Posted

We've beaten Pies and Lions while we lost to Port by 4 in a game we probably should have won. 

We're right in this premiership hunt.

• Like 14

Posted
25 minutes ago, SPC said:

Joel Smith is a good defender.. very good comes finals 

He has great athleticism, which we are in dire need of back there as May and Lever having a turn circle of semi trailer. 

Posted

That's a freak win! Absolute stunned disbelief from the Lions supporters around me (outer)

Equally, we never looked like winning and then we did win

Our first quarter was excellent and then they ran all over us and looked like winners ... except we won! 

Just goes to show that it's never over until it's over

Gawn & Viney were immense and Petracca was fantastic.  Brayshaw & Hunter were solid

We didn't miss Grundy but there's a KFP spot up for grabs

But we did miss Oliver and need him back ASAP

We played the game right out to the end where as they tried to slow things down on the members wing in the last quarter ... they lost their dare and we took advantage

That's one for the ages and the win will go a long way to helping to secure the double chance

Demons!!!

Posted (edited)

I've never really rated Melksham, but well done tonight. Keep fighting for your spot to really feature in the finals. Fantastic mark and goal.

No-one is talking about Viney's goal in the last few minutes. He just tore it out of that pack and slammed it home.

Gee I reckon May is playing injured as well. It really made it hard for us tonight with Petty and May both proppy. 

How could you ever drop Kozzie. That two on one where he just trapped the ball one handed on the ground and ran away with it charging into goal was something else.

JVR did well in the ruck and around the ground.

Time to crack in Tommo. Must be your turn now

What a game.

Edited by Brownie

Posted
1 minute ago, buck_nekkid said:

Felt we played behind in q2 and 3.  Once we got in front and attacked contests the tide turned again….

Yep our defenders were sucking back and the lions were rolling forwards up and then running through us. Plus we had no attacking drive at all.

Once we had no choice but to take it on we saw Rivers and Bowey make key intercepts, we had ANB getting involved back though the corridor and the forwards at least had a chance to compete 

Posted
11 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Joel Smith should play every game from now on,... FOREVER Even as a swingman forward

Not a forward. You think he is a natural forward, I pity you 

Posted

Who said that Collingwood is the only team that have the willpower to will themselves over the line when their backs are against the wall?  I have no doubt that we turned an important corner tonight!

Posted

I don't know about you guys but for as long as I can remember I've always thought we should beat the Lions because our colours are superior 

Posted

The result was very important from a ladder perspective. But irrespective of that, the fact that we stood up and completely dominated them in the contest for the last 40 minutes was the biggest takeout. That 'never give up' attitude is a big part of what we need to embed into our culture. If we bring our contested game from that last section of the game more consistently then we would have a chance to do some damage.

Seems maybe we go as Max goes a bit. He's a legend of our club and if he's going to be at his best when given a full run at it without Grundy, then Grundy stays in the two's. Also great to win in a game where our defence was pretty ordinary and without our best ever midfielder (who also happens to be the best mid in the game). I guess it also can't be understated the difference it makes when Petracca kicks 4 goals instead of 4 points. 

Posted

i was harsh on melksham early (rightly so) but my word his 2 marks in the last quarter were epic. threw himself at everything. 

awesome stuff jake 

Posted
3 minutes ago, layzie said:

Nearly home, after spending half an hour debriefing with my mate and getting an HSP. This replay is gonna be something!

Settled for a nice blue cocktail myself, almost finished my walk home, and I only live in Richmond.  Might settle for the kayo mini tonight 

Posted
4 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Yep our defenders were sucking back and the lions were rolling forwards up and then running through us. Plus we had no attacking drive at all.

Once we had no choice but to take it on we saw Rivers and Bowey make key intercepts, we had ANB getting involved back though the corridor and the forwards at least had a chance to compete 

Lions midfield dominated the corridor in the second and third. Very hard to defend and use your extra numbers when they are streaming through like that

Posted

should we talk about the 50 pt turnaround to the Lions??

save it for tomorrow?

good call 😊

Posted
2 minutes ago, BDA said:

me for the rest of the weekend

Skipping Water GIF - Skipping Water Excited - Discover & Share GIFs | Funny  pictures, Funny gif, Humor

should we be happy for you??

Posted
45 minutes ago, DEE fence said:

Men with guns came running I was screaming so loud, (they thought they had an active shooter inside the wire) here in Baidoa, Somalia.

We are 4-4 against top 4. Media commentators GAGF, nothing being taken for granted by Melbourne players, we were cooked more than a Chiko roll in a Frankston Fish&Chip shop and did not give up.

I am sorry Jake.

Can the haters say sorry to Goodwin, he’s changed things, tried things, and obviously has more of clue than the numb nuts on this forum. We are a team, two of the best mids in club history come out of the center, in goes Angus, Jordan, Pickett, and Sparrow to get the job done. People need to acknowledge that our club trains kids well and is lead by a first class coach.

Viney is my personal Jesus, Oscar 206cm, 110kg stripped by Jack 178cm, 84kg, another entry for the JV made me cry.

Trac, OMG, boomshakalaka, finding ways to will himself back into the game.

Joel Smith is the sub.

Still Woewodin, looks like he belongs.

…loving Jonathan Brown crack it on FNF.

Also my comments would have been the same had we lost by 1-18pts, the effort was there. Brisbane should have won, they lost their heads and started going down the line instead of taking the game on. Which was the way we smashed them early.

McVee was silk again.

More to say, after a rewatch.

That stripping of the ball by Viney and goal at the end was just beautiful.

He's having his best year for our club so far.

Heart and soul

• Like 15
Posted (edited)

What H&A dreams are made of.

Way to take the heat off us and put it squarely on Brisvegas.

Vineys steal and Melky's finish. 

Dominated the first 15 and the last 15 minutes.

Edited by kev martin