Posted (edited)

First thing i see this morning is that ugly bogan Maynard celebrating on the final siren. Media did that on purpose to rub it in our faces.

You guys are probably going to cop it all this week. Leave and go interstate or o/seas.

Apparently Daicos might be cited for a high impact on Daniels?

Absolutely hilarious. NO WAY Daicos gets suspended. If it was Rivers or Bowie they'd be gone already by the  MRO. 

Pickett or May would of got 3-4 weeks for the Maynard incident and we all know  it. No appeal. Its done.

What a shocking Sept  finals its been. Surely Carlton cant win.

I think whoever plays the Filth will win it. Their luck could be about to run out and they'll be tired after that huge hit out. If Lions have a soft win today it should be curtains for the Filth and Maynard.

Edited by Deebauched

Posted
1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Sorry @BDA  to disagree.  We could have beaten either team last night. I wouldn’t be afraid of playing either.  We have to ability to beat anyone and win it. Put us against anyone and we’re a big chance.  

Just for the record.  Pies and Blues didn’t beat us.  Dees lost it. Both times. What hurts is we only have ourselves to blame in both games.  So so so so (etc ) chances to win both games.  (And ps. we were minus Gus,Petty,Melksham) 

Carlton I’ll give you. Absolutely should’ve won that game.

Collingwood beat us fair and square on the night. We were asleep at the wheel in the first quarter and they started  the game at finals intensity and grabbed a match winning lead at qtr time. Then in the third quarter they had all the answers by way of competent goal kicking.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Is there anything in it.

Would love the drama

Doesnt matter. Even if he knocked him out the MRO (ex pies premiership player)would flick it straight to the AFL corporate tribunal. Cleared to play in GF!

Oh thanks mate.yeah no worries.

Posted
47 minutes ago, SPC said:

Couldn’t agree more.

Me too. Said as much in an email to Roffey. It means my membership next year has a big question mark over it.

if I’m gws and Brisbane I’m complaining about the 6 day breaks

Posted
1 hour ago, BDA said:

we're good enough. Our game plan isn't. We play the same way again next year it'll be the same result. 

Kick straight and we win both games. Has nothing to do with our game plan 

Posted
35 minutes ago, layzie said:

When Hogan kicked that goal to get the Giants within 1 a Richmond friend asked how Melbourne must feel seeing that.

If anyone should be feeling bad about Jesse playing this kind of footy it's Freo. They couldn't make it work in the perfect hometown environment and they are crying out for a forward as well right now.

Love Hogan but losing him helped us win a flag.  

Posted

I missed what happened with Daniels. But I did hear this morning Adam Kingsley said he was fine to go back on & was frustrated because of the hia rule.

Was it daicos that did it. Funny how 7 didn't replay it. 

Nothing to see here peoples.

Posted (edited)

Does anyone else find it ironic that Gil seems to want a Collingwood v Carlton GF when all we've had shoved in our face for the last 10 years seemed to be trying to get someone like GWS across the line?

Sort of like nurturing and feeding their single goldfish for years and then one day suddenly having a bolt from the blue:

"Oh that's right I've got these beautiful (and profitable) golden retrievers in the backyard I forgot about! Don't take it personally while I flush you down the toilet little fella!" 

Edited by layzie
Posted
22 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

Me too. Said as much in an email to Roffey. It means my membership next year has a big question mark over it.

if I’m gws and Brisbane I’m complaining about the 6 day breaks

If Lions have it mostly their way today they'll be resting players in the second half. They have close to a full list.  6 day break no big deal.

Unlike Melbourne forwards who spend most of the season sitting in the grandstand doing selfies or tending to their injured broken bodies. Useless.

Posted
30 minutes ago, Deebauched said:

Doesnt matter. Even if he knocked him out the MRO (ex pies premiership player)would flick it straight to the AFL corporate tribunal. Cleared to play in GF!

100% accurate. I dont remember the incident, it dosen't matter how serious it was, i gaurentee you he won't get rubbed out.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Deebauched said:

it's collingwood, must be a "football action"

Posted
2 hours ago, BDA said:

we're good enough. Our game plan isn't. We play the same way again next year it'll be the same result. 

game plan is fine , our kicking skills and composure are 2nd rate. 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Jontee said:

I thought the Ch 7 commentary was deplorable.  I have accepted that BTs brain is always at another game but the others commentated not on what they saw but who they saw

Daicos - what a champ; (had just slipped and fallen over)

Sidebottom - ever reliable (coughed up 2 goals)

fmd

Peaked when they called the Daicos head high on Greene a great tackle

Edited by Bates Mate
Posted

The 6 day break combined with the umpires refusing to pay a free kick to the Giants in the last quarter was outrageous. I don't like to go down the AFL is corrupt, helps teams win line of thinking but geez some of the stuff is pretty hard to ignore.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

The 6 day break combined with the umpires refusing to pay a free kick to the Giants in the last quarter was outrageous. I don't like to go down the AFL is corrupt, helps teams win line of thinking but geez some of the stuff is pretty hard to ignore.

It’s really really obvious

My dad gave the game away and watches Storm now such was his disgust. I used to laugh it off but hard to disagree now. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

The AFL’s corruption levels would make FIFA blush. 
It cannot be denied that they want things their way and will do whatever they can to get it. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

So what you’re telling me is a Collingwood V Carlton grand final will sell out but a Collingwood V Brisbane will not sell out?

It's not just about bums on seats, it's ratings and profile all week.

A GWS vs lions granny would not rate like pies vs blues.

This is the tv entertainment industry. 

Posted

Putting aside the terrible umpiring and undeserving presence of Maynard out on the ground last night, I still have to dip my hat to Pendlebury (35yo, 380 odd games) and Sidebottom (32yo, 300+ games) for the way they are playing footy this finals series. How they can be producing games of that quality in their 14th and 15th seasons is mind blowing. They were real difference makers again last night, particularly Pendles at crucial moments. Out and out superstars of the game. 

Pains me to say it but De Goey was also very good. BOG for mine. We needed Tracc to produce a game like that in the finals but unfortunately he didn’t quite reach that level. We need him to next year if we’re going to have any chance of winning the flag. De Goey really ripped that game apart last night - he was everywhere and  untackle-able.

Poor Toby Bedford. Absolutely ‘Melbourned’ it up in front of goal in the last quarter. As soon as he missed that shot you could almost hear the air going out of the GWS tyres. 

Posted
18 minutes ago, Dwight Schrute said:

Something really stinks.

It's not completely blatant but everything seems to just stack up.

Umpiring, ARC reviews (in favour of Carlton for the last 7 they've been in), fixturing, MRO.

Media agendas and narratives.

Umpires betting... he's back umpiring again and the narrative sounds just like Maynard's and how tough it's been for him.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/afl/article-12202689/AFL-umpire-arrested-Brownlow-Medal-betting-scandal-makes-shock-return-football.html

Betting, 4 corners report on how much the AFL makes from betting agencies.... crickets.

Racism allegations.... let's move on.

If there's a problem, they investigate themselves and give the all clear.

We blew it this year, we really did.

But Maynard should not have been playing last night. The missed head high and tripping free kicks to GWS and then the last 2 minutes where 5 times Collingwood players just rolled up on the ground with the ball and waited for another ball up.

Yeah something is nqr with this league.

Posted

I am an MCC member. I got lucky in the ballot for GF seats. But I am seriously considering not going to the game for the first time in 40 years and letting someone else have my reserved seat ticket. Why would I boycott the game? Because the final series to date stinks to high heaven of favouritism and biased adjudication, both at the tribunal and on the field. And we all know which teams have benefitted from this disgraceful state of affairs. If Maynard gets to hold up the cup next Saturday, I will throw up and it's probably better I do that in private, rather than at the ground. The only reason to go would be to watch Brisbane belt Collingwood by 10 goals, so if Carlton wins tonight, I will definitely be treating the GF as something to be avoided like the plague.