2 minutes ago, Scipio said:

It was tongue in cheek because I was expecting a response like that, but I do love a Vic! 

Each to his own Scipio. VB is close to the bottom for me. The bottom beer is a drop from the UK called Old Spectacled Hen. Drank at room temperature. It has the honour of being the only beer that I could not finish the glass. 

7 minutes ago, old dee said:

It is actually owned by Lion. Not CUB.

I thought Asahi bought out CUB od.

1 minute ago, Dee Zephyr said:

I thought Asahi bought out CUB od.

They did but Furphys is owned by their competitor Lion. 

4 minutes ago, old dee said:

They did but Furphys is owned by their competitor Lion. 

Apologies od, I misread your post.

4 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Apologies od, I misread your post.

No problem DZ. It maybe that "AFL" is not allowed to be used on anything other the AFLs beer sponsor who is as you say is Asahi / CUB.

17 minutes ago, old dee said:

Each to his own Scipio. VB is close to the bottom for me. The bottom beer is a drop from the UK called Old Spectacled Hen. Drank at room temperature. It has the honour of being the only beer that I could not finish the glass. 

Old Speckled Hen. In total agreeance OD! I flinch even when I read the name! Disgusting. VB is too but OSH takes it to another level.

5 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

Lost sales opportunity for furphy.

I'd buy a six pack to display one in the normal furphy is quite good but the crisp is cats p..

surely they could do some commemorative cans of the normal furphy. I'd buy a summer's worth in one hit 

The AFLs beer sponsor is CUB/ Asahi. They Furphy are probably not allowed to use anything associated with "AFL" 

1 minute ago, ProperDee said:

Old Speckled Hen. In total agreeance OD! I flinch even when I read the name! Disgusting. VB is too but OSH takes it to another level.

Yep it takes the cake by a wide margin. 

42 minutes ago, old dee said:

I'm sure I tried a pint of Old Speckled Hen over there and came to the same conclusion... from memory it was pretty damn cheap!

54 minutes ago, old dee said:

It is actually owned by Lion. Not CUB.

I know that , competition for CUB , like toyota afl and ford geelong

28 minutes ago, old dee said:

The AFLs beer sponsor is CUB/ Asahi. They Furphy are probably not allowed to use anything associated with "AFL" 

This is true, but Lion is allowed to use Melbourne FC IP under the terms of their Club deal. The words "Premiers", "Premiership" and "Grand Final" are protected AFL IP, but they could use "Demons" and our colours and logo, as they did in the bottles the players had. I guess they think without being able to specifically link it to the language footy fans use it's not worth the effort.

2 minutes ago, Allus Monk said:

This is true, but Lion is allowed to use Melbourne FC IP under the terms of their Club deal. The words "Premiers", "Premiership" and "Grand Final" are protected AFL IP, but they could use "Demons" and our colours and logo, as they did in the bottles the players had. I guess they think without being able to specifically link it to the language footy fans use it's not worth the effort.

Probably correct AM. 

1 hour ago, old dee said:

The bottom beer is a drop from the UK called Old Spectacled Hen.

Presumably it's served in glasses.

2 hours ago, Allus Monk said:

Surely they can do a play on Melbourne Bitter, maybe call it Melbourne @Bitter but optimistic

Our supporters are more Creme Brulee Stout than MB, Furphy types 

I just want David Neitz/Brewmanity to release another batch of Demon Brew!

• Author
12 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

Lost sales opportunity for furphy.

I'd buy a six pack to display one in the normal furphy is quite good but the crisp is cats p..

surely they could do some commemorative cans of the normal furphy. I'd buy a summer's worth in one hit 

Big time loss of sales for Furphy, surely they can't miss out on an opportunity like this. We need to start a petition my fellow Demonlanders.

On 10/15/2021 at 11:50 AM, Demon Spofforth said:

How'd you access the competition? I searched high and low for details to try and enter but couldn't find any. 

It just appeared in my Facebook feed from memory

On 10/15/2021 at 2:30 PM, old dee said:

Surely the old 80s Cairns Draft should get a special mention. It was like drinking a bowl of peanuts. 

52 minutes ago, Rivers Run Red said:

Time to fess up, who won the slab auction for $750

Someone with too much money!

On 10/16/2021 at 4:26 PM, Left Foot Snap said:

Surely the old 80s Cairns Draft should get a special mention. It was like drinking a bowl of peanuts. 

Honourable mention for the old Geelong Bitter. The worst insult for a beer is that it tastes like cat's plss, but I suspect Geelong Bitter really was made from cat's plss.

On 10/15/2021 at 1:58 PM, old dee said:

Surely you joke. VB! Give me strength.

Nothing wrong with VB. Gives the XXXX heavy a hiding in my view and taste.

VB on the bottom? It tastes like beer. Isnt Southwark around anymore?

On 10/15/2021 at 2:58 PM, old dee said:

Surely you joke. VB! Give me strength.

Did it work, old dee? 😉

Mods, could the beer brand battle go to another thread? (maybe No T$ No B$? - give the bananas a shake!) Whenever this thread comes back to the top I think an announcement's been made!