14 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

The MCG precinct is never going to happen.

Yes very likely which is why I said while Caulfield is less than ideal it is far more preferable to what we have now.

9 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yes very likely which is why I said while Caulfield is less than ideal it is far more preferable to what we have now.

I guess it depends what you view as ideal. I actually don’t think the MCG precinct is ideal personally for a home base. I’d much rather setup a community feel in an inner Melbourne suburb than an area that no one really visits outside of sporting events.

I think Caulfield ticks all the boxes. Plenty of room, we end up with first class facilities equal to other teams, plenty of supporters live within easy reach and it puts to bed our homeless state. Whilst it feels 50 - 50 it’ll happen if it does I for one will be quietly stoked. 

2 hours ago, rpfc said:

Boo hoo. Living on that side of the bay is a nice life.

People and AFL players choose to go and live in Geelong. 

Poor comparison.

A: Geelong Football Club are called ‘Geelong’ and are based in Geelong - and always have been. It’s a unique area where it is pretty much rural and is therefore attractive to players seeking a different lifestyle. Just ask Isaac Smith.

B: (And arguably most important) The facilities at Geelong are pretty much the very best in the league - and everything is under one roof. Something that our fragmented set-up simply cannot match.

33 minutes ago, Foopy on the telly said:

The facilities at Geelong are pretty much the very best in the league

They are planning on building a $60M indoor training facility so they're not quite there yet.

Not sure if they have a second oval which is considered de rigeur

The AFL club is hoping to raise $20 million of its own to contribute to the project, while continuing to work with governments to bridge the gap for the project, with Cats CEO Steve Hocking saying the club was keen to secure more government funding to secure the project’s future.

https://www.austadiums.com/news/1409/geelong-planning-new-60-million-addition-for-gmhba-stadium

36 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

They are planning on building a $60M indoor training facility so they're not quite there yet.

The AFL club is hoping to raise $20 million of its own to contribute to the project, while continuing to work with governments to bridge the gap for the project, with Cats CEO Steve Hocking saying the club was keen to secure more government funding to secure the project’s future.

https://www.austadiums.com/news/1409/geelong-planning-new-60-million-addition-for-gmhba-stadium

Would love to see a list of clubs ranked by government funding.... they would surely be right at the very top

On 08/01/2025 at 21:52, Oxdee said:

Maybe if we wait 100 years something right will turn up. In the meantime we can continue sharing sun standard facilities with storm, victory and melb city. 

Common theme amongst all 4 tenants you mention is they've all won their respective competitions in the last 5 years so it can't be too bad in there. 

4 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

KP is surrounded by parkland, including a footy oval.

Its the home ground of a local footy club (and looks a ripper ground), but presumably not in use during the day during the week.

4 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Their second oval is at Deakin Uni, where they got even more [censored] funding to upgrade the oval to the exact dimensions of the MCG. This might make sense if it was in some way useful to the Deakin Uni FC, but there is no DUFC playing in Geelong.

8 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Why is it less than ideal? 

Why  should we listen to your judgement after all this work that has been put in to get an acknowledged location near or in our  heartland. 

You are only nit picking because you know that there are no locations that have been suitable or available of recent times that fulfilled the brief for a modern 21st base for an AFL Club.

Look where Hawks have gone about 18/20 kms from their most populous base for fans. 

Stop underestimating this project with “less than ideal “ statements that are meaningless. 

On 10/01/2025 at 00:31, Roost it far said:

I think Caulfield ticks all the boxes. Plenty of room, we end up with first class facilities equal to other teams, plenty of supporters live within easy reach and it puts to bed our homeless state. Whilst it feels 50 - 50 it’ll happen if it does I for one will be quietly stoked. 

I was , or am same 50-50   if it happens great, go hell for leather, I know the area extremely well. Grew up nearby, school, football ,

It was not my first ideal location for a club ground, but, there is plenty of room so why not

7 minutes ago, 58er said:

No other area exists with the ticks in the boxes as much as Caulfield. 

At least not 10kms from the CBD!

Let's not forget Dingley is approx. 30 kms from the CBD.

Just now, DistrACTION Jackson said:

At least not 10kms from the CBD!

Let's not forget Dingley is approx. 30 kms from the CBD.

That’s why Caulfield ticks all the boxes in location, land available, and community and stakeholder support to go with it. 

Finalization yes of much of the details is needed but Perty seems busy enough discussing and negotiating with much of the locals who are included and associated with this project. 

June this year is mooted for the next major announcement with the Building stage being strategised as we post our hopes and reactions. 

Worldwide experience suggests that once a city goes beyond 5 million people it starts to really struggle. Transport delays, infrastructure and services all come under too much strain to keep up with the expansion. Add to that pollution and it doesn’t bode well. You only have to take a drive and our once manicured parks and our roadsides you’ll see the weeds, long grass and rubbish building up. We’ve spent all our money on big projects rather than cleverly offering other alternatives. I’m just about to buy up near Bendigo, a beautiful city with all the services at easy reach. City be gone!

29 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I am not having a dig at anyone personally on this thread. But the above figures are what i have read. 
$26 Mill a day for the debt incurred and that figure will rise this year. 
The MFC have pledged $20mill for this project so far, that means we need to raise a lot more…

i just don’t think the State Government are going to jump in to help us out, if they do i will be amazed   The last Treasurer bailed out and ran for a reason…

Sounds about right, forecasts for 2024/25 has total interest expenses of $6.5b, approx 6.77% of total projected revenue ($96b).

You can find the information here: https://s3.ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/budgetfiles202425.budget.vic.gov.au/2024-25+State+Budget+-+Statement+of+Finances.pdf

Edited by DistrACTION Jackson

9 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Government debt is a furphy. At federal level it's irrelevant. At state and territory level, most issued during COVID was bought up by the RBA.

Neolib nuffies like Chalmers are so obsessed with killing private wealth (ie running fiscal surpluses) that they place upward pressure on the need for the Vic and NSW govs to issue semis. Both states are the leading issuers of semis in the country.

As a rule, Pallas has tried to run surpluses consistently too, often by privatising things like the Port of Melbourne and Vic Roads.

Victoria is fine, it, like the rest of the country, is being momentarily crippled by neoliberal austerity. Things will change soon enough and government investment will flow = private sector savings.

Interestingly, if the basketcase that is the Victorian Liberal Party ever gets back into power, you'll suddenly see government debt levels being a non issue in the press.

This is why Labor are moronic. They've spent 50 years trying to out monetarist monetarists. It's incidentally why Labor have no interest in representing working people. 

I think we'll get our money for Caulfield if we can get the rest of the finance secured.

The thing I find interesting is that individuals are encouraged to go out and borrow for their home. There are people with a $200k income (pre tax) with $1m of debt, 5 times their taxable income and 7 times based on after tax income of $140k. A government entity has a little over 1 time their revenue and they are seen as a basket case or irresponsible.

Edited by DistrACTION Jackson

11 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

There’s always money in the banana stand

Really wish I said that now. 

Maybe we'll get more funding interest if this thread's title is changed - well over due, more fulsomely, and correctly - to 'Home Base!'

Much more bang for the bartered buck than 'Training Ground?'

@Demonland, waddayareckon?

3 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Maybe we'll get more funding interest if this thread's title is changed - well over due, more fulsomely, and correctly - to 'Home Base!'

Much more bang for the bartered buck than 'Training Ground?'

@Demonland, waddayareckon?

try "community centre" or "multi-function sporting centre"

or just "afl umpiring training centre (incorporating mfc)"

or go all out suck on "the peter dutton elite sports centre"

23 minutes ago, old dee said:

Am I negative on this project? Yes! Because it will all be about cash for a silver tails footy club. Imo a MFC player will not train on a new Caulfield ground this decade.

yes, yr negativity towards anything, everything is well understood

however, as has been made clear by the mfc many times over, this is about more than just a home base for us but about community-based engagement and projects in order to enable that home base to happen

i will wager that we will be at our caulfield based within the next decade; i.e. before 2035

35 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

yes, yr negativity towards anything, everything is well understood

however, as has been made clear by the mfc many times over, this is about more than just a home base for us but about community-based engagement and projects in order to enable that home base to happen

i will wager that we will be at our caulfield based within the next decade; i.e. before 2035

i'll wager it is completed before the tassie stadium

1 hour ago, daisycutter said:

try "community centre" or "multi-function sporting centre"

or just "afl umpiring training centre (incorporating mfc)"

or go all out suck on "the peter dutton elite sports centre"

or go all out suck on "the peter dutton elite sports centre"   malfoy manor