Posted

On the brink of 2020 the Dees may again make the 8 but nobody (except Cam Mooney) expects us to win a flag. What is lacking in the side in terms of players to take us to the top? I will kick it off....a Tom Lynch style big key forward who can take a grab, kick goals and is ok when the ball hits the ground. Also a small forward who can bag 39-40 goals Betts style. And a running midfielder who kicks goals- our midfielders don’t do enough damage by foot either hitting lead up forwards or kicking goals.

Posted

Our best 22 looks strong enough to push for top 4, from there a bit of luck and we can pinch a flag. Although we have heaps of talent none have turned into out and out superstars of the game, that is what will lift us to compete year in year out. 

Posted

Need a superstar of the game. 

We currently have ZERO players who can be called that, but several who i believe are capable of rising to that level.

We have a great list age profile. Just takes several of your best to have career best seasons at the same time to elevate this list to flag capable, and a superstar to put it over the top in those clinch moments

A good run with injuries, and a dose of long overdue luck.

Posted

Nobody saw the Bulldogs or the Tigers winning a flag at the same time of year so I'm certainly not losing any sleep about anyone's predictions. We're in the process of building a squad that will consistently be in a premiership window as well as an off field operation that can finance it in a competitive market. The key I think is getting all of our current crop of players to understand and be able to execute their role until it becomes second nature. If we can fast track a couple of our younger talents before losing some of our older most experienced players to retirement then that might just be the sweet spot we need to have a tilt at a premiership. 

Posted

I'm a big fan of TMac but we need him to have a strong consistent season otherwise that's what we need a potent key forward.

Posted

Mark McClure and David King just sunk the boots into us on 360. Basically reckon we’ve got nothing to look forward to and can do little to turn our fortunes around. McClure hates us with a passion, does anyone know why? He bashes our club at every opportunity. Can’t stand the bloke

Posted

Vaccine for the coronavirus.?

Posted
10 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

Mark McClure and David King just sunk the boots into us on 360. Basically reckon we’ve got nothing to look forward to and can do little to turn our fortunes around. McClure hates us with a passion, does anyone know why? He bashes our club at every opportunity. Can’t stand the bloke

That's strange coming from King given he said Lever and May could completely change the way we play this year and said Petracca could go to a new level.

Posted
37 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

McClure hates us with a passion, does anyone know why? He bashes our club at every opportunity. Can’t stand the bloke

Mark McClure produced Sam McClure.......................................enough said.

Posted
1 hour ago, Deefective said:

On the brink of 2020 the Dees may again make the 8 but nobody (except Cam Mooney) expects us to win a flag. What is lacking in the side in terms of players to take us to the top? I will kick it off....a Tom Lynch style big key forward who can take a grab, kick goals and is ok when the ball hits the ground. Also a small forward who can bag 39-40 goals Betts style. And a running midfielder who kicks goals- our midfielders don’t do enough damage by foot either hitting lead up forwards or kicking goals.

Maturity.  Collective maturity across our most talented young players.

IMO,  we have only just recruited the required young talents to do this job;  and many are still under 20 Yrs of age. 

I think we are 3 Yrs off the big dance.   But I expect us to be playing off in finals, from this year.

Posted
43 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

It was a very shallow analysis that said nothing. Very poor segment.

Posted
38 minutes ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

Nah, he doesn't.  They are playing devils advocate to us, talking our chances down, as they don't trust us to come to play;  when we are considered as favourites.

We are definitely at our best,  when we go into games with something to prove to the doubters.

Posted

In the period from 1955 - 1960, we lost a sum total of 6 home games at the MCG. An average of 1 game a year. Consistency, depth and feared by our opponents.

Id reckon the early 2000’s Brisbane three peat team was much the same. If I’m comparing us to them, I reckon we’re only missing the Jonathan Brown equivalent.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Are they related?

No they’re not. Sam is the son of Geoff (chook) McClure, who was a journo with the Age

Posted
3 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

No.

1 minute ago, In Harmes Way said:

No they’re not. Sam is the son of Geoff (chook) McClure, who was a journo with the Age

I didn't think so. Cheers. 

Posted

Need to have someone that will outright intimidate the opposition. Someone that would kill an opponent as soon as look at them. Above all else, a team of players that will support any team mate being monstered by an opponent and back them 100%

Posted

Need Sam Weideman to hit his 2018 finals form, a lack of injuries, and natural improvement out of our 24 and under players. Now that we have actual wingers I think our list is right up there with the best.

Posted
7 minutes ago, pineapple dee said:

Need to have someone that will outright intimidate the opposition. Someone that would kill an opponent as soon as look at them. Above all else, a team of players that will support any team mate being monstered by an opponent and back them 100%

i thought that was meant to be may's job..

i think may and lever need to fix their kick-ins, our tackling/pressure needs to go back to 2018 levels & above and we need a goal-kicking forward, cos i just don't trust t-mac. he's a weird one.. could definitely kick 50, but could also end up with 20, having played all season.