Posted

OUT: Sparrow, M. Brown, Disco
IN: Rivers, JVR, May

Can't rely upon Harmes/Sparrow as mids, need Brayshaw or Jordon to have stints back in the guts 

Posted (edited)

Out: M. Brown, Turner, Bowey, Sparrow

In: May, Weideman, Rivers, Hunt

Rivers and Hunt to the backline and Brayshaw to return to the wing.

Probably doesn't matter what we do. Our pressure and structure has fallen away and I don't think we have the fitness to correct it. We played our best footy last year as a front half team and we have barely seen a hint of that this year.

Edited by Nascent

Posted

Out: Mitch Brown, Turner and Pickett.

In: Van Rooyen, Bedford and May

Van Rooyen is apparently playing better than Weideman right now.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Probably doesn't matter what we do. Our pressure and structure has fallen away and I don't think we have the fitness to correct it. We played our best footy last year as a front half team and we have barely seen a hint of that this year.

Like Brayshaw back to the wing. He has been uniquely terrific, he can still help in D and we can use his ball use going forward.

Edited by watchtheeyes
Posted

Out: Turner, M.Brown

In: May, Weideman

Need to give Weideman an extended run now and simply hope for the best.

• Like 15

Posted

Who stays in 

Brayshaw Oliver Trac (but he looks sore or sick)

Petty Gawn Lever Viney Jordon Jackson Hibberd

Safe : Salem Langdon (too wide and shutdown easily) Fritsch Bowey

on notice 

ANB getting the footy but completely ineffective - destroyed many forward chances 

Pickett - stay inside 50 please - Quaynor owned him all day 

Sparrow  ummm looks like he could be on fire then extinguishes himself with poor decisions 

Harmes  hit a target !! 

Spargo great 1st half  was Noble’s gimp in 2nd half 

BBB is lucky Tmcd is injured and Weid is a marshmallow 

OUTS  

M Brown Turner (concussion) 

Chandler - was like a rabbit in headlights (really!!!) 

INS

May  Rivers 

sub. Baker 

Posted

Jeez we are looking exposed.

Turner out (concussion; bad luck he looked good esp. early) - May in

Rivers in for Bowey perhaps (give Bowey a little freshen up in the 2s)?

MBrown out ... but for who?  Loathe to throw JVR to the wolves unless he's truly ready, and Weid/MBrown probably offering similarly little currently - F it, bring JVR in.  He looks hungry at Casey.

Posted

In May, Bedford, Weideman, Rivers

out- Turner, Sparrow, Harmes, M.Brown

Posted

Turner has 12 days between now and next game so won’t be out with concussion protocols 

Bears will slaughter us the way we played today - stagnant ball movement and atrocious disposal will play right into their hands

Posted

Harmes was terrible all day and ANB has reverted to type with his kicking. Sparrow is too slow and Trac has lost a yard. And thanks May for your absence - it really made a difference. 

Posted

People here calling for May in.  But, I thought he was suspended by the Club for TWO matches.  Surely that doesn't include the Bye...??

Posted
2 minutes ago, Vagg said:

People here calling for May in.  But, I thought he was suspended by the Club for TWO matches.  Surely that doesn't include the Bye...??

One match mate.

Posted
16 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Harmes was terrible all day and ANB has reverted to type with his kicking. Sparrow is too slow and Trac has lost a yard. And thanks May for your absence - it really made a difference. 

Harmes got hit hard by Maynard and was vomiting on the sidelines. 

I am actually really sick and tired of sides coming out and physically  hurting us and getting away with it. We don’t want suspensions, but Jesus give them some back. Protect your captain at least. 

• Love 4
Posted
Just now, Lord Nev said:

One match mate.

Really?  Thought it was two, but very happy (and relieved) to be corrected...!

Posted
1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

I am actually really sick and tired of sides coming out and physically  hurting us and getting away with it. We don’t want suspensions, but Jesus give them some back. Protect your captain at least. 

He was poor before the hit.

Posted (edited)

Some of the decision-making 

taking players on ? (Lever)

the last 3 weeks have been profitable with the bookies

credit to the pies - high pressure and good footy (or better at least)

Edited by Superunknown

Posted
1 minute ago, chook fowler said:

He was poor before the hit.

He was. My point was about us getting smashed by opposition and just coping it. I’m over it. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Agree Rivers should be in. Should have played today, not that it would have mattered. May in, obviously, unless the AFL decides he should have ten strokes of the rattan and 5 years' solitary in the clink. Sparrow has been mediocre all year - at best. Is he good enough? Omit.

The team looks dour, slow and lacking in imagination. They play like Goodwin's press conferences. They look, frankly, like a 10-14 side.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Think it was Sidebottom not Maynard.

Posted

The cupboard is bare.

So hard to win back to back flags, especially with a young group. The finals themselves take so much out of you, then you lose 4 - 5 weeks break in the off-season. Lots of players look drained, and not just the younger ones. I always wondered how long Ed Langdon could keep on being the running machine - starting to find out.

Hopefully the bye helps, but not holding my breath.