Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 I've got some pretty firm views on drinking Energy Drinks 'What about the kids who read this' 'The Sports Meds at the club think this is ok?' 'Maybe I am ill informed, and the clubs Sports Meds have it right?' Anyway... WTF Perhaps someone on this forum can educate me. 1 Quote
Daily Dose of Demons 155 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 Most AFL players take caffeine tablets before matches don’t think drinking red bull would be any less different. There’s many bigger issues in football advertising than a kid maybe drinking an energy drink cause max says he does. This is also dependent on children reading news articles. 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 Isn't Redbull the drink of choice for Darren Burgess? Quote
Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted June 23, 2020 Author Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 06:36, Daily Dose of Demons said: Most AFL players take caffeine tablets before matches don’t think drinking red bull would be any less different. There’s many bigger issues in football advertising than a kid maybe drinking an energy drink cause max says he does. This is also dependent on children reading news articles. Expand I was being a little flippant re: the kids line mate Quote
chook fowler 19,778 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 It's not a good look for the Club. Energy drinks are major medical issue in that they fuel anxiety, interfere with mood regulation and cause insomnia. 2 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 True. They can be quick fix for energy but would be counter productive in a game for more than an hour. May explain Max having a great first half and then breaking even in the last quarter Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 06:56, spirit of norm smith said: True. They can be quick fix for energy but would be counter productive in a game for more than an hour. May explain Max having a great first half and then breaking even in the last quarter Expand He should load up a big pipe of tobacco at half time and negate the sugar crash with a nicotine hit. 1 2 Quote
Daily Dose of Demons 155 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 06:49, chook fowler said: It's not a good look for the Club. Energy drinks are major medical issue in that they fuel anxiety, interfere with mood regulation and cause insomnia. Expand This is crap the only thing bad for you in energy drinks is the sugar. 2 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 07:12, Daily Dose of Demons said: This is crap the only thing bad for you in energy drinks is the sugar. Expand Have you read the side of a Redbull can? There is a lot more in there than just sugar... Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 I don't see any problem. Once the club has accepted an organisation as a sponsor, it has an oblilgation to support the sponsor. We also have McDonald's, Furphy, The Sporting Globe and Coca-Cola as partners. I'm sure there will be some who might object to them being promoted by the club. The time to decide is before the sponsorship is accepted. I don't think you can pick and choose which ones to promote and which not afterwards. 1 Quote
chookrat 4,268 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 06:56, spirit of norm smith said: True. They can be quick fix for energy but would be counter productive in a game for more than an hour. May explain Max having a great first half and then breaking even in the last quarter Expand Then Max should neck another at half time, more exposure for Red Bull and gives him a pep up for the second half. That's what I call a win/win my friend. 1 Quote
BAMF 4,485 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 The majority of people have coffee in the morning. This isn't really that much different. Gladly take the money. 1 Quote
MyFavouriteMartian 572 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 06:45, Demon Disciple said: Isn't Redbull the drink of choice for Darren Burgess? Expand Does it, "give you wings".? Maybe a couple of cans for TMc this week, as well.? ? 1 1 1 Quote
TheKozzieExperience 258 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 Lets start drinking Thai Red Bull before the game. We will be 15 goals up at quarter time. 1 1 Quote
MyFavouriteMartian 572 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 09:17, TheKozzieExperience said: Lets start drinking Thai Red Bull before the game. We will be 15 goals up at quarter time. Expand And fall over by half time.? Oh wait, is that what happened against the blues.? Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 08:56, MyFavouriteMartian said: Does it, "give you wings".? Maybe a couple of cans for TMc this week, as well.? ? Expand And a Big Mac meal and furphy for Joel Smith pregame to keep him grounded 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,773 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 06:49, chook fowler said: It's not a good look for the Club. Energy drinks are major medical issue in that they fuel anxiety, interfere with mood regulation and cause insomnia. Expand on a scale of 1-10 ( ten being the worst) betting companies are at 9... Red Bull is 6... Maccas and Coke are 4-5 Unfortunately kale producers don't advertise... perhaps they should Quote
TheKozzieExperience 258 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 (edited) On 23/06/2020 at 12:10, Diamond_Jim said: on a scale of 1-10 ( ten being the worst) betting companies are at 9... Red Bull is 6... Maccas and Coke are 4-5 Unfortunately kale producers don't advertise... perhaps they should Expand What about cigarette manufacturers, DJ? They have to be 10 surely? I would have Maccas higher than that. Edited June 23, 2020 by TheKozzieExperience Quote
Leoncelli_36 2,264 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 The taurine and caffeine is being administered by a club health professional...I don’t think anyone would recommend having Red Bull every day. The can itself warns you about this. the original ‘red bull’ started in Thailand and is essentially a medicinal drink for sleepiness. The Westerners bought the rights and carbonated it. if taken properly, it can improve mood and energy. If you go mix it with Thai Whiskey in a bucket, as is common place in Thailand amongst westerners, you’ll have an epic night and a horrible horrible hangover and a buttload of anxiety. I think AFL players taking it is fine as it is regulated by the sports scientist. I don’t think it sends a message to kids to take it. Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,773 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 12:12, TheKozzieExperience said: What about cigarette manufacturers, DJ? They have to be 10 surely? I would have Maccas higher than that. Expand yep the killers are at 10 (but they are rarely seen on the advertising screen) Maccas is below Red Bull because RB has few redeeming features... over caffeine and as sweet as hell Maccas at least provides calories Quote
Docs Demons 1,810 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 06:49, chook fowler said: It's not a good look for the Club. Energy drinks are major medical issue in that they fuel anxiety, interfere with mood regulation and cause insomnia. Expand Like everything. In moderation is fine. If we gave everything away that is not good for us we would not drink or eat anything. This world is going nuts. On a cold day when playing back in Melb a few of the boys had Stones neat at half time Quote
chook fowler 19,778 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 12:10, Diamond_Jim said: on a scale of 1-10 ( ten being the worst) betting companies are at 9... Red Bull is 6... Maccas and Coke are 4-5 Unfortunately kale producers don't advertise... perhaps they should Expand Agree to a point, but if you talk to youth mental health workers they see energy drink consumption as a real cause for concern and believe their ill effects are very much under-estimated. 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,778 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 12:31, Docs Demons said: Like everything. In moderation is fine. If we gave everything away that is not good for us we would not drink or eat anything. This world is going nuts. On a cold day when playing back in Melb a few of the boys had Stones neat at half time Expand I also remember seeing Sid Catlin having a dart at quarter time at the old South Melbourne ground. Quote
Demonstone 23,587 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 On 23/06/2020 at 08:49, BAMF said: The majority of people have coffee in the morning. Expand I have mine with a shot of Red Bull in it. Quote
Bitter but optimistic 22,289 Posted June 23, 2020 Posted June 23, 2020 I can’t think of much worse than a gutfull of fizzy giz before physical activity........ but then again I’m not greatly invested in exercise 1 1 Quote