BoBo 2,956 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 4 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: After the result of Tonight’s hearing, “everything is on” We have a Player who was knocked out cold, in the first minute of the game, who may not play again. And the opponent is free to play on…. It is “on” now. This disgrace will not be forgotten Once again, I don’t agree with this decision but I’m not on here spewing bile about wishing injury on other players. Take 48 hours and see if you feel the same as I know for a fact that many of you would decry this kind of rhetoric from other fans so it’s pretty frustrating that we don’t hold ourselves to the standards of others. 5
Half forward flank 1,022 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, Stiff Arm said: Time for the MRP and AFL tribunal to be completely independent of the AFL. No former players, no former officials, no one with ties to the AFL. Completely separate from any one in the AFL Former players by definition played in a different era, in the case of some even before a womens league was thought of or imagined. History will show this decision as out of step with community standards. 3 1
Superunknown 4,246 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 5 minutes ago, Earl Hood said: Let’s calm down. There won’t be a bloodbath. And I suspect the AFL is not necessarily that happy with this outcome. They prosecuted for a suspension and lost. Suspect the new Footy GM was keen on a sanction for a blatant head high hit but didn’t get her way. Further up at CEO/Board Level they may be just happy they could, via the Tribunal, wash their hands of any of the head trauma liability that is coming their way. Jesus they whipped him with a feather boa. A sham! A schemozzle! A stitch up! A Clayton’s prosecution. 4
Roost it far 10,156 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 29 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said: Does anyone know the deadline for when the AFL can appeal? They’re not appealing 1
Superunknown 4,246 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, BoBo said: Once again, I don’t agree with this decision but I’m not on here spewing bile about wishing injury on other players. Take 48 hours and see if you feel the same as I know for a fact that many of you would decry this kind of rhetoric from other fans so it’s pretty frustrating that we don’t hold ourselves to the standards of others. Not other players. Just Maynard! And only a footy act! What could be wrong with that? We’ve just been shown it’s a-ok, right? 1 1
Chook 15,070 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 7 minutes ago, layzie said: Once again, our club lives on its knees. This isn't about MFC. Aside from weakening Collingwood this means nothing to Melbourne directly. All it does is bare the AFL's priorities for those who were still unsure. This case will come back to bite the league though I think in coming years. 3 1 1
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 Just now, Roost it far said: They’re not appealing Source? 1
ElDiablo14 5,060 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, Jaded No More said: What ties does he have with him? I thought the thug said they were good mates? In any case hope Angus just tells him to F Off. Btw, as a new fan of this sport, after this whole circus and the impunity that the Collingwood mob has both on and off the field, the Cripps situation last year, I am now contemplating if I should even bother anymore. Right now I can't see myself watching the game on Friday, it feels like inconsequential the writing is on the wall. Very tough day to be a Dees supporter. 4
Superunknown 4,246 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, Roost it far said: They’re not appealing Is that official?
Great Northern Summer 708 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 29 minutes ago, kallangurdemon said: Martin will wish his case went first and I would have expected Carlton to have agitated for this .Sadly and completely unjustly he will be offered to the public by the AFL as the sacrifice for Maynard decision.Martin now does not have a chance and is not playing Friday night. Martin was never getting off anyway. A reduction to one week his best bet. 1
Seraph 1,824 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Earl Hood said: Let’s calm down. There won’t be a bloodbath. And I suspect the AFL is not necessarily that happy with this outcome. They prosecuted for a suspension and lost. FWIW I am not a lawyer but from everything I've read it feels like they probably could have a pushed a little harder if they were serious about getting a result. Gleeson mentioning that Maynard may miss "a couple of important games" depending on their decision just seems like planting a seed of doubt in the tribunal member's minds, almost as if you're sabotaging your own case. What prosecutor says to a jury "but consider the hurt incurred if the guilty person has to go to jail" Edited September 12, 2023 by Seraph 2 2 1 2
Roost it far 10,156 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 Just now, Jaded No More said: Source? None, my guess
Green Demon 822 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: They’ve literally done this to our players every time we play them. Not once have I seen our players retaliate. Maybe they should, because clearly the AFL says it’s all fair game. I believe in karma and I believe that they’ll get what they deserve. Will I cry about it? No I won’t. You remind me of Jim Stynes’ 250th game. Collingwood rough us up and we lose the game. I hope they lose the next game. Edited September 12, 2023 by Green Demon 1
ElDiablo14 5,060 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, Superunknown said: Not other players. Just Maynard! And only a footy act! What could be wrong with that? We’ve just been shown it’s a-ok, right? I can say, in a year I will still feel the same. Thugs get what thugs deserve. 4
4_Kent_Watts 898 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 3 minutes ago, Dingo said: I spoke to Troy Simmons about this 2 weeks ago. He said Long would get 12 weeks if he did that now. Most importantly he is in fine nick and looks fit enough to play for the Dees today. Troy goes to the same gym - nice bloke. Michael Long is A C..T. He was for that in the Granny and still is now. If he got hit by a Bus he wouldn't get any sympathy from me. 2 1
Brownie 6,086 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 5 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: She’ll care when Anita Frawley brings Gus as her witness in her litigation against the AFL won’t she? Why would she care? Why would Gil care? Why would Dillon care? Why would Christian care? They get their money no matter what. Football loses, fans lose. Litigation brings some justice to the likes of Frawleys and Brayshaw but yeah nah. The game is lost to the dollar. Go to the local footy and support your club. In fact, write a letter to one of their major financial partners as they matter the most to the AFL hierarchy. I sat next to a table of AFL execs on Friday and it's all about their partners interests. 4 1 1 2
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 9 minutes ago, Wadda We Sing said: Oh yeah for sure me also but i didnt ask that, i asked do you think Maynard should have gotten off? Clearly I'm making a point of saying no? There's significant ramifications that's going to come out of this. The growing list of ex players filing a lawsuit against the AFL will only increase. The bigger picture out of all this is emotional and mental toll this is having on Angus and his family right at this minute. 3
Deemented Are Go! 3,704 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 2 minutes ago, Roost it far said: They’re not appealing Aha, maybe we have the theatre conspiracy the wrong way around. AFL sends to tribunal > tribunal throws it out > AFL appeals and thug gets weeks > AFL are the ‘good guys’ all = lots of clicks
cookieboc 780 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 the best revenge is beating them in the GF. we are too nice, and nice guys finish last. hopefully now, the mongrel in us comes out [censored] em 3 1 1
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said: I thought the thug said they were good mates? In any case hope Angus just tells him to F Off. Btw, as a new fan of this sport, after this whole circus and the impunity that the Collingwood mob has both on and off the field, the Cripps situation last year, I am now contemplating if I should even bother anymore. Right now I can't see myself watching the game on Friday, it feels like inconsequential the writing is on the wall. Very tough day to be a Dees supporter. Don’t listen to Maynard. He has one brain cell. He couldn’t even decide if he did or did not see Gus. He said “It’s all love” like a wife beater who says he loves his wife before smashing her head into the ground. As an avid passionate follower of this sport and a 25 year premium member of the club, I am at absolute breaking point with this sport. If I get to witness a flag in person I may just walk away happy that I saw it and satisfied that I can’t invest anymore energy and money in an organization so corrupt it would make FIFA blush. 4 1
beelzebub 23,392 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 23 minutes ago, Earl Hood said: Suggest not. We have to refocus on this Friday, the whole club. On this ...I agree. But NOTHING id forgotten 1
Redleg 42,179 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 1 hour ago, Superunknown said: No worries Cripps better get a stack hat on. There’s gonna be football acts all over the ground. Blokes’ heads are literally going to explode You need to smother Cripps ribs, as they are broken. He is playing with broken ribs. 3
Bring-Back-Powell 15,555 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 In good news, Carlton are trying to get Jack Martin down to 1 week rather than cleared altogether. 5
Kev 10,926 Posted September 12, 2023 Posted September 12, 2023 (edited) If you are playing the ball, a duty of care to those around you is now unnecessary. The defense of in the motion of a "football act" has a precedence. As Number 4 said, he did not take a collision with Gus into account. Will give Viney, Sparrow and other inside bulls a licence to not worry about the pain they inflict. Sad day for CTE outcomes. Edited September 12, 2023 by kev martin 3 1