Posted
4 hours ago, radar said:

Rumblings from Eagle mate in Perth. Exactly the right week for snap Simpson sacking. 

No chance,

They will respond this week after letting Hurn down and are under the microscope in WA big time.  We need to respond to what they throw at us early and be switched on. We know they will play with 3 talls inside 50.

Our forward pressure if maintained from yesterday should see us create plenty of opportunities as this is a weakness in their defensive set up

Posted
6 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

No chance,

They will respond this week after letting Hurn down and are under the microscope in WA big time.  We need to respond to what they throw at us early and be switched on. We know they will play with 3 talls inside 50.

Our forward pressure if maintained from yesterday should see us create plenty of opportunities as this is a weakness in their defensive set up

We seem to been in the position of facing teams on the rebound this last few weeks. This will not be easy. 

Posted

Tricky week. Huge win against a pathetic oppo.

Not a huge fan of playing Viney, Harmes and Sparrow all in the same team and for mine it would be Harmes coming out, but can't help but feel Goody might just go with the swap of Sparrow and Jordon (if any changes).

I can understand the frustration with Viney, but I have this feeling he's actively working on trying to change his footy habits; which has seen him always win the ball and just boot it long. We saw snippets of the disposal inside 50 he's capable of if he can make that work in the second half against the Suns. I'd keep him in based on if he can get the balance in his game he will be a far better player for us.

Harmes is the opposite, his bad habits are just getting worse.

Weid and Hibberd on hold for TMac and Salem if needed, Goody might swap Sparrow and Jordon, but no change otherwise.

Posted
1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

You're kidding, right?

For one, Weid's best football this year has been playing a role more like TMac than Brown, so he'd IMO be more suited to playing alongside Brown than alongside TMac.

For another, Smith's been playing defence all season.

For a third, why the [censored] would we experiment this boldly in our most important game of the year so far?

You are right. I have missed Weids dropped marks, leading into other forwards space and when he does manage to hold a mark- his failure to convert. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Considering most of us (including myself) demanded Jackson to be dropped last week, shows that the coaches still have a fair better idea than us!

I am potentially opening myself up for a bath here, but I don't think Jacko necessarily had that much better game than past weeks. He obviously kicked 4 goals which is great, however he seemed to get lucky being in the right spot a couple of times. He only had 6 kicks - shows what a difference accurate kicking makes!

On form, he definitely was right in the gun to be dropped. I hope he gains a lot of confidence from it and he can keep hitting the scoreboard deep into finals

Edited by BW511

Posted
8 minutes ago, old dee said:

You are correct of course most of us have this problem to some extent. I can never see Weideman being any more than useful. However if Tmac cannot play this week he is the logical replacement. Supporters get off players quick. Viney had a average first half yesterday and one guy wants to trade him. 

Spot on, supporters are too quick to jump off players, most would have had TMac gone at the end of last year, Jones wouldn't have played 100 games if you listened to supporters early on! 

1 hour ago, 1964_2 said:

All that tells you is that the age and HS reporters read the stats, rather than watching games to determine the best. 

only best Harmes and Viney were in was for GC! 

Or are they more subjective than the ordinary supporter who has a preconceived bias that magnifies any mistake/error a player makes? Where a supporter highlights the miss-kick or holding the ball decision, is the reporter seeing the things the player does well and the contribution to the team - not just the mistake? 

Posted (edited)

I have zero doubt Jordon will be in our finals team.

Smart use of him as a medical sub I reckon. Kept him around the team. Gave him a much needed rest and allowed them to give sparrow a deserved run after being the go to medi sub for much of the season.

I reckon they will do the same thing this week too.

So, no change.

I tgought viney played well. Harmes not so much. But for those potting those two, it is instructive in the club's match report, both were listed in tbe best players (with harmes listed third). 

BEST  
Melbourne: Oliver, Petracca, Harmes, May, Jackson, Brown, Viney   

I think ultimately they will want melksham in our finals team. But he can bide his time and come in for the cats game.

Posted
2 minutes ago, binman said:

I have zero doubt Jordan will be in our finals team.

Smart use of him as a medical sub I reckon. Kept him around the team. Gave him a much needed rest and allowed them to give sparrow a deserved run after being the go to medi sub for much of the season.

So, no change.

I tgought viney played well. Harmes not so much. But for those potting those two, it is instructive in the club's match report, both were listed in tbe best players (with harmes listed third). 

BEST  

I think ultimately they will want melksham in our finals team. But he can bide his time and come in for the cats game.

If Tmac misses he might be a chance this week. 

Posted
1 minute ago, binman said:

So, no change.

BEST  

Harmes tagged Rowell and kept him to "zero" clearances. 

Also, it's not that surprising that the club rated Harmes and Viney in the best 7.  Harmes was number 1 for pressure acts, with Viney second.  Between Harmes, Viney, and ANB they accounted for almost 30% of our total pressure acts.  Those 3 also had 1/3 our our tackles. Those stats may not be rated by demonlanders, but they would be valued really highly by the coaches and club.

Posted

Sadly due the foot injuries Viney can only run in straight lines these days, which means he can not side step tackles. Maybe he can create some mayhem in the forward line with his pressure and short passing.He has never been a lace out long kick.

Posted
12 minutes ago, binman said:

@Demonstone thoughts? ;)

12 minutes ago, binman said:

But for those potting those two, it is instructive in the club's match report, both were listed in tbe best players (with harmes listed third). 

BEST  

Just to clarify, that's not "the club's match report" that's the AFL website one. So it doesn't really tell you anything about what the club thought of the performances.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

@Demonstone thoughts? ;)

Just to clarify, that's not "the club's match report" that's the AFL website one. So it doesn't really tell you anything about what the club thought of the performances.

Jordon edited to avoid the wrath of ds.

Fair point about match report being compiled by the afl. But I have always assumed the clubs provide the injuiries and best players

Posted
4 minutes ago, adonski said:

T Mac is on the flight 

He was always on the flight.

Goody Confirmed this yesterday.

Posted
1 minute ago, binman said:

Jordon edited to avoid the wrath of ds.

Fair point about match report being compiled by the afl. But I have always assumed the clubs provide the injuiries and best players

Nah, the AFL journo just puts that in and the article gets 're-badged' for the MFC website.

Coaches votes usually give us more I reckon.

Posted

I know this is the wrong thread but how good was Bowey’s debut! Hope he strings a few together

Posted
26 minutes ago, old dee said:

If Tmac misses he might be a chance this week. 

Surely Weid rucking and forward is a better like for like.

Posted
28 minutes ago, binman said:

I have zero doubt Jordon will be in our finals team.

So, no change.

BEST  

The best found on the MFC site, is simply picked up from the AFL app best every week - a similar standard of just looking at stats (similar to HS + the age).......Got absolutely nothing to do with the club’s view of who was best. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

He was always on the flight.

Goody Confirmed this yesterday.

I stand corrected

Posted
5 minutes ago, 58er said:

Surely Weid rucking and forward is a better like for like.

Maybe but milkshake is the best kick of our forwards list by a country mile or 1.609 km. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Nah, the AFL journo just puts that in and the article gets 're-badged' for the MFC website.

Coaches votes usually give us more I reckon.

Ok. Though obviously they must check injury status with the club.

On the coaches voting front, some posters thought viney had a stinker against the hawks. But he got 2 coaches votes. And my guess is goodly gave them to him. 

Similarly viney polled much better in last years bluey than many predicted.

Goody values players that apply pressure. 

Posted
45 minutes ago, Watson11 said:

Harmes tagged Rowell and kept him to "zero" clearances. 

Also, it's not that surprising that the club rated Harmes and Viney in the best 7.  Harmes was number 1 for pressure acts, with Viney second.  Between Harmes, Viney, and ANB they accounted for almost 30% of our total pressure acts.  Those 3 also had 1/3 our our tackles. Those stats may not be rated by demonlanders, but they would be valued really highly by the coaches and club.

See this is where I have a problem with the ‘best’. Rowell was listed as one of their bests too (along with Swallow). They got pantsed by almost 100 points - of which all the drive came from our midfield.

Its just done on stats. Their mids were dreadful.

Posted

If TMac can't play I wouldn't bother with Weideman, I'd just go with the smaller forward structure we had earlier in the year.

Posted
15 minutes ago, binman said:

Ok. Though obviously they must check injury status with the club.

On the coaches voting front, some posters thought viney had a stinker against the hawks. But he got 2 coaches votes. And my guess is goodly gave them to him. 

Similarly viney polled much better in last years bluey than many predicted.

Goody values players that apply pressure. 

But cares little about disposal, or lack there of, due to every second one being a holding the ball..