Posted
18 hours ago, picket fence said:

Pity Im not over there😭 would have loved to have presented a Picket Fence exclusive training report, complete with Slitheras warnings🤩

What no picket fencemobile

Posted
2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I'll give this post an 81/2.

Clever!

Posted
22 hours ago, BDA said:

We'll have played 1 competitive game in 4 weeks prior to playing the Granny. that puts us at a disadvantage. If Burgo and the brains trust reckon a full throttle practice game is needed to keep everyone primed and in proper nick then so be it. 

They played a scratch match prior to the prelim as well. They were told to cool it at one point 

Posted

Other than the training session reported for Optus, hoping to get a heads up wherever else the boys might be having a run

Posted
4 hours ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

Other than the training session reported for Optus, hoping to get a heads up wherever else the boys might be having a run

think you'll find we've got the same approach as the 2 week gap til the prelim

run around on the monday, a couple of days off, big session on the saturday afternoon / evening to simulate match conditions, then a normal training week into a game thereafter

Posted

Get there on Friday WA Dees. Club has confirmed an open session for you.

Session Information

Friday 17 September, From 9:00am
HBF Arena, Joondalup Oval

Posted

Not sure if this deserves to be in a thread on its own so I'll put it here and let the powers that be move it if they think it's warranted.

Well well well, living close to Lathlain Oval is a bonus. Steve my mate who is also local and who I'll be in attendance at the GF with thought he'd have a drive up to the oval just to see if there was a sneaky chance that Melbourne might be training there. He'd been fortunate to spy a training session there before the prelim whilst out for a walk, it was just before lunch and was pretty well wrapped up so didn't call me but kept the timeline forefront of mind.

I'm building a "teenagers retreat" at the back of my place, it was supposed to be real simple but somehow or other it has taken on a life of its own. I know, people keep telling me she'll never leave with a laugh, I agree and laugh too but you only have them for a short while. Anyway I've taken the measurements and I'm cutting the skirting. You can imagine my excitement when Steve calls at 10.30 to say he's at the ground and so is the MFC. Holy smokes I threw on my Demons shirt and jumped in the car, I literally live a park and I reckon 6 houses down from the oval, I saved a good sixty to ninety seconds by driving. Met Steve and we positioned ourselves behind the cyclone fence that divides "Optus Oval from the MCG" the MCG is open and anyone can access it at anytime. We are at the Bishopsgate Street end close to where the Club is set up on the boundary line. The boys are pinging yellow with red stripe balls off at the goals and I thought demonland will be happy about this. I didn't take much notice of accuracy I was too busy just checking out the whole scene. Marty Hore and Adam Tomlinson run past at a fair lick, Steve said they had already completed a number of circuits before I arrived. Adam's without a shirt and looks magnificent, incredibly fit and focused. A couple more laps from the pair and Adam was maintaining the pace, Marty was, fair to say, struggling to keep up but who wouldn't be AT looked to be on a mission.

Then the yellow tops came out and the team split into 2, it was the 1st s v 2 s. The game/sim started and was clearly based on fast ball movement, pressure but not tackling. The 2nd s flew out of the gates fast and precise it reminded of the quick ball movement that I'd witnessed at Optus last Friday. I said to Steve wow the 2 s are doing a number on them. After a shot on goal play continued immediately with the other team playing on from half back. I'm not sure if the 2 s went 2 or 3 goals up, then the 1s stepped up. Brown took a towering mark, arms fully stretched like he has been, dare I say...."at the top of" no, I won't say that haha, mega runup and kicked the goal. TommyMac then took two strong grabs for shots at goal, geez I'd love to see him have a blinder Satdy week. I liked how during play a coach would yell out "ground ball" while ball was still in the air, instead of trying to mark it they brought the ball to ground and play continued. All in all what you would expect from a team that finished on top of the ladder, fast accurate play and smothers too. The whistle blew, yellows removed their tops and they immediately were back into, yes...... goal kicking. I've mentioned my admiration for Jake Bowey in a couple of previous posts, again he impressed me, this time it was his goal kicking, he was slotting them easily from the boundary, if he finds his way forward and has looks on goal, put your glasses down!

The session wound up and where the boys would be walking back to the bus, security permitting we would be able to engage with the boys. So we headed over there along with a few other Demons who had gathered, and, security didn't!! Ok this is looking promising, let's see if we can't get a photo or 2.

Pleasingly the learnings we learnt were the boys and staff were more than happy to mingle, we had brief chats with Melky, Choco and longer chats and photos with Jayden, who is good to go if a spot comes up. Shannon Byrnes, Salo, TMac and Maxy and photos with Track, Clarry, Nev and Ed. We can't believe our luck over here and it was succinctly put by Choco after I said to him " I feel sorry for everyone over east" he said "It makes a change from them feeling sorry for you over here"

Gee whiz that's my day nearly done, got to go and get my daughter from school and then get back to that skirting.

Go Dees.

• Like 30
  • Thanks 8
  • Love 7

Posted
12 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

Not sure if this deserves to be in a thread on its own so I'll put it here and let the powers that be move it if they think it's warranted.

Well well well, living close to Lathlain Oval is a bonus. Steve my mate who is also local and who I'll be in attendance at the GF with thought he'd have a drive up to the oval just to see if there was a sneaky chance that Melbourne might be training there. He'd been fortunate to spy a training session there before the prelim whilst out for a walk, it was just before lunch and was pretty well wrapped up so didn't call me but kept the timeline forefront of mind.

I'm building a "teenagers retreat" at the back of my place, it was supposed to be real simple but somehow or other it has taken on a life of its own. I know, people keep telling me she'll never leave with a laugh, I agree and laugh too but you only have them for a short while. Anyway I've taken the measurements and I'm cutting the skirting. You can imagine my excitement when Steve calls at 10.30 to say he's at the ground and so is the MFC. Holy smokes I threw on my Demons shirt and jumped in the car, I literally live a park and I reckon 6 houses down from the oval, I saved a good sixty to ninety seconds by driving. Met Steve and we positioned ourselves behind the cyclone fence that divides "Optus Oval from the MCG" the MCG is open and anyone can access it at anytime. We are at the Bishopsgate Street end close to where the Club is set up on the boundary line. The boys are pinging yellow with red stripe balls off at the goals and I thought demonland will be happy about this. I didn't take much notice of accuracy I was too busy just checking out the whole scene. Marty Hore and Adam Tomlinson run past at a fair lick, Steve said they had already completed a number of circuits before I arrived. Adam's without a shirt and looks magnificent, incredibly fit and focused. A couple more laps from the pair and Adam was maintaining the pace, Marty was, fair to say, struggling to keep up but who wouldn't be AT looked to be on a mission.

Then the yellow tops came out and the team split into 2, it was the 1st s v 2 s. The game/sim started and was clearly based on fast ball movement, pressure but not tackling. The 2nd s flew out of the gates fast and precise it reminded of the quick ball movement that I'd witnessed at Optus last Friday. I said to Steve wow the 2 s are doing a number on them. After a shot on goal play continued immediately with the other team playing on from half back. I'm not sure if the 2 s went 2 or 3 goals up, then the 1s stepped up. Brown took a towering mark, arms fully stretched like he has been, dare I say...."at the top of" no, I won't say that haha, mega runup and kicked the goal. TommyMac then took two strong grabs for shots at goal, geez I'd love to see him have a blinder Satdy week. I liked how during play a coach would yell out "ground ball" while ball was still in the air, instead of trying to mark it they brought the ball to ground and play continued. All in all what you would expect from a team that finished on top of the ladder, fast accurate play and smothers too. The whistle blew, yellows removed their tops and they immediately were back into, yes...... goal kicking. I've mentioned my admiration for Jake Bowey in a couple of previous posts, again he impressed me, this time it was his goal kicking, he was slotting them easily from the boundary, if he finds his way forward and has looks on goal, put your glasses down!

The session wound up and where the boys would be walking back to the bus, security permitting we would be able to engage with the boys. So we headed over there along with a few other Demons who had gathered, and, security didn't!! Ok this is looking promising, let's see if we can't get a photo or 2.

Pleasingly the learnings we learnt were the boys and staff were more than happy to mingle, we had brief chats with Melky, Choco and longer chats and photos with Jayden, who is good to go if a spot comes up. Shannon Byrnes, Salo, TMac and Maxy and photos with Track, Clarry, Nev and Ed. We can't believe our luck over here and it was succinctly put by Choco after I said to him " I feel sorry for everyone over east" he said "It makes a change from them feeling sorry for you over here"

Gee whiz that's my day nearly done, got to go and get my daughter from school and then get back to that skirting.

Go Dees.

A training report! Outstanding work 1re 1be

Posted
27 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

Go Dees.

Awesome stuff, but any snakes to report?

Posted
29 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

we had brief chats with Melky, Choco and longer chats and photos with Jayden, who is good to go if a spot comes up. Shannon Byrnes, Salo, TMac and Maxy and photos with Track, Clarry, Nev and Ed.

Pics (or it never happened) 😁

Posted

Great stuff, I love your writing style, for a short period I was there with you.  Now you just need to live blog during the Grannie!!!😉

Posted
2 hours ago, Hell Bent said:

Awesome stuff, but any snakes to report?

Oh yeah snakes, forgot about that HB, sorry Picket.I will do better next time.

Posted
3 hours ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

Go Dees.

Legend, I'm just down the road too, but  I work nowhere near 😔

Posted
43 minutes ago, Baghdad Bob said:

Did May do the session?

No BB he didn't do any training but was in training kit and looked ok. 🤞

Posted (edited)
55 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

No BB he didn't do any training but was in training kit and looked ok. 🤞

on today's ch9 news it did show him training........but tv is  notorious for using old footage, so who really knows

maybe there was a earlier session, or he was out there just before 1re1be turned up?

Edited by daisycutter

Posted

I saw that footage too daisy and you're right he could've trained before I arrived. We'll start getting a better picture of where he's at on Friday.

Posted
8 hours ago, daisycutter said:

on today's ch9 news it did show him training........but tv is  notorious for using old footage, so who really knows

maybe there was a earlier session, or he was out there just before 1re1be turned up?

Your not suggesting that they are not letting the truth get in the way of a story are you dc? 

Posted
41 minutes ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

I saw that footage too daisy and you're right he could've trained before I arrived. We'll start getting a better picture of where he's at on Friday.

Thanks mate it is why I started the thread keep up the good work. 

Posted
15 hours ago, 1 red eye 1 blue eye said:

Go Dees.

"The learnings we learnt" made me laugh. And the rest of your post not only made me smile but made my day. Thanks for giving the rest of us our necessary fix.

Posted
21 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

"The learnings we learnt" made me laugh. And the rest of your post not only made me smile but made my day. Thanks for giving the rest of us our necessary fix.

No worries mate I enjoy these threads as much as everyone else so I knew it would be appreciated.