Posted
6 hours ago, Min Xie said:

From now on, any team except WB is beatable for this Melbourne team, we'll meet them twice in Rd11 and Rd20, they are really good.

Disagree - WB are definitely beatable. I think our defence has proven we can lose inside 50’s and still win. 

Posted

Reading the whole post match thread with a coffee after a very big day and night. Great to see so many happy Demonlanders. Enjoy your Sunday, people!

• Like 14
Posted
7 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

Just watched some of the replay. How on earth can anyone possibly say Gawn is not the best Ruckman in the league? Why did they even talk about Naitanui or Grundy?

Nic  Nat was dreadful yesterday against Geelong. He's unfit and carrying at least 5kg too much.

Nic Nat has no tank. Gawn is going to give him such a working over when we play them.

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

Could the 2019 draft end up being our best ever, Jackson, Kossie and Rivers. That draft could set us up for a decade!

I was skeptical of Jackson with only o ne gial in five games and not holding his marks.

Last night in the wet he doubled his entire goal tally and took some great grabs.

For a big man his ball skills at ground level are fantastic.

His athleticism and endurance are awesome for his age. 

Kozzie was somewhat quiet for him but still played a part. He is I believe the sort of player who is going to win games all by himself.

Rivers is composed, brave and has very fast hands. Works very hard and always seems to be in the right position.

Thank you Mfc for your very clever choices.

Edited by leave it to deever

Posted
8 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

All those that wanted him traded at the end of last season, give yourselves an upper cut.

I don;t fancy an upper cut but i'll happily eat some humble pie. He has been fantastic. His resurrection act this year is on a par with Lazarus.

Posted

Cant wait to watch the replay.

In my minds eye I can still see the first 15 mins where they were smashing us everywhere.

It was classic Tigers. We seemed at sea.

Yet for the first time while a little worried I still felt more confidence than concern.

Games of old my beloved Demons would have continued to get smashed.

Not this bunch. They kept their heads and believed in themselves, each other and the systems and drills they have established.

Come the next 3 quarters we the cream simply rose to the top.

What an effort....to see one of the most touted teams sbout being the ones who folded under pressure.

Tigers fans were probably stunned.

Even with May who is still clearly not himself, we have the best defence in the competition.

We used to leak goals left rifgt and centre now clubs are lucky to kick ten against us.

Posted
9 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

[censored] YOU RICHMOND!!!!

I'm  [censored] drunk!

Righto calm down mate..

I'll repeat @A F sentiments and say in my honest opinion as well that was one of the best wins I've seen. The bullying of Geelong in the 2018 final was right up there, but in the context of the game being Jones 300th, and the big occasion, it's just so unmelbourne like to rise to the challange and physically beat the reigning premiers at their own game.

So much has already being said with the likes of Petracca, Gawn, Viney and Oliver. But I'll talk about the lesser likes.

First of all on our defence again rose to the challange and completely shut Reiwoldt and Lynch out the game. Tomlinsons and May's job on Lynch and Reiwoldt cannot be underestimated. Both have been really good form and it also showed why Steven May is imo the best defender in the game.

Apologies to @58er Christian Salem is an A grader. Keep his form up and he'll have that All Australian half back sewn up. His calmness and ability to just slow play down with his ball use is magnificent to watch. Bit annoyed he didn't get the medal at the end to be honest.. that would have really thrown him into the media frame of recognition. 

Jayden Hunt turned back the clock and showed what an important cog he is to our back six with his run and dash.

Trent Rivers is a deat set freak.

Langdon had another fine game. Chopped back in defence to help out but also won some crucial one on one's. 

Spargo's, ANB and Pickett's pressure was immense! I reckon the Spargo tackle really got us going. 

Luke Jackson.. wowee..  trying to keep a lid on in but his performance was right up there with Jesse Hogan's back in 2015 against Rance. Maybe even better. 

Really proud of Tmac. Also love that Goodwin gave him a clean slate this year and it's already showing. Say what you want but Tmac is best 22 for us. His work rate is absolutely through the roof and a great example of someone who works incredibly hard.

Our pressure and manic tackling around the contests nearly brought a tear to my eye. We physically bullied them and they were not prepared. Viney simply set the tone with this and it was also good to see Gawn play angry!

Well done Simon Goodwin, and congratulations Nathan Jones on such a marvellous achievement. 

• Like 20
Posted

That was a great night. So good to have some belief again and watch the Dees play consistent, high quality footy.

A long, long way to go, but will enjoy this unfamiliar feeling.

That run from Hunt that ended with the Nibbler goal was incredible. And how good was Lever. Salem and Trac epic.

Fingers crossed we can keep this effort and hunger going.

Posted

I am so hung over today, but holy hell what a good match. I thought they had us, but we stayed calm and fought back and ended up smashing them.

Not sure about Petracca being BOG. He was great, but I felt Salem deserved it. Oh well, it’s hard to judge until you see it on tv (which I’ll do when I’m feeling a bit better.) Saw a bit when I got home. Of course after OUR win the camera goes to Dusty. The media is in love with him.

Is it just me or are Richmond supporters becoming the next Collingwood supporters? Rude, feral, boganish, can’t see anything wrong in their own. Don’t get me wrong, I have Richmond friends, but a lot are getting really feral.

Posted
8 hours ago, Hell Bent said:

I’m on the train home and 2 Tiges fans are watching the 2020 GF on their phone lol. Ive had a few and I’m not even joking!

I think they realise the era is over!

I know those guys

They’re on the Richmond Match Committee and they were studying the old replays as an educational document trying to understand where their mojo went 

Posted
5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Righto calm down mate..

I'll repeat @A F sentiments and say in my honest opinion as well that was one of the best wins I've seen. The bullying of Geelong in the 2018 final was right up there, but in the context of the game being Jones 300th, and the big occasion, it's just so unmelbourne like to rise to the challange and physically beat the reigning premiers at their own game.

So much has already being said with the likes of Petracca, Gawn, Viney and Oliver. But I'll talk about the lesser likes.

First of all on our defence again rose to the challange and completely shut Reiwoldt and Lynch out the game. Tomlinsons and May's job on Lynch and Reiwoldt cannot be underestimated. Both have been really good form and it also showed why Steven May is imo the best defender in the game.

Apologies to @58er Christian Salem is an A grader. Keep his form up and he'll have that All Australian half back sewn up. His calmness and ability to just slow play down with his ball use is magnificent to watch. Bit annoyed he didn't get the medal at the end to be honest.. that would have really thrown him into the media frame of recognition. 

Jayden Hunt turned back the clock and showed what an important cog he is to our back six with his run and dash.

Langdon had another fine game. Chopped back in defence to help out but also won some crucial one on one's. 

Spargo's, ANB and Pickett's pressure was immense! I reckon the Spargo tackle really got us going. 

Luke Jackson.. wowee..  trying to keep a lid on in but his performance was right up there with Jesse Hogan's back in 2015 against Rance. Maybe even better. 

Really proud of Tmac. Also love that Goodwin gave him a clean slate this year and it's already showing. Say what you want but Tmac is best 22 for us. His work rate is absolutely through the roof and a great example of someone who works incredibly hard.

Our pressure and manic tackling around the contests nearly brought a tear to my eye. We physically bullied them and they were not prepared. Viney simply set the tone with this and it was also good to see Gawn play angry!

Well done Simon Goodwin, and congratulations Nathan Jones on such a marvellous achievement. 

DD we are all liable to change our minds on this great game.

Nearly  every Melb player Is rewriting his CV this season.

Thats why we are improving as a team and Club.

Posted
8 hours ago, danielE288 said:

Man that was good. Best win since Semi Final 08. I am absolutely knackered.

Me too.

Nice sleep in today after giving everything I have.

Proud that I left nothing in the fridge and just gave it my all.

• Haha 5
Posted
58 minutes ago, CBDees said:

It will be different next week when we play North and we will probably be favourites for the first time this season. A worrying position to be in when we play our best footy as underdogs.

There is zero chance we don't turn up to play nest week. I have 100% confidence in our temperament and attitude. It has been spot on all season and won;t be any different next week. 

I get why people still find it hard to fully trust the team given our history but on the evidence so far this year the penny has dropped. Finally.

Posted
9 hours ago, Alex Flood said:

Not trying to sound negative but let’s not get too ahead of ourselves fellas. We’re playing amazing but premierships aren’t won by round 6.

Anyway, go Dees !!!

But who wants to play an interstate preliminary final... we have been smashed in the past ie 1994 and 2018.

Posted
15 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Righto calm down mate..

Love you passion DD.

Great post.

Perhsps the biggest take for me was how we performed on such a big stage.

The last two years Tigers were premiers and used to big occasions.

We have been struggling. We came to a night game with similiar conditions to a final and it did not phase us.

Posted
8 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

So he should.

Yeah nah.

Deserves everything that comes his way. Glad there were supporters there giving it to him.

Enjoy being at that [censored] stain of a footy club Howe you [censored]

Posted

How good has Hibberd been.

He has not played all year.

Came in last week and was one of our best. Last night he shut down one of the best ever.

• Like 16

Posted
34 minutes ago, Spargonicus said:

That was a great night. So good to have some belief again and watch the Dees play consistent, high quality footy.

A long, long way to go, but will enjoy this unfamiliar feeling.

That run from Hunt that ended with the Nibbler goal was incredible. And how good was Lever. Salem and Trac epic.

Fingers crossed we can keep this effort and hunger going.

Screw that, I’m just enjoying the moment.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Screw that, I’m just enjoying the moment.

Im with you Clint !!!!!!

2 bottles of red after the game I don't feel well but hey what you gonna do Go Demons Lets go all the way

Posted

Sportsbet just paid out on the dees winning the premiership.  I got $100 on when they were paying $21.

Just made the weekend so much better

• Shocked 3
Posted
9 hours ago, hemingway said:

No try death mate. 

should have a reality Emoji.