Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, 58er said:

but Griffin Logue is a valuable key position competitive and versatile footballer who is a very Melbourne type of player and young enough to improve (just like Jackson will).  He could easile be a CHF FF or a key backman at FB or CHB.

He is AFL listed below average, on Intercept Marks and Kicks. He is 24.

Edited by Redleg

Posted
38 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Hate to lose Jackson. 

Always a risk when you bring across a youngster from interstate.  If we had to , I’d support the trade triangle of 

Dockers: Luke Jackson 

dogs: Rory lobb and freo future ‘23 first round

dees: Dogs ‘22 first pick (9-10) freo ‘22 first pick (15-18) and a Freo player like Lloyd Meek

This or something similar is probably the best deal we can get imv.

Don't think we are at risk of losing brayshaw. Even if freo made a play for him, he'll be a RFA and we can match any terms, particularly in the setting of Jackson leaving. They will then have absolutely zero trade capital to get him so a deal won't be done. Or they start trading players like Serong or Young which I can't see happening.

Posted

Not to do with LJ, but would you look at Brodie Kemp at Blues. 193 cms and not getting a game. Mids too strong and key forwards hot, keeping him out.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Not to do with LJ, but would you look at Brodie Kemp at Blues. 193 cms and not getting a game. Mids too strong and key forwards hot, keeping him out.

He was all the rage on here during his draft year, can't say I've really kept tabs on him since. Has he been performing well at VFL level? And will he be a lead up forward or the "prototype" big bodied mid do you think? 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Nascent said:

He was all the rage on here during his draft year, can't say I've really kept tabs on him since. Has he been performing well at VFL level? And will he be a lead up forward or the "prototype" big bodied mid do you think? 

TBH I haven't seen much of him and was really asking what those who might have seen more of him think.

He was all the rage in his draft year. 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Redleg said:

He is very unprofessional

Posted
30 minutes ago, 58er said:

WE dont need a wingman (Acres) but Griffin Logue is a valuable key position competitive and versatile footballer who is a very Melbourne type of player and young enough to improve (just like Jackson will).  He could easile be a CHF FF or a key backman at FB or CHB.

Would love Logue to be part of the deal with a first rounder. He had a slow start to his career and struggled with his body, but last year or two he’s really come on and shown he can be a good tall defender or forward. I’d go so far as to say he’d be near All Australian calculations as a defender this year, done jobs on a bunch of gun forwards.

We’d be wanting him as a forward though, so he’d need to be happy playing as a forward and shifting away from defense (unless he replaces May permanently in a few years?). He’s underrated amongst the footy world because he plays for Freo and doesn’t get seen much, but has high value as a 24 year old KPP. 

Posted

If we’re going to lose Jackson then we can make it work for us. As good as he is for a young ruckman, I don’t think he’ll ever reach the highs of the million dollar a year top 10 in the league type player he’s being talked up as. We’re cashing in whilst his value is highest IMO. He’s being hyped on potential, not output. Another two years would mean less potential growth, but even if his output is very high his value won’t increase past what it’s being spoken about as now. 

If we’re able to pry a young gun like Serong or Young plus a top 10ish pick, then I’d say we’re winning the trade and improving our list. Alternately if we can pinch get pick 1-2 from West Coast I’d take it and run. We lost Hogan and won out from that, hopefully we can do the same here.

Posted

Kemp is someone who looks really good when you see the highlights but has a few holes in his game that don't show up there ... and they're pretty important ones. He's a great size and a nice, smooth mover with some toe. But he doesn't win his own football, which is a massive problem for a league footballer. Without fixing that he'll never become the 193cm midfielder that people were wishing for but rather just a marginal third defender who needs to improve his defence and kicking. 

For mine (and it's just my opinion) he's a player that reads like a champion except for pretty much the only non-negotiable of a good AFL footballer. 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

If we’re going to lose Jackson then we can make it work for us. As good as he is for a young ruckman, I don’t think he’ll ever reach the highs of the million dollar a year top 10 in the league type player he’s being talked up as. We’re cashing in whilst his value is highest IMO. He’s being hyped on potential, not output. Another two years would mean less potential growth, but even if his output is very high his value won’t increase past what it’s being spoken about as now. 

If we’re able to pry a young gun like Serong or Young plus a top 10ish pick, then I’d say we’re winning the trade and improving our list. Alternately if we can pinch get pick 1-2 from West Coast I’d take it and run. We lost Hogan and won out from that, hopefully we can do the same here.

We all say that when we’re going to lose a young gun, name another 20yo ruckman that has played 50 games & practically turned  the Grand final on its head with 40 minutes of brilliance 

Think of the upside in 5 years time when most ruckman are just hitting their straps

Ill be gutted if he goes, watching Fremantle get 10 years of fantastic footy from him

Posted
6 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

Kemp is someone who looks really good when you see the highlights but has a few holes in his game that don't show up there ... and they're pretty important ones. He's a great size and a nice, smooth mover with some toe. But he doesn't win his own football, which is a massive problem for a league footballer. Without fixing that he'll never become the 193cm midfielder that people were wishing for but rather just a marginal third defender who needs to improve his defence and kicking. 

For mine (and it's just my opinion) he's a player that reads like a champion except for pretty much the only non-negotiable of a good AFL footballer. 

Thanks Bob.

Posted

Would love to know what the Footy Dept thinks of Van Rooyen and his prospects; the tall forward situation is the biggest need we have into 2023 and beyond.

If we don’t have the long term solution we can always do what we did with Brown and what GC did with Casboult and fill the need short term to buy time and not commit to the NQR option (ie McStay).

Posted

Seems that posters are tempering their expectations on an almost daily basis.

We really need to find a way to deal West Coast in as an alternative bidder.

A number 3 draft pick who will be paid record money.

How Freo can hope to get him without giving away a top player is amazing but it seems that the media have been sucked into the Freo vortex.

Posted
3 hours ago, Rainbow said:

Just announced on 6PR (Liam Bartlett and Brad Hardie) that Luke Jackson will definitely be at the Dockers next year. Also, they said he has recently purchased a house in the Perth suburb of Shelley.

Yep, the pic I got from my real estate mate in Perth, which has the buyer as Luke Stephen Jackson, is of a house in Shelley. But the purchase date isn't all that recent.

But then again, maybe Hardie got his info from our Whatsapp group. Another mate in the group works for 6PR with Hardie. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, mo64 said:

Yep, the pic I got from my real estate mate in Perth, which has the buyer as Luke Stephen Jackson, is of a house in Shelley. But the purchase date isn't all that recent.

But then again, maybe Hardie got his info from our Whatsapp group. Another mate in the group works for 6PR with Hardie. 

May 5 sale date? 

Posted

I would also go after Kemp as part of the Jackson trade. Of course it would have to be a three way trade.

Posted
2 hours ago, 58er said:

WE dont need a wingman (Acres) but Griffin Logue is a valuable key position competitive and versatile footballer who is a very Melbourne type of player and young enough to improve (just like Jackson will).  He could easile be a CHF FF or a key backman at FB or CHB.

We might need a wingman if Gus goes as well...

Posted (edited)
36 minutes ago, Demon3 said:

We might need a wingman if Gus goes as well...

Surely not? We can match any deal as he's a RFA and freo will have nothing left to trade.  Unless we get a Young or Serong I don't see why we would let him walk. 

Edited by Nascent
Posted

If the club is fair dinkum, they need to get him to sign NOW  and if he doesn't then know he is gone and say thanks very much and dont play him anywhere. Time to commit young man. That would be what I would do. Time for pandering and posturing is almost extinguished!