Monbon 1,840 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 Saw some footage of him highlighting free kicks after free kicks which were not paid - Toby Greene being 'hooked', Daicos pushing a GWS player's face into the surface - what would have been at least a week during the season - and the various Frees where umpires simply forgot they had whistles in Brisbane. I'm with him on this, and then, typically Korny Kane, says, he likes it, it makes it a fast, flowing game...????? Kane, as usual, hot air, bluster and contradiction. 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,013 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 12 minutes ago, Monbon said: Saw some footage of him highlighting free kicks after free kicks which were not paid - Toby Greene being 'hooked', Daicos pushing a GWS player's face into the surface - what would have been at least a week during the season - and the various Frees where umpires simply forgot they had whistles in Brisbane. I'm with him on this, and then, typically Korny Kane, says, he likes it, it makes it a fast, flowing game...????? Kane, as usual, hot air, bluster and contradiction. when you just can't avoid kane {normal first option} you can at least use the mute button 3 Quote
bobby1554 1,275 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 And there lies the problem. Until the umpires are called out about this, and explanations demanded, nothing will change. They are there to adjudicate, not influence the game. 6 Quote
daisycutter 30,013 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 3 minutes ago, bobby1554 said: And there lies the problem. Until the umpires are called out about this, and explanations demanded, nothing will change. They are there to adjudicate, not influence the game. afl: nothing to see here 1 1 Quote
Monbon 1,840 Posted September 24, 2023 Author Posted September 24, 2023 12 minutes ago, daisycutter said: when you just can't avoid kane {normal first option} you can at least use the mute button It came up on You Tube. I taut, well, maybe he's found some sense somewhere...in an Irish bog, wherever... Quote
dazzledavey36 56,290 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 I'm confused.. Is this thread about Kane Cornes or how [censored] the umpires are?? 1 Quote
Monbon 1,840 Posted September 24, 2023 Author Posted September 24, 2023 7 minutes ago, Fork 'em said: Both. 14 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: I'm confused.. Is this thread about Kane Cornes or how [censored] the umpires are?? Yep, both. Why does Final Time mean less obvious Frees are paid? It's nonsensical. So first he complains, then he says he likes it. Sounds like a demented form of masochism to me... 2 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,532 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 Some say that there is no game without umpires………….I say it wouldn’t be worse off without them. They are there to adjudicate, not influence the games. They fail dismally on both counts. Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 59 minutes ago, Monbon said: he likes it, it makes it a fast, flowing game...????? Funny thing was, the last 5 - 10 minutes of the game was stacks on the mill, 1 ball up after another. The lack of free kicks allowed Collingwood to block up the game and made it impossible to score. What fast flowing game was Kane watching. 6 Quote
Deecisive 1,709 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 I find it interesting that we supposedly had four seperate/independent umpires out there in the Collingwood v gws game. Twenty four frees in the game 12 each side. That would mean on average they each only paid 6 free kicks for the whole game. That’s 1,5 free kicks per quarter. We are supposed to have a game with rules the players are meant to follow and the umpires are responsible for enforcing. They obviously were not doing their job the thing l find interesting is they all seemed to be in sync in the way they umpired in not paying frees. There has been a lack of decision making in a lot of games this year from umpires. rucks constantly holding, throwing players out the way. Players falling on the ball not trying to move it on or even pretend to get rid of it gets a ball up. Deliberate out on bounds is a joke. Umpires from the gws game should be sent back to the vfl until they learn to play the game by the rules not just the occasional rule when the Occassion suits them 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 I’ve always been more of an Abel guy. 2 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,164 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 (edited) 1 hour ago, Monbon said: Yep, both. Why does Final Time mean less obvious Frees are paid? It's nonsensical. So first he complains, then he says he likes it. Sounds like a demented form of masochism to me... He's just another in a konga line of AFL media sycophants. Most of the media (Hodgy one of the rare outspoken ones last night which was surprising, but he'll probably be asked for a "please explain" for that) are all on the gravy train. So they know that if thou doth protest too much they're at risk of losing their media position to someone else coming behind them who is willing to just tow the corporate line / speak and not rock the boat at all. So old mate Kane is in a fight between his sense of fairness (like us he isn't blind and is itching to have his say) and his love of the big AFL gravey train. He is obviously not alone here but very few, except in rare moments of weakness, ever allow what they truly believe / feel to escape their lips in fear of losing their AFL sourced privileges. And then there's those that are just completely one eyed regardless and just don't want to see the biases / injustices. We all witnessed many examples of the above first hand during the Maynard fiasco. As soon as a few heavy AFL media hitters got on the AFL preferred 'it's just a footy act' mantra, the majority of the rest of them all just fell in to line without a whimper. And almost everyone that even gave a hint of bucking the trend always prefaced their alternate line of thinking with "Yes he might get weeks but if not he should (or will) get off". Very few called that act out for what it was, without qualifying it with a fence sitting comtradiction such as ... "i'm not saying he should / i can see both side's of the argument but probably deserves a few weeks" etc Edited September 24, 2023 by Demon Dynasty 1 Quote
Left Foot Snap 2,608 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 54 minutes ago, Deecisive said: I find it interesting that we supposedly had four seperate/independent umpires out there in the Collingwood v gws game. Twenty four frees in the game 12 each side. That would mean on average they each only paid 6 free kicks for the whole game. That’s 1,5 free kicks per quarter. We are supposed to have a game with rules the players are meant to follow and the umpires are responsible for enforcing. They obviously were not doing their job the thing l find interesting is they all seemed to be in sync in the way they umpired in not paying frees. There has been a lack of decision making in a lot of games this year from umpires. rucks constantly holding, throwing players out the way. Players falling on the ball not trying to move it on or even pretend to get rid of it gets a ball up. Deliberate out on bounds is a joke. Umpires from the gws game should be sent back to the vfl until they learn to play the game by the rules not just the occasional rule when the Occassion suits them Another decision I found bewildering was in the Brisbane game. Umpire made a terrible centre bounce which was going to be called back in any match. Oscar Mac stopped going for it knowing it was out of circle and should be recalled. Decision = block against Ocsar. Ridiculous decision and ridiculous performance by the umpire, including stuffing up the bounce. 6 Quote
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 You could see in both our game and the prelim the umpires were clearly intimidated by the huge Collingwood crowd, they would be red hot for the pies, but hesitate for the opposition. The Giants copped it worse than we did, some of the umpiring in that game was outrageous, and the fixturing was beyond belief. The only positive note is that for 3 weekends in a row Centrelink knows exactly where their clients are, which is probably a rarity. 2 1 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 Umpires intimidated by the crowd? or maybe just following instructions from above. 1 1 Quote
Little Goffy 14,954 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 22 minutes ago, drysdale demon said: Umpires intimidated by the crowd? or maybe just following instructions from above. The instructions from above were 'be intimidated by the crowd'. 1 Quote
Stiff Arm 4,420 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 23 minutes ago, drysdale demon said: Umpires intimidated by the crowd? or maybe just following instructions from above. AFL sanctioned 6 day break for GWS before prelim isn't exactly a level playing field either 2 Quote
drysdale demon 4,837 Posted September 24, 2023 Posted September 24, 2023 (edited) 19 minutes ago, Little Goffy said: The instructions from above were 'be intimidated by the crowd'. I would rather think that was only one side deserves free kicks. Edited September 24, 2023 by drysdale demon less information. 1 Quote
Monbon 1,840 Posted September 24, 2023 Author Posted September 24, 2023 12 hours ago, The heart beats true said: I’ve always been more of an Abel guy. It is an interesting conundrum. The good book says we are all desceneded from Adam and Eve. They had two sons. I'll leave the rest to your imagination... 1 Quote
Monbon 1,840 Posted September 24, 2023 Author Posted September 24, 2023 13 hours ago, layzie said: I'm not following If you're not a 'Follower', are you a flanker or a wingman? Quote
Stiff Arm 4,420 Posted September 25, 2023 Posted September 25, 2023 (edited) 2 hours ago, drysdale demon said: I would rather think that was only one side deserves free kicks. Pile-ons by multiple pies players in last 4 mins causing numerous ball ups. How can they not pay a free to GWS when 2 pies dive on the ball at once before a Giant goes for it? Farcical to see Collingwood players tackle each other on the ground, not to mention it being an ugly spectacle watch Edited September 25, 2023 by Stiff Arm 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted September 25, 2023 Posted September 25, 2023 1 hour ago, Monbon said: If you're not a 'Follower', are you a flanker or a wingman? Don't mind me Monbon, just being grumpy. And an 'On baller'. 1 Quote