Posted

Just another joke in a long line of jokes about the club. Let's face it, if Gold Coast hadn't entered the competition the Demons would be the laughingstock of the AFL.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Adzman said:

Just another joke in a long line of jokes about the club. Let's face it, if Gold Coast hadn't entered the competition the Demons would be the laughingstock of the AFL.

Unfortunately  we ARE.... no one's  ever taken the Brisvegas Bogans seriously. ..

We however continue  to disappoint in front of the Country's largest audience. 

Make no mistake. ..we are viewed  either as a laughingstock or simply pitifully. ..or sometimes both !!

I don't  take this club seriously  anymore..not sure how i could expect others to.

Posted

Wayne Carey has predicted us to make the biggest rise next year and jump back into the 8.

With a softer draw and far fewer operations, a better club pre season, a few new players and some young developing players as well and importantly a good injury run and maybe a slightly altered game plan, I am also confident of us bouncing back to play finals next year.

Posted

I thought the pic was spot on and funny, even if my gut was twisting on the inside as I laughed and I wanted to swear like Amon Buchanan in the GWS coaching box. Kids in the room helped me hold my tongue. 

Posted
31 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Wayne Carey has predicted us to make the biggest rise next year and jump back into the 8.

With a softer draw and far fewer operations, a better club pre season, a few new players and some young developing players as well and importantly a good injury run and maybe a slightly altered game plan, I am also confident of us bouncing back to play finals next year.

I’d love to share your optimism RL, but after watching finals footy this year, I think we are a fair way off the pace at the moment. I think that we need 5 or 6 upgrades on our current best 22-26 players and an injection of intelligent leadership, along with some flair. Richmond, basically! 

Normally, I feel bullish and excited about this time of year, but at the moment, I just feel flat. I think that the club, as a whole, has fallen very quickly since the finals in 2018 and the departure of PJ. I just hope that the current administration and coaches have what it takes to start pulling things upwards again.

Posted
28 minutes ago, Redleg said:

I'll take 9-11 wins as we're now back to a point where we've got quite a bit to do in order for the club being able to build a top list (as least in the foreseeable future)  Not sure the list is being coached well either.  But of course the Coaching dept. can improve much like the list can improve.

My ambition for the club far outstrips the club's ambition.  It's one thing wanting to be great but it's another thing having a great plan to become great.  We've got too many issues to address all at once.  I suppose we're a knockout hope but the substance isn't substantial.

9 -11 wins at least brings back a bit of respectability and we can then (hopefully) build from there.  5 & 17 is close enough to basket-case so we've got it all ahead of us RL.  We're playing catch-up.

Posted
16 minutes ago, Macca said:

I'll take 9-11 wins as we're now back to a point where we've got quite a bit to do in order for the club being able to build a top list (as least in the foreseeable future)  Not sure the list is being coached well either.  But of course the Coaching dept. can improve much like the list can improve.

My ambition for the club far outstrips the club's ambition.  It's one thing wanting to be great but it's another thing having a great plan to become great.  We've got too many issues to address all at once.  I suppose we're a knockout hope but the substance isn't substantial.

9 -11 wins at least brings back a bit of respectability and we can then (hopefully) build from there.  5 & 17 is close enough to basket-case so we've got it all ahead of us RL.  We're playing catch-up.

Yes but we had a ruined pre season, the worst injury list in the competition, a hard draw and despite all that were in the game at 3/4 time in numerous games, as well as simply throwing away several games with poor kicking or goal.

A better injury run, with a softer draw and some new players, coming off a wasted year, which would bite at everyone, gives me optimism for a quick rebound.

Posted
43 minutes ago, 3183 Dee said:

I’d love to share your optimism RL, but after watching finals footy this year, I think we are a fair way off the pace at the moment. I think that we need 5 or 6 upgrades on our current best 22-26 players and an injection of intelligent leadership, along with some flair. Richmond, basically! 

Normally, I feel bullish and excited about this time of year, but at the moment, I just feel flat. I think that the club, as a whole, has fallen very quickly since the finals in 2018 and the departure of PJ. I just hope that the current administration and coaches have what it takes to start pulling things upwards again.

Clearly in 2018 we were off the pace.  But was finals footy so much different in 2019 than in 2018 when we won 2 finals?  I don't think so. 

Seems to me the fall off occurred because of a perfect storm of factors related to playing the game.  (I've no way of knowing about admin issues).    I'm hoping 2020 will either be successful or at least make it clearer which of those factors are the fundamental problems.

Posted

Well there is always hope, fa

1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Frankly I give more credence to what Mick Malthouse has to say about us.

Posted
45 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Yes but we had a ruined pre season, the worst injury list in the competition, a hard draw and despite all that were in the game at 3/4 time in numerous games, as well as simply throwing away several games with poor kicking or goal.

A better injury run, with a softer draw and some new players, coming off a wasted year, which would bite at everyone, gives me optimism for a quick rebound.

Fair enough

We're not far away from each other anyway re the predicted finish. 

But we'll probably get some injuries again to some of our better players and our depth of good players (right now) isn't strong enough to cover for those injuries

My mind could be changed though if we can add 6 starting 22 players including 2 or 3 of those 6 to be added to the best 12.  It's a decent ask but we're in quite a reasonable trading position.

As always,  the off-season recruiting is all important.  X amount of good players = X amount of wins.

Posted

How I felt after the first few rounds this year after thinking we were a chance. 

"You have stolen my dreams and my childhood with your empty words"

I'm backing them in to return to finals next year. 

Posted
55 minutes ago, america de cali said:

Well there is always hope, fa

Frankly I give more credence to what Mick Malthouse has to say about us.

What about what “ I” have to say about us?

Posted
46 minutes ago, Macca said:

My mind could be changed though if we can add 6 starting 22 players including 2 or 3 of those 6 to be added to the best 12.  It's a decent ask but we're in quite a reasonable trading position.

More than a decent ask, that would be a mammoth task. 

Posted
53 minutes ago, Macca said:

Fair enough

We're not far away from each other anyway re the predicted finish. 

But we'll probably get some injuries again to some of our better players and our depth of good players (right now) isn't strong enough to cover for those injuries

As always,  the off-season recruiting is all important.  X amount of good players = X amount of wins.

Macca I would have said more a miracle than a decent ask imo.

That looks like a two year change not one.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, sue said:

Clearly in 2018 we were off the pace.  But was finals footy so much different in 2019 than in 2018 when we won 2 finals?  I don't think so. 

Seems to me the fall off occurred because of a perfect storm of factors related to playing the game.  (I've no way of knowing about admin issues).    I'm hoping 2020 will either be successful or at least make it clearer which of those factors are the fundamental problems.

May have been a perfect storm sue but what I learned from 2019 is that a number of the players who looked promising in the last 6 weeks of 2018 were ordinary / not senior level talents once the better players were not around them. E.g. The Weid mediocre, Spargo could not even look good at Casey this year. We have too many holes in our list to be better than 7-8th if things go our way.

Posted
Just now, Redleg said:

More than a decent ask, that would be a mammoth task. 

Well not really with regards to free agency now being a huge factor.

It's possible to add 3 - 4 free agents if you've got salary cap space.   And we look like we're pursuing at least 3 free agents.  We should have embraced free agency from 2012 onwards by the way but the antiquated thinking held us back.  And there was a 2 or 3 year warning that free agency was coming too so no excuses.

So it's not a mammoth task at all unless you're thinking like a dinosaur (not you obviously) Pardon the pun.

And then there's the draft and trading for talent.  At least 2-4 good players can be added along with the free agents from our trading position.

Adding 6 starting 22 players is quite feasible especially when you consider that we've only got 8 - 10 good players.  Half our list is either not good enough or not ready.

Anyway,  we'll find out soon enough but I'm reckoning that we will be very aggressive in the off-season. And I expect the club to be quite creative with the  pick 3 that we have at our disposal.

Posted
4 minutes ago, old dee said:

Macca I would have said more a miracle than a decent ask imo.

That looks like a two year change not one.

See my post above for my explanation

By the way,  a starting 22 player can be C+ only.  In fact,  we were playing up to 8 C grade quality players (or worse) for the greater part of this season.

In more simplistic terms you replace 6 very average players with 6 others that are better players.  Ranging from A grade down to B- (or C+) Adding an A grader is probably the big ask but we live in hope.

If you're thinking I'm meaning adding 6 A grade players you are jumping to the wrong conclusion. 

If we recruit as we've so often done in the past then I wouldn't be expecting a great return.  But Goodwin is now coaching for his own survival so I expect him to swing the changes (with the help of the recruiting team)

We'll find out soon enough.