Weideman vs Jackson  

123 members have voted

Posted

Weideman at the moment but jeez Sam’s really gotta pull his finger out. Not doing enough around the ground, can’t just be a back up ruck, has to be expected to get 1-2 goals a game. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Agree entirely wayne.  I am really impressed with this kid - he's clearly got football smarts.

Agree totally very quick follow up and good hands very versatile and will develop into a star.  In the best 22 now even off the bench

Posted
25 minutes ago, Pates said:

Weideman at the moment but jeez Sam’s really gotta pull his finger out. Not doing enough around the ground, can’t just be a back up ruck, has to be expected to get 1-2 goals a game. 

Pates perhaps his best chance is as a ruckman. From all accounts he played that role well against the Crows. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Jack Russell said:

Agree totally very quick follow up and good hands very versatile and will develop into a star.  In the best 22 now even off the bench

He certainly looks the goods but I suspect he’ll spend a fair bit of time at Casey to gain experience 

Posted

I think Jackson brings something unique. While raw he can ruck, rove and play forward tall and small. He probably lacks defensive wiles but his disposal is generally smart. His ability to just always have a crack is so pure that Id play him straight up.

Posted

I feel for Weid. Finally gets in a decent amount of preseason, then gets thrown into the ruck for a whole game (Adelaide) and then all over the place in the next one (Hawks). I get the context of the situation with the Gawn and Preuss injuries, but this kids development is at a crucial stage and IMO he really needs to be given a more defined role that he can focus on and grow his confidence in, not get thrown around every week.

Think TMac is escaping a bit of focus in all this too. He's only played a half of good footy so far and has been unsighted for the rest.

On Jackson though, gee he had a couple of really nice 'footy brain' moments in the game last night to go with some athletic moments in the Adelaide game. Really unique player.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

I feel for Weid. Finally gets in a decent amount of preseason, then gets thrown into the ruck for a whole game (Adelaide) and then all over the place in the next one (Hawks). I get the context of the situation with the Gawn and Preuss injuries, but this kids development is at a crucial stage and IMO he really needs to be given a more defined role that he can focus on and grow his confidence in, not get thrown around every week.

Think TMac is escaping a bit of focus in all this too. He's only played a half of good footy so far and has been unsighted for the rest.

On Jackson though, gee he had a couple of really nice 'footy brain' moments in the game last night to go with some athletic moments in the Adelaide game. Really unique player.

But is that enough to be selected in the first game?

Posted
1 minute ago, old dee said:

For which player? Jackson? I wouldn't think so at this stage. I would have Weid ahead of him just based on physical maturity and ability to consistently present for a whole game. It's not a huge gap though.

Posted

Poor old Weed, much maligned methinks. In the last game he got 19 disposals and held his own in the ruck. He needs to clunk more marks but he’s a reasonable contributor and still is a baby in big man terms.

Posted
6 hours ago, binman said:

I had thought jackson was a real chance of playing round 1. But agree with chook that he needs some time at Casey and I think that will happen.

Kozzie on the other hand.......

Agree

Posted
10 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Poor old Weed, much maligned methinks. In the last game he got 19 disposals and held his own in the ruck. He needs to clunk more marks but he’s a reasonable contributor and still is a baby in big man terms.

Tell me, what did he bring to the forward line last night, as that is where he will play most of the time?

Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, loges said:

Tell me, what did he bring to the forward line last night, as that is where he will play most of the time?

About the same as T Mac and Patton. The conditions were slippery and not ideal for big men. Fritter and Melksham were the main targets.

Edited by chook fowler
Posted

i'd play both Weideman and Jackson to start the year. just leave Weideman as a forward and let Jackson back up in the ruck. he got pushed around a bit early on, but adjusted and 12 hit outs and some handy follow up around the ball is a great result from Jackson. he really seemed to energise our midfield as he got on top. he can also be used as a forward or run through the midfield which I think helps his chances of getting a game. he offers us something I think most teams don't have.

Posted
19 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

About the same as T Mac and Patton. The conditions were slippery and not ideal for big men. Fritter and Melksham were the main targets.

Perhaps I should have asked apart from his 2018 finals when did he or when will he bring something to the forward line.. Its not good enough to  take a couple of marks a game when you should have held 4 or 5. He's not a first year player anymore.

Posted

I'd play Weid in Perth. More out of hope than anything else but we will need luck to win there anyway and perhaps he will be the beneficiary of that luck. Also I don't'  want to see Gawn flattened by a run in the WA heat as our real chance is against GWS the following week.

Jackson has already shown that he is a great pickup but quite rightly he needs to be managed.

Like many I have watched Weid for years now and increasingly there seems  a chance he may not make it. It's all before him but with Brown and Jackson not to mention Preuss he could struggle

Posted

maybe depends upon your view of his role? Ruck or key forward (midfield is a fantasey with our depth) a quick look at some comparables shows that in their first year:

• KF- Weid played 3 games, Jeremy Cameron played 16, (Watts 3), Tom Lynch 13, Gunston 3, Franklin 20
  • Ruck - Grundy played 7 games, Max 0, Goldstein 0, Nic Nat 10, rhys stanley 0, Ben Mcevoy 0, Steph Martin 8

If he truley is elite he could possibly slot in to support in either role- Im thinking that a year at Casey and in the gym is a better way to go

Posted
21 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

I'd play Weid in Perth. More out of hope than anything else but we will need luck to win there anyway and perhaps he will be the beneficiary of that luck. Also I don't'  want to see Gawn flattened by a run in the WA heat as our real chance is against GWS the following week.

Jackson has already shown that he is a great pickup but quite rightly he needs to be managed.

Like many I have watched Weid for years now and increasingly there seems  a chance he may not make it. It's all before him but with Brown and Jackson not to mention Preuss he could struggle

You've summed it up quite well, I'd play Brown before Weid and Jackson, but the problem is who gives Max a rest.

Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

I think he might be off playing as a ruckman chook.

Posted
4 hours ago, waynewussell said:

Can't believe the posters who think Jackson looked ordinary... Take a closer look! He got pushed around in the first two or three ruck contests, but then adjusted. As the second half progressed he began to get his hands to the ball first and we started to take it away from the contests. His follow up work is elite and he wasn't afraid to tackle with vigour. If you think he will be playing at Casey for most of the year, you don't recognise 'star' quality when its right in front of you!

He's pretty good in open play & around the wings, but I'd prefer see him at Casey developing is body and learning to play against man sized bodies.   Yes he as done OK,  but I reckon he'll learn more thoroughly in the VFL for the predominant part of 2020.

Similarly with Kossie, building his fitness.

IMO, it's time for the likes of Bedford, Lockhart, Smith, Weideman, Baker, Spargo, Chandler, Sparrow, Jordan, and then to a lesser extent Kossie & LJ.   Don't rush these pair.

We have a lot of talent in our young brigade, unseen yet.  And this young group need opportunities to shine and grow.

Remember were building this team for a couple of years time, to go all the way.

Posted
2 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

I think Jackson out and Brown into half forward, with Weide and tMac starting deeper and spreading.  I don't mind Weide taking some cameos on ball, as a follower.  Whilst Tracca is playing deeper.

Our midfield could be full of runners and high marking targets on occaisions.

Posted
1 hour ago, old dee said:

Yes

1 hour ago, Lord Nev said:

For which player? Jackson? I wouldn't think so at this stage. I would have Weid ahead of him just based on physical maturity and ability to consistently present for a whole game. It's not a huge gap though.

Yes.  Weide in for Rnd 1.   On the big ground, and in the warm Perth Sun.  Remembering that so fat they have only been playing tiddly winks preseason, and some have been playing with an element of caution as its practice matches.  see hibbo, tmac, etc.

The wide spaces will help Weide & tMac run into form.  We need these two working n tandem.

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Yep, but 2020 is his year to shine.

Posted

It doesn’t matter if Weid is in the ruck or forward he was drafted to take marks.

I was told a few years back by Macca that he is the biggest asset on our list because he can take marks at the peak of his leap with height and outstretched arms so could break opposition zones.

Problem is he can’t take a mark. He no longer has the excuse of being out muscled. He has been on the list long enough and spent more than enough time in the gym to build the required strength.

I hate bagging Melbourne players but the kid is Brent Grgic number 2. All false reputation no AFL ability.