58er 6,871 Posted April 10, 2023 Posted April 10, 2023 On 4/9/2023 at 8:18 AM, D4Life said: Agree fun thread indeed. Flower a must in any Demon team. Fritta, Kossie, Salem all gotta be in Flower should only be picked in teams prior to 1987. Stynesy and Tod Viney earlier than very early 2000's. Quote
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted April 10, 2023 Posted April 10, 2023 Been watching closely since '94 and have seen some amazing forwardlines, but only recently have we had great backlines and midfields. In that time we've had an amazing run of All Australian rucks with Stynes, White, Jamar and Gawn, but could only field two. Apologies to Robertson, Jakovich, Ingerson, White, Whealan, Johnstone, Pickett, B.Lovett, Langdon and J.Viney. LEVER. MAY. JETTA. SALEM. FRAWLEY. S.FEBEY. TINGAY. T.VINEY. GREEN. LYON. SCHWARZ. YZE. FRITSCH. NEITZ. FARMER. GAWN. PETRACCA. OLIVER. Int. STYNES. BRUCE. WOEWODIN. JONES. Sub: DAVEY. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted April 10, 2023 Posted April 10, 2023 B: Bizzell FB: May B: Whelan HB: Brett Lovett CHB: Neitz HB: Yeats W: Yze C: Oliver W: Tingay HFF: Robertson CHF: Schwarz HFF: Davey F: Farmer FF: Lyon F: Jakovich R: Gawn RR: Petracca R: T. Viney Int: Lever, J. White, Bruce, Fritsch Emerg: N. Brown, Frawley, B. Green and "Here I am rock you like a Jurracane" 1 Quote
Go the Biff 3,474 Posted April 10, 2023 Posted April 10, 2023 (edited) As a kid, the first number I asked for on the back of my footy jumper was Greg Parke's #26. So I've been going to watch the Demons since the late 60's. Named a "modern" line-up with 23 players but not naming the sub ! B Jake Lever Steven May Matty Whelan HB Brett Lovett Gary Hardeman Adem Yze C Robbie Flower Greg Wells Stan Alves HF Garry Lyon David Schwarz Kozzie Pickett F Jeff Farmer Allen Jakovich Gerard Healy R Max Gawn Christian Petracca Clayton Oliver Int Jim Stynes Brian Wilson David Neitz Stephen Tingay Alan Johnson Emer Todd Viney Cameron Bruce Brad Green Some of these were easy. May, Lovett, Flower, Schwarz and Farmer were standouts in their positions Lever nudges out Jared Rivers in the "third tall defender" position. We've had some terrific back pockets but went for Wheels over Nev, Laurie Fowler & Alan Johnson. On the "other" HBF, Yze beat out Steve Febey & Salo The second wing was tough too but gave Stanley Alves the nod over Stinga, Alan Johnson, Trapper & Lingers. Greg Wells in the guts over Willo because I've used Clarrie & Trac in the on-ball division Garry Lyon could have made the grade in 3 or 4 spots. Jako at FF ahead of Neiter, Lyon, Darren Bennett. Even the other Jacko got some consideration. Much better footballer than he's remembered & kicked over 150 goals in 2 seasons as a Demon. Mad unit that he was. Max has gone past Jimmy as the best ruck we've had in my time I've used Clarrie as my "rover". In my time we've not had a top class rover of the Platten / Ashman / Wilson / Bartlett ilk. Now they are just called midfielders so Clarrie slots in there nicely. I've left out some bloody good footballers Edited April 10, 2023 by Go the Biff 4 Quote
IRW 1,388 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 (edited) What wonderful fantasy teams..straight from the hearts of Demon fans. But am I the only one who thinks ( insists) that Luam Jurrah should be a lock. Half forward flank perhaps. If the 2022 pathetic kick to the pocket system was on place he'd have kicked 50..half from bring free on the other side and still getting the ball ( unlike Watts) and half from flying high in the contested pack sifting sunlight through his fingers or kicking goals from impossible angles. Geez short memories Edited April 11, 2023 by IRW Quote
Ollie fan 3,671 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 14 hours ago, ManDee said: None of these teams are complete without Allen Jakovich. Do yourself a favour and look for some of his highlights on YouTube. I did just that and agree - although in the highlights on YouTube you don’t see much of his marking which I recall as generally pretty good. He could be an average kick for goal – missing some sitters quite often – but if the kick was important, he never missed. 1 Quote
Go the Biff 3,474 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 12 minutes ago, IRW said: What wonderful fantasy teams..straight from the hearts of Demon fans. But am I the only one who thinks ( insists) that Luam Jurrah should be a lock. Half forward flank perhaps. If the 2022 pathetic kick to the pocket system was on place he'd have kicked 50..half from bring free on the other side and still getting the ball ( unlike Watts) and half from flying high in the contested pack sifting sunlight through his fingers or kicking goals from impossible angles. Geez short memories If based purely on talent then yeah. But we've all got our own memories & opinions. Can't remember the poster but someone on here once said that Jurrah had the habit of turning what should have been six goal games into four goal games and four goal games into two goal games. I thought that was a pretty good analysis. His star blazed all too briefly and he was talented, exciting and sometimes exhilarating. But his footy was not without flaws. For all his courage in the air he could be a bit selective in the contest. I guess I'm saying I thought he was a bit soft. Probably not a popular view but as I said, we've all got our own memories & opinions. 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 4 hours ago, 58er said: Flower should only be picked in teams prior to 1987. Stynesy and Tod Viney earlier than very early 2000's. Why? I saw him play and the topic is about the best I've seen. He is... If you want to select by decades start another topic. Quote
58er 6,871 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 22 minutes ago, rjay said: Why? I saw him play and the topic is about the best I've seen. He is... If you want to select by decades start 1 hour ago, Go the Biff said: If based purely on talent then yeah. But we've all got our own memories & opinions. Can't remember the poster but someone on here once said that Jurrah had the habit of turning what should have been six goal games into four goal games and four goal games into two goal games. I thought that was a pretty good analysis. His star blazed all too briefly and he was talented, exciting and sometimes exhilarating. But his footy was not without flaws. For all his courage in the air he could be a bit selective in the contest. I guess I'm saying I thought he was a bit soft. Probably not a popular view but as I said, we've all got our own memories & opinions. Cannot understand the comment about Liam Jurrah turning 6 goal games into 4!! Could the person who posted or commented on that please explain? Quote
chook fowler 19,769 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 11 hours ago, rjay said: Love this HB line What a great player Gary Hardeman was My centre line would be Flower Mann Alves Don Williams from the same era was a gun off half back 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 (edited) 12 minutes ago, chook fowler said: Don Williams from the same era was a gun off half back He sure was... Edited April 11, 2023 by rjay 1 Quote
Gator 18,053 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 (edited) B: Fowler May Lever HB: B Lovett Hardeman A Johnson C: Alves Wells Flower HF: Lyon Schwarz Gerard Healy F Farmer Neitz Fritsch R: Gawn Oliver Petracca I/C: Yze K Pickett Wilson Jakovich I wasn't going to put Jako in because of only 47 games, but his career was so spectacular I couldn't leave him out. Pickett is a little pre-emptive, but also a certainty assuming he stays. An incredible talent. Including Jako meant one ruck only - sorry Jimmy. Whelan, S Febey, R Robertson, Tingay, Bruce, Green, Langdon, Jones, Hibberd and others given consideration. If I made this team again in a month it would probably be different. Disappointed I've only included 7 x 2021 flag team. Edited April 11, 2023 by Gator 1 1 Quote
He de mon 942 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 17 minutes ago, Gator said: Disappointed I've only included 7 x 2021 flag team Agreed, it was a tough decision. The way I looked at it was, would I find a place in the side for the players from different era’s? That said, there is no guarantee that players from other eras would excel in the modern game, with the exception of Robbie perhaps. Quote
Fritta and Turner 4,695 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 B: Jetta Tassie Johnston May HB: B Lovett Hardeman Lever C: Alves Wells Flower HF: Lyon Schwarz Farmer F Johnstone Neitz Fritsch R: Gawn Oliver Petracca I/C: Moore B Wilson Jones White EMG Woey Quote
Monbon 1,840 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 13 hours ago, rjay said: Love this HB line What a great player Gary Hardeman was My centre line would be Flower Mann Alves I had to play Neitz as Full Forward, hence Lyon CHB where he played some great games. 1 Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 I'd have Stinga and Flower on my two wings, which would be a problem as they both wore #2. Quote
58er 6,871 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 4 hours ago, rjay said: He sure was... Agreed Williams Should be on one flank at least with Brett Lovett on the other and Hardemann at CHB, with Beckwith May and Tassie Johnson as the Backline. Alves Wells Flower C Lyon Schwarz Farmer HF Fritsch Neitz Jakovich F Gawn Clarry Trac R Interchange: RDBarassi Stynes Lever Gerard Healy Jeff White. Emergencies K.Pickett T.Viney Jones Hassa Mann. Quote
IRW 1,388 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 (edited) 11 hours ago, Go the Biff said: If based purely on talent then yeah. But we've all got our own memories & opinions. Can't remember the poster but someone on here once said that Jurrah had the habit of turning what should have been six goal games into four goal games and four goal games into two goal games. I thought that was a pretty good analysis. His star blazed all too briefly and he was talented, exciting and sometimes exhilarating. But his footy was not without flaws. For all his courage in the air he could be a bit selective in the contest. I guess I'm saying I thought he was a bit soft. Probably not a popular view but as I said, we've all got our own memories & opinions. Thanks for your opinion Mr Neeld ..Jack Watts was soft, Liam was not. The 6 into 4 and 4 into 2 is the most unusual thing I have ever heard. It's certainly not analysis Try and imagine 5 seasons of LJ and how he would have factored in his style and his many games he would have "won" for a crepe team. Nor enough games to qualify maybe Edited April 11, 2023 by IRW Quote
Bobby McKenzie 2,408 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 12 hours ago, chook fowler said: Don Williams from the same era was a gun off half back He certainly was . A real dasher and showed amazing recovery from being on the ground to dashing away from all and sundry.A star high jumper meant he had a great leap also. Langdon is our current Don Williams I believe. 2 Quote
chook fowler 19,769 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 14 minutes ago, Bobby McKenzie said: He certainly was . A real dasher and showed amazing recovery from being on the ground to dashing away from all and sundry.A star high jumper meant he had a great leap also. Langdon is our current Don Williams I believe. A magnificent drop kick on the run. 1 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 B: A Johnson, S May, M Whelan HB: J Lever, Neitz, B Lovett C: Flower, Oliver, Alves. HF: Fritta, Schwarz, Jurrah. F: Farmer, Lyon, Jakovich R: Gawn, Petracca, T. Viney. Interchange: Spalding, Kozzie, Ger. Healy, S. Febey. Sub. Jones Emerg: Stynes, Charles, Ingerson, Wells. Quote
Ausrak 32 Posted April 11, 2023 Posted April 11, 2023 B Graeme Yeats Steven May Matthew Whelan HB Jake Lever David Neitz Brett Lovett C Robert Flower Gerard Healy Stephen Tingay HF Garry Lyon David Schwarz Christian Petracca F Sean Charles Allen Jakovich Kysaiah Pickett R Max Gawn Clayton Oliver Todd Viney I Jim Stynes Martin Pike Adem Yze Alan Johnson Emergencies: Sean Wight (for Graeme Yeats), Neville Jetta (for Matthew Whelan), Steven Febey (for Jake Lever), Jeff Farmer (for Sean Charles), Bayley Fritsch (for Adem Yze). If we didn't get rid of Martin Pike after 2 seasons he'd be in the starting line up in place of Stephen Tingay. Great player, tough and skillful. Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted April 12, 2023 Posted April 12, 2023 (edited) On 4/11/2023 at 12:15 PM, Gator said: C: Alves Wells Flower Great centre line... I'm probably a little bit older than you and that's why I had Hassa Mann (a hero of mine when I was a kid) instead of Wells. ...but Wells was a great player, a hard choice. Saw more of him live than Hassa. Edited April 12, 2023 by rjay 3 Quote
daisycutter 30,004 Posted April 12, 2023 Posted April 12, 2023 20 hours ago, chook fowler said: A magnificent drop kick on the run. which is why i don't see the comparison to langdon. he also played tall Quote
Macca 17,127 Posted April 12, 2023 Posted April 12, 2023 B: A Johnson May Wight HB: B Lovett Hardeman Lever C: Alves Wells Flower HF: Fritsch Schwartz Lyon F: Farmer Neitz Jakovich R: Gawn Petracca Oliver Int: Stynes Salem Yze Wilson Sub Kozzie Emer: S Febey Tingay J Viney T Johnston Grinter Langdon T Viney Robertson Biffin Gerard Healy Jurrah Spalding Whelan Jones David Williams 3 Quote