obviously a JPod style pick up of a tall player would be the dream, but that's extremely unlikely. I wonder whether they might keep an eye on JvR's little bro as an option. 1 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted March 24, 2024 Posted March 24, 2024 5 hours ago, Ollie fan said: Of course, there are heaps of them around. That’s what we got Fullarton for!!! 3 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted March 24, 2024 Posted March 24, 2024 7 hours ago, Demon Head said: With the current state of the club’s injury list, I think consideration should be given to the field of players out there in the state league competitions to cover potential gaps in our lineup in the event of ongoing issues. The one clear area where the Demons seem to have a vacancy is a ready made big man to cover the rucks if Max Gawn is injured or simply needs a rest for a week. That’s what we got Fullarton for! 1 Quote
wheaters31 687 Posted March 24, 2024 Posted March 24, 2024 Go and draft the best ruckman in the country outside of AFL listed players. Need a mature back-up for Max. 2 1 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted March 24, 2024 Posted March 24, 2024 7 hours ago, Ollie fan said: Of course, there are heaps of them around. Box Hill have 3 of them running around today. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted March 24, 2024 Posted March 24, 2024 Is Bradyen Crossley still worth looking at? Was he ever worth looking at? 2 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 Here’s an article about the over-agers in the Coates Talent League who are eligible for the 2024 AFL Mid-Season Draft. Talent League: Over-agers start midseason push 1 2 Quote
Roost it far 10,136 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 5 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said: Here’s an article about the over-agers in the Coates Talent League who are eligible for the 2024 AFL Mid-Season Draft. Talent League: Over-agers start midseason push You'd reckon JT can find us some gold in there 1 1 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 Geordie Payne was definitely unlucky to miss out. He’d be one to watch. I think he showed some Trent Rivers/Zac Bailey type intensity around the footy. I think I’ll call it some “electricity”. Maybe the future Tassie plans put clubs off these lower ranked Tassie youngsters (couldn’t ignore the elites like Mckercher and Sanders) when compared to a local youngster. The other is Ben Hopkins. This weekend SANFL V VFL game might show a player who could be a handy mid year addition. 2 1 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 Think I read on the afl website that we had previously shown interest in former Gold Coast rookie Brodie McLaughlin. The suns picked him up from Frankston during 2023 ssp period. 1 Quote
DeeZone 10,589 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said: Here’s an article about the over-agers in the Coates Talent League who are eligible for the 2024 AFL Mid-Season Draft. Talent League: Over-agers start midseason push Is there anyone that you like WJ? Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 Dees might try looking at a skilled runner with a left foot sharp delivery. Salem is starting to lack the zip, misses targets, goes slow and takes short sideways options. 1 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 6 hours ago, DeeZone said: Is there anyone that you like WJ? Given that the club has at least one and possibly two list vacancies, I would go for needs. One of our needs is definitely in the ruck and if Kyah Farris-White hasn’t shown enough by the time of the draft, it might be worth a look at Geelong Falcons ruckman Joe Pike. 2 2 Quote
DeeZone 10,589 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 Thanks WJ agree KFW isn’t helping his cause at all, he is a great size but seems to lack intensity and footy IQ.😪 1 Quote
forever demons 2,369 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 I would draft WCWs son under the mother ,son 2 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 Have any of the junior watchers seen anything of Doherty or Pyke? Are either showing any forward tendencies as well as their ruck work? 2 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 (edited) Certainly ex-Sun Jez McLennan would have to be considered. In todays SANFL v VFL game, he looked very good and would be physically ready and skilled as a 23yo to walk into the team. The issue is he is a running half back and we are probably ok for that role. Though his talent would be a handy addition. Edited April 6, 2024 by spirit of norm smith G 2 Quote
Demonstone 23,572 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 It's the old recruiting dilemma - do we draft for need or do we draft best available. In the Mid-Season Draft, I would go with drafting for need (a backup ruck for example). 1 2 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted April 19, 2024 Posted April 19, 2024 This article looks at the clubs that could be active in next month’s midseason draft. Melbourne is one because of Angus Brayshaw’s retirement. The 11 AFL clubs who could be active at the 2024 Mid-Season Draft The issue remains however, that the AFL has still to announce the position regarding whether Angus’ contract pay out is going to be included in the club’s salary cap. Now that Collingwood has been placed in a similar position with Nathan Murphy’s retirement, I suppose the AFL will treat the matter with a little more urgency. 1 1 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,333 Posted April 19, 2024 Posted April 19, 2024 27 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said: This article looks at the clubs that could be active in next month’s midseason draft. Melbourne is one because of Angus Brayshaw’s retirement. The 11 AFL clubs who could be active at the 2024 Mid-Season Draft The issue remains however, that the AFL has still to announce the position regarding whether Angus’ contract pay out is going to be included in the club’s salary cap. Now that Collingwood has been placed in a similar position with Nathan Murphy’s retirement, I suppose the AFL will treat the matter with a little more urgency. Surely we can request permission to open a list spot and put Joel Smith on the inactive spot? I noticed you mentioned Joe Pike from the Falcons. Certainly a developing ruckman who's got genuine upside and has been dominating in the Coates League. Big imposing lad who's gets around the ground well and wins the footy. Not only that, he gets in and gets his hands dirty by laying tackles and doing the one percenters. Certainly a Jason Taylor type pick. 4 Quote
Where Demons Dare 270 Posted April 19, 2024 Posted April 19, 2024 (edited) Can we get Hibberd in for the back half of the season? One last crack at another premiership with his best mate Melk, and not to mention reaching that 200 game mark which he fell just short. Edited April 19, 2024 by Where Demons Dare 1 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,333 Posted April 19, 2024 Posted April 19, 2024 2 minutes ago, Where Demons Dare said: Can we get Hibberd in for the back half of the season? One last crack at another premiership with his best mate Melk, and not to mention reaching that 200 game mark which he fell just short. No 2 1 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted April 20, 2024 Posted April 20, 2024 The AFL refers to us having one free spot because of Gus' retirement, but what of the Smith spot? He is not allowed to play, but hasn't as yet had a decision in his case. Surely he goes onto the LTI and a spot opens up, as he is very unlikely to play again this year. 1 Quote