Posted (edited)

The other thing about the venue is that in reality we are not much more likely to win at say the scg than the gabba.

Its not like the option is the gabba v the mcg

Posted
9 hours ago, binman said:

Play it at the gabba.

Dees members, of which there are many up there get first crack.

Then just general admission. So neutrals will come- and there will be heaps of ex vic footy fans who will up for seeing one of tbe best games of the season. 

So it might only be 50% lions fans.

Full house.

Friday night. The big light show and big game buzz.

Channel 7 love it. Our sponsors love it.

The team love it.

All coin goes to us. Maybe 700k.

The ground suits us perfectly. It is short and their forwards will have zero space. 

And we can trap it in our forward half.

Our clean centre clearances will go 20 metres from goal.

Their scrappy centre clearances will go 40 metres from goal into tbe lever zone.

We will win.

And make one hell of a statement.

And a heap of moolah.

Stay at our tweed heads qld base and play pies at the gabba too.

Maybe Monday night football on the queen's birthday. 

Big TV ratings. Better than a Monday arvo. Plenty of pies fans up there so we will get an ok crowd again

A bye the following week

Can plan the mini hub perfectly. Do a mid season reset and mini camp. Bring all the players up at some point if possible.

Move our gws home game to the Alice later in the year so we get that 700k.

Do it dees

Nah. You make some valid points but it's a bad idea overall. Smacks of hubris, over-confidence and pride before a fall.

Why give the Lions a leg-up, they’re 8-3, their home form is very impressive. What if they beat us and it gives them a psychological advantage for later in the year. Imagine the scorn and ridicule from the media and rival fans. Why take that chance unnecessarily? The cost benefit doesn't work for me.

If we can’t play them in the Alice (still my preference) then play them in Sydney.

Posted

Would be bitterly disappointing if Queens birthday won't be happening at the G.

As is suggested in another thread, the Dees and Pies should have their bye on round 13 (Q'BDAY weekend)  and look to play this game on Saturday night 19 June and have the big freeze that evening. Hopefully attract 45K and recoup some loss earnings. 

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, binman said:

Play it at the gabba.

Dees members, of which there are many up there get first crack.

Then just general admission. So neutrals will come- and there will be heaps of ex vic footy fans who will up for seeing one of tbe best games of the season. 

So it might only be 50% lions fans.

Full house.

Friday night. The big light show and big game buzz.

Channel 7 love it. Our sponsors love it.

The team love it.

All coin goes to us. Maybe 700k.

The ground suits us perfectly. It is short and their forwards will have zero space. 

And we can trap it in our forward half.

Our clean centre clearances will go 20 metres from goal.

Their scrappy centre clearances will go 40 metres from goal into tbe lever zone.

We will win.

And make one hell of a statement.

And a heap of moolah.

Stay at our tweed heads qld base and play pies at the gabba too.

Maybe Monday night football on the queen's birthday. 

Big TV ratings. Better than a Monday arvo. Plenty of pies fans up there so we will get an ok crowd again

A bye the following week

Can plan the mini hub perfectly. Do a mid season reset and mini camp. Bring all the players up at some point if possible.

Move our gws home game to the Alice later in the year so we get that 700k.

Do it dees

As someone 2.5 hrs from the Gabba with Brownie in the Northern Rivers, I give this post 10/10.

Having said that we need every advantage we can get to secure a top 2. We play Geelong at the Cattery, Weagles at Optus (they're gettable though), Dogs again (gettable), Port away...Bombers could get us. Any advantage possible, even if it means at a near empty SCG.

We need to think flag - the benefits from sponsorships, membership and gate for 2022 (remembering lots more people will be vaccinated, so the likelihood of no vaccine-no attending might be higher)

Edited by Superunknown
Posted
3 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

Nah. You make some valid points but it's a bad idea overall. Smacks of hubris, over-confidence and pride before a fall.

Why give the Lions a leg-up, they’re 8-3, their home form is very impressive. What if they beat us and it gives them a psychological advantage for later in the year. Imagine the scorn and ridicule from the media and rival fans. Why take that chance unnecessarily? The cost benefit doesn't work for me.

If we can’t play them in the Alice (still my preference) then play them in Sydney.

I don't like it either.

On field footy results should always come before finances when we're in a premiership window. This game could be the difference between finishing second (hosting Brisbane in the qualifying final) or finishing third (travelling to Brisbane in week 1).

I get Binman's logic about the SCG not really being much more of an advantage over the GABBA but every percent helps.

At absolute worst if they want to play this in QLD, play it at Metricon.

Posted
2 hours ago, wonnabeeri said:

It was arrogance that led to us agreeing to playing two games in cairns last year and missing finals. Smartness beats arrogance. Play at a neural ground.

errr Cairns was a neutral ground and we lost both....

Posted (edited)

Taking the financial and footy perspective into account:

• by far the best outcome for the club is Canberra, assuming the stadium can be made available at short notice. I understand Manuka has the lowest cost base of all the capital city venues, meaning we walk away with reasonable dollars (given the circumstances), even if the stadium's half empty.
  • I can't think of a place BrisVagas would prefer to play less. Five degrees centigrade at 9:35 pm will suite them a lot less than us.
  • Vagas have never played at Manuka - advantage us. Plus it's about time they did some Covid heavy lifting after their soft ride last year.  
  • the Manuka surface is in tip top shape given the low (ish) number of matches played at the ground so far this season. Both clubs could have a training run on Thursday and a light jog and a kick on Friday, if they so desire, and the surface would presumable hold up well.
  • We have very good recent form at the ground . . . virtually a home track for us!
  • Most Dee games played at the ground (eight) have pulled better than the venue's overall average crowd numbers. 
Edited by Queanbeyan Demon
Clarity
Posted

SCG is the best result.. purely based on footy. Smaller ground, our pressure will be suited to it.. it takes some of their electric movement out of it, probably neutralises no Langdon as much as any ground.  

We can beat Brisbane, i have no doubt, but it will be in teh middle again. Harmes to Zorko, he is in outstanding form and a real catalyst for the Lions. Clarry to take on McLuggage.

Posted
32 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

• by far the best outcome for the club is Canberra, assuming the stadium can be made available at short notice. I understand Manuka has the lowest cost base of all the capital city venues, meaning we walk away with reasonable dollars (given the circumstances), even if the stadium's half empty.
  • I can't think of a place BrisVagas would prefer to play less. Five degrees centigrade at 9:35 pm will suite them a lot less than us.
  • Vagas have never played at Manuka - advantage us. Plus it's about time they did some Covid heavy lifting after their soft ride last year.  
  • the Manuka surface is in tip top shape given the low (ish) number of matches played at the ground so far this season. Both clubs could have a training run on Thursday and a light jog and a kick on Friday, if they so desire, and the surface would presumable hold up well.
  • We have very good recent form at the ground . . . virtually a home track for us!
  • Most Dee games played at the ground (eight) have pulled better than the venue's overall average crowd numbers. 

Whilst I'm not against the game being at Manuka, I'm not sure about our "very good recent form".

Yes, we beat GWS there, but we hadn't previously won there since 2012 (albeit that was only two consecutive losses). We barely play there so I'm not sure about our familiarity, really.

Posted
2 hours ago, A F said:

Arrogance? We didn't have a choice RE Cairns. 

Heard several people from the club say they regretted they didn’t push harder against it. We were forced to fly in same day as well. We played the most grounds of any team in 2020. Then went in with the stupid “any team, anywhere” line, and lost both. It was dumb business and dumb football.

Posted
1 minute ago, wonnabeeri said:

Heard several people from the club say they regretted they didn’t push harder against it. We were forced to fly in same day as well. We played the most grounds of any team in 2020. Then went in with the stupid “any team, anywhere” line, and lost both. It was dumb business and dumb football.

Frankly, this is just dumb posting

Posted
3 minutes ago, binman said:

Why?

You may disagree but there is merit to the argument that is against yours here, that the "any team, anywhere" line sounds good in theory but can bite you in the bum.

Posted
2 minutes ago, binman said:

Sure. Baffles me why so many fans are keen to see us keep making the 60 years of stupid decisions that keep us out of seeing any success.

Posted
14 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Whilst I'm not against the game being at Manuka, I'm not sure about our "very good recent form".

Yes, we beat GWS there, but we hadn't previously won there since 2012 (albeit that was only two consecutive losses). We barely play there so I'm not sure about our familiarity, really.

It was my very, very poor attempt at irony T-U. All good. 

Posted

I agree with the 'anywhere / anytime' announcement last year coming back to bite us as the AFL took it literally sending us from Alice Springs to Cairns via Brisbane to play 2 games in 5 days. We've been up and about for all of five minutes and the same bullish declaration is back on the agenda. Brisbane are probably our biggest threat to a qualifying and / or preliminary final at the G so if we have to travel on Friday then so can they. 

Posted

And the winner is...

Syd - a - Nee

its a pity. The Alice game is a great spectacle. 
hopefully a decent crown turns out in Sydney 

Posted

There is no greater revenue generator for a footy club than a premiership.

Whatever tiny advantage we can take right now, we should grab with both hands. Giving Brisbane an extra game at the Gabba, their home ground where they dominate, is just silly. Already this is a 50/50 game. Why give Brisbane an advantage, when they are coming in hot for our top 2 spot?

We have some very hard matches coming up. This is one of them. There is absolutely no way I want to make it harder by playing it at the opposition's home ground, with a home crowd advantage. The last game we played interstate with a hostile crowd, was our one and only loss for the year. Lets not repeat this. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, DubDee said:

And the winner is...

Syd - a - Nee

its a pity. The Alice game is a great spectacle. 
hopefully a decent crown turns out in Sydney 

Is that confirmed? Agree its great to have games in places like the Alice however as someone who lives within a 15 minute walk of the SCG I will take the alternative.

Posted
32 minutes ago, Robbie57 said:

Is that confirmed? Agree its great to have games in places like the Alice however as someone who lives within a 15 minute walk of the SCG I will take the alternative.

Sorry no, not confirmed. But from Mark Stevens tweets I’d say somewhat likely 

Posted
8 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Sorry no, not confirmed. But from Mark Stevens tweets I’d say somewhat likely 

No need to apologise. I do feel for the Alice and think the GWS stadium would be better for us. We played well there last year.

I am actually more concerned about the big freeze which is such a worthy cause and deserves a big crowd at the G. 

Posted

I’d prefer Giants stadium than the SCG.

The thinner and longer dimensions suit us more then the short and wide SCG. Plus the surface seems in far better shape.

Given the crowd will be next to 0 regardless I would’ve thought we’d get a choice. Maybe Ch7 and the AFL want the more prestigious ground but that’s bad luck for them. 

The main benefit to the SCG apart from a few more neutral supporters is the players probably get a nicer hotel and shorter trip. But they’re flying out for business and if they’re restrictions travel with them I doubt they’ll be doing much sightseeing. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Canberra is a dew fest once it gets to night. Not a good option for. Play it at the SCG!