spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Darcy - [censored] off - show some impartial comments for once free for JVR was ruck infringement where Swans ruck decided not to contest but simply jump and look at JVR and push him with both arms !! Really not contesting the footy 1 Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,798 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 3 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said: I rate his tackling and disposal on par with Langdon's and miles better than Jordon's. FWIW, I fully endorse diversity of opinion but Hunter has randomly been a whipping boy on this site all year. Langdon had a long form slump in the first half of the season and he didn't get nearly as much criticism as Hunter does. Every time he gets the ball he does 1.5 turns on the spot... Like my dog preparing to 💩 Momentum killing ends up having to sky/bomb kicks 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Just now, Chook said: Interesting call from Buddy to do a farewell at the SCG but not do anything at the Grand final. I guess Sydney is his home now and he's played there for years. Nothing more to it? He actually hates the spotlight. I’m surprised he even agreed to this to be honest. Didn’t even attend his own press conference to announce his retirement. 2 Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Just now, Jaded No More said: He actually hates the spotlight. I’m surprised he even agreed to this to be honest. Didn’t even attend his own press conference to announce his retirement. That's what I'm getting at. I'm really surprised he's doing this as well. Guess it means enough to him that he would get past the shyness to go out and give thanks to his home crowd. I wonder what he thinks of his time in Melbourne and at Hawthorn. I think if you asked him he'd consider himself 95% a Sydney player despite playing fewer games there and getting no flags. 1 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 2 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said: Every time he gets the ball he does 1.5 turns on the spot... Like my dog preparing to 💩 Momentum killing ends up having to sky/bomb kicks lmfao brilliant lmfao Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,462 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 9 minutes ago, BDA said: Swans are playing for a home final so hardly meaningless That is irrelevant to the MFC The Swans have no right to choose anything after last weeks disgrace Quote
Mel Bourne 4,541 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 1 minute ago, Hopeful Demon said: Sorry, that's the 20 year old in me Look, I realise the English language is in a constant state of flux but I’d be letting down my fellow Gen X-ers if I didn’t put up a futile objection every now and then. 1 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 I know it won't happen but would love him as a forward coach... 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Buddy walking his lap, good on him champion but a Hawthorn champion not Swans one in my eyes Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 1 minute ago, demon3165 said: I know it won't happen but would love him as a forward coach... Buddy? He’d make a terrible coach. 2 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,872 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Just now, Bates Mate said: Buddy walking his lap, good on him champion but a Hawthorn champion not Swans one in my eyes afl legend full stop i thought we were very experimental in that half - riv in the middle the entirety of q2, jvr in the ruck more than gawn, hunter started in the centre square at one point, may playing a very, very high line, we rolled two back defensively and let them have an extra two at the stoppage 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,348 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 10 minutes ago, Lord Travis said: Our backline is just so much better with Tomlinson in there. He’s not superstar, but he plays his lockdown role well enough (88% one on one win rate, best at the club). He allows the rest of our backs to play to their strengths. It’s almost become comical now watching our defense turn to water when he’s dropped. We’re just cruising today so fingers crossed for no injuries. They've kicked 3 goals in a half. Our defence is doing just fine. Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Just now, Clint Bizkit said: Buddy? He’d make a terrible coach. He is very introverted. I doubt he will stay involved in the game. 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,777 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Not sure why you don't rest players if you are going to play so many out of position. So much for the required match play. Grundy giving a ruck masterclass at Casey today Quote
Diamond Tim 291 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 An absolute legend in both jumpers - loved watching him play. 1 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 2 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said: Buddy? He’d make a terrible coach. And why is that? Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,322 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Saints fans cheering hard for us lol Quote
praha 11,267 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 7 minutes ago, Chook said: That's what I'm getting at. I'm really surprised he's doing this as well. Guess it means enough to him that he would get past the shyness to go out and give thanks to his home crowd. I wonder what he thinks of his time in Melbourne and at Hawthorn. I think if you asked him he'd consider himself 95% a Sydney player despite playing fewer games there and getting no flags. Good on him I say. I was at the Hawthorn v Essendon game when he kicked that running goal along the members wing. One of the most spectacular individual moments I've witnessed. Will live with me forever. Sydney is his home and he's ready to move on. Godspeed, Buddy. 2 Quote
binman 44,851 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 First time in the game day thread, once the game starts that is, for me in a couple or seasons. Quite a vibe - can imagine it would be fun in a game that had something riding it and we were losing. Some random comments: What's with the ragging on Hunter? It's 2023 - do people not understand he has a specific role, which he is playing to a very high standard? Turner doing well. His ability to zone off and work rate and pace to be a handball receive option is why he is in ahead of tomo, and why he is genuine chance to remain in the team May moving well, which is brilliant. Love him pushing up high. Dees playing 2 and 3 less at the stoppages in order to have players behind the ball is genius. Feeding our intercept game and remarkably we are plus 7 foe clearances. Love the focus on deefence. See you all in the post match thread 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,462 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Just now, praha said: Good on him I say. I was at the Hawthorn v Essendon game when he kicked that running goal along the members wing. One of the most spectacular individual moments I've witnessed. Will live with me forever. Sydney is his home and he's ready to move on. Godspeed, Buddy. Yes. He was a bad boy in Melbourne… Quote
praha 11,267 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Salem is actually inept. Tomlinson would be better in the side at this point. Even Jordon. Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Nibble won that ball in the forward 50 to nearly set up a goal, then halved the contest in the defensive 50 to save one. We gave it up anyway but damn, he's so valuable for us. He's really elevating his attacking game over the last month too I think. Quote
Gorgoroth 13,220 Posted August 27, 2023 Posted August 27, 2023 Terrible tap by Gawn to that spot. Quote