The Great Pretender 480 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 Essendon's Conor McKenna has retired, effective immediately. It was thanks to him that Melbourne’s fortunes started going off the rails in the early part of the season. We missed that game only one week after the resumption and we had a flat start the following week against Geelong. Perhaps, if McKenna hadn’t tested positive we might have had two extra wins plus a week’s respite by way of a bye around this time of year which might have made all the difference? 2 1 Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 (edited) It’s not McKennas fault we are rubbish and don’t turn up to games of football and have been poorly coached for years Jesus Christ. Edited September 8, 2020 by SFebes 13 1 1 2 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 Board: So, Simon. Want went wrong this year? Goodwin: It's all Conor McKenna's fault! 3 1 11 Quote
DubDee 26,679 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 I like McKenna more now. He has had a lot of time to consider his life and what's important to him. End result - I want to leave Essendon. A wise man. 4 5 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 While I don't blame him for the postpone game I think it has had an effect on us an Essendon not having a break at all during the hub fixtures. Our Bye came after only one game back 3 months ago. 4 Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: While I don't blame him for the postpone game I think it has had an effect on us an Essendon not having a break at all during the hub fixtures. Our Bye came after only one game back 3 months ago. Yet clubs struggle after a bye, even some of the best clubs like the Cats. Plenty of examples a bye is worse, so what’s our excuse? Edit: haven’t compared this year. Edited September 8, 2020 by SFebes Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 The tests are so unreliable who knows if he even had it. I don't blame McKenna at all, sucks that the game was postponed though. 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 If Goodwin gets the [censored], then I dare say that McKenna could indeed be the saviour. 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,345 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 Its always someone else's fault... 1 1 Quote
darkhorse72 1,943 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 From the headline I thought they may have again mailed out in advance information for finals tickets for 2020, like in 2017. Quote
frankie_d 1,471 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 14 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said: The tests are so unreliable who knows if he even had it. I don't blame McKenna at all, sucks that the game was postponed though. any evidence for that? PCR is pretty reliable... 1 Quote
gs77 4,615 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 Bizarre to me that the AFL scheduled byes in a compressed season replete with 4-day breaks. And our "bye" was spent with our whole squad playing a practice match on the 'G - hardly a break. That said, if I recall Essendon had their tails up at that stage - we were far from a certainty of winning that game anyway. 2 Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 (edited) Let's also not forget game time is 20% less this year to so I don't buy into the bye or fatigue issues, maybe mental fatigue from the players for not having a coached plan each week is more likely. Approx 240mins less in 15 games, roughly 2-2.5 games of normal footy, so we'd be about 12.5 games and we are fatigued? This with a full list and a supposedly awesome pre season..... Edited September 8, 2020 by SFebes Quote
billyblanks29 184 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 We would have got towelled up by Essendon in Round 3 had we played them. They were in form & without injuries. Now we might be half chance against a depleted & tired Bombers. Quote
Elegt 872 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 1 hour ago, Pickett2Jackson said: The tests are so unreliable who knows if he even had it. I don't blame McKenna at all, sucks that the game was postponed though. Those tests were never designed to diagnose viruses Quote
Elegt 872 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 56 minutes ago, frankie_d said: any evidence for that? PCR is pretty reliable... From TGA website COVID-19 testing in Australia - information for health professionals 26 August 2020 Tests for COVID-19 aim to detect the causative virus, SARS-CoV-2, or an immune response to SARS-CoV-2. The reliability of COVID-19 tests is uncertain due to the limited evidence base. Available evidence mainly comes from symptomatic patients, and their clinical role in detecting asymptomatic carriers is unclear. 2 Quote
Coq au vin 755 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 1 hour ago, The Great Pretender said: Essendon's Conor McKenna has retired, effective immediately. It was thanks to him that Melbourne’s fortunes started going off the rails in the early part of the season. We missed that game only one week after the resumption and we had a flat start the following week against Geelong. Perhaps, if McKenna hadn’t tested positive we might have had two extra wins plus a week’s respite by way of a bye around this time of year which might have made all the difference? He should be condemned to the fires of hell forever. Our season’s failure is entirely due to him. Quote
The Great Pretender 480 Posted September 8, 2020 Author Posted September 8, 2020 53 minutes ago, gs77 said: Bizarre to me that the AFL scheduled byes in a compressed season replete with 4-day breaks. And our "bye" was spent with our whole squad playing a practice match on the 'G - hardly a break. That said, if I recall Essendon had their tails up at that stage - we were far from a certainty of winning that game anyway. Not quite tails up. They beat Fremantle and Swans in their first 2 games - both by a goal. I think there’s a fair chance we might have beaten them and Geelong at that stage. I’m not making excuses, just pointing out that the course of the season would have been different and a bye would have been handy at some stage in the past few weeks. Quote
gs77 4,615 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 44 minutes ago, The Great Pretender said: Not quite tails up. They beat Fremantle and Swans in their first 2 games - both by a goal. I think there’s a fair chance we might have beaten them and Geelong at that stage. I’m not making excuses, just pointing out that the course of the season would have been different and a bye would have been handy at some stage in the past few weeks. No worries, thanks for clarifying. I certainly agree a bye would indeed have been handy! Quote
Spit Demon 58 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 1 hour ago, frankie_d said: any evidence for that? PCR is pretty reliable... Did he not test positive, negative, positive then negative again??? If that is what really happened, I would say the test is about as good as the Dees are performing... Hope all you Victorians are doing well ?. Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 Oh the irony that GWS just lost to Adelaide and we play them and those f logs from ESS the week after. Quote
bing181 9,473 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 1 hour ago, SFebes said: Let's also not forget game time is 20% less this year Also let's not forget that we're playing most of those games with shorter breaks between them. 1 Quote
SFebes 4,884 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 1 minute ago, bing181 said: Also let's not forget that we're playing most of those games with shorter breaks between them. That's my point. Easier to recover. Besides I'm not making excuses for the club. Our form early in the season didn't set the world on fire either. Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 8, 2020 Posted September 8, 2020 2 hours ago, Pickett2Jackson said: The tests are so unreliable who knows if he even had it. I don't blame McKenna at all, sucks that the game was postponed though. Got some stats that back that up the unreliability of the tests? 1 Quote