Posted
On 6/10/2021 at 7:39 AM, drdrake said:

Bit like bullcreek leeming.  

Very strong club through the 90s and noughties with players coming through regularly. Changing demographics in the area have impacted them and Willeton.  Rich, Darling, Allen, Prior, Deluca, Foley and Schofield all recently either playing or drafted

17 hours ago, pineapple dee said:

Really, Pennant. What's more important, your son's education or updating Demonlanders on Taj's progress and form ??

The question answers itself 

Get on it !!!

I know my bad, I did watch Aquinas vs Wesley the other week but Taj was playing WAFL, Logan McDonald’s brother Connor and Bevan Warner’s brother Corey both playing well with Corey the absolute stand out on the ground. Riley Sprigg Wesley’s ruckman could be worth a look for a club 

Posted
1 hour ago, JJJ said:

I should’ve added, my mate doesn’t expect any teams to bid on Taj at this stage.

I just thought I’d mention that we like some of his intangibles and think he’s a great kid. ?? he can get on our list for nothing and turn out like his old man.

People I have spoken to reckon he will develop really well based on his desire and attitude. He’s not blessed with size, blistering pace or freakish ability but he won’t be the first or last player who develops through sheer hard work 

Posted
22 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

People I have spoken to reckon he will develop really well based on his desire and attitude. He’s not blessed with size, blistering pace or freakish ability but he won’t be the first or last player who develops through sheer hard work 

But it’s a tough road and many falter. 

Posted
On 6/11/2021 at 9:51 AM, Pennant St Dee said:

Apple hasn't fallen far from the tree.

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Apple hasn't fallen far from the tree.

Sounds like a late father/son pick if we want him.

( Meaning he won’t cost us a  lot in terms of draft pick. )

Edited by Redleg

Posted
On 6/10/2021 at 2:48 PM, JJJ said:

My understanding from chatting with a part time scout for another club is that he’s rated enough to be picked up later in the draft by us as we love his attitude, professionalism, competitiveness and hardness.

His overall play/skill set is a bit vanilla and seen by other clubs as a limiting step in his potential. Seen as a HBF type. 

Sounds similar to his old man…. And blokes like Hibberd who had to ply his trade in the VFL as he was seen as not having the required skills and athletic profile to succeed.

how does he go as a small forward type? given bedford and chandler are 50:50 for the list next year and melkys nearly at the end

Posted
58 minutes ago, Turner said:

how does he go as a small forward type? given bedford and chandler are 50:50 for the list next year and melkys nearly at the end

Surely we'd be mad to cut either Chandler or Bedford at this point - both now showing they are too good for VFL level (when its on).  An injury to Spargo, Kozzie or ANB and they would be holding a spot in the top team in the league.

• 1 month later...
Posted

Taj getting a good mention on AFL.com

DEMONS FATHER-SON PROSPECT EMERGES

MELBOURNE father-son talent Taj Woewodin has emerged to firm as a draftee for this year.

Woewodin, the son of 2000 Brownlow medallist Shane, is eligible to join the Demons as a father-son selection at the end of this year. Shane played 138 games for the Demons between 1997-2002 before playing three seasons with Collingwood.

Taj, 18, is a versatile midfielder who has pushed himself into the West Australian under-19s program after a consistent season with East Fremantle. 

He's going really well for a player who was probably sitting outside of our calculations early in the year. He's showed some terrific improvement over the last month and is a really strong character who is dedicated, professional and works hard," said WA talent manager Adam Jones. 

"He's very clean with his ball handling and he’s shown real competitiveness over our trial games. He's also been able to play multiple positions – wing, half-forward, half-back and he’s had an impact in each position.

"Taj has really good skills by foot and he has a good all-round game."

After averaging 22 disposals at colts level this season, Woewodin has been a solid player in Western Australia’s recent under-19 trial games ahead of the national carnival. 

The Demons have first access to Woewodin, who is open to moving states to follow his football pathway. Melbourne’s last father-son selection was Billy Stretch in 2014. – Callum Twomey

Posted
Just now, Red and Blue realist said:

Haven't seen him to high on any mock draft boards, so hopefully we might even be able to get him in the rookie draft, or at a minimum will be matching very late if we choose too. 

Are we talking bigfooty draft boards or Callum Twomey's?

Posted

Getting high rated kids cheap is good, but I think there is often a bit to be said for the mid-late draft opportunity that F/S presents.

Knowing that we can take other players that we rate similar to Taj without losing access to him is great. Getting a pick 40 rated kid at pick 60 for example is a neat bonus.

Posted
6 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Are we talking bigfooty draft boards or Callum Twomey's?

He hasn't ben anywhere near Cal's draft lists, and I can't find him rated in the top 2 rounds for any of the big footy drafts, of course they can change now he's had a little exposure, but he's not going to an early pick but looks very consistent when you look at his game stats (I haven't seen him play so can't speak to how he actually looks).

Posted

I remember when Shane came to the club he was a tough half back flanker who worked his but off and flourished under Danners. Taj could be of the same ilk and we may be able to make up  a lot for what we did to Shane. 💕

Posted

Versatile and good by foot. Just what we need. Take him late if he’s available still.

Posted

Another big performance for East Freo Colts in the Port Derby vs South Freo today. 25 disposals and by all accounts battled it out with Josh Cripps( Paddy's brother) for BOG honors 

• Like 21

Posted
53 minutes ago, MO FINE said:

Let’s say another club nominates him in the draft. What do we have to give away to match the bid?

Depends at what pick he is nominated, if at all. 

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

Another big performance for East Freo Colts in the Port Derby vs South Freo today. 25 disposals and by all accounts battled it out with Josh Cripps( Paddy's brother) for BOG honors 

Thanks for that mate. 

Jeepers, Paddy has a brother coming through now? So there's like an 8 or 9 year age gap? What's he like? Cripps is one of my favourite non MFC players, despite going down hill a bit the last few years. Would love to get his brother if they're at all similar. Carlton would be in prime position to lure him... or even West Coast I suppose.

Posted
3 minutes ago, A F said:

Carlton would be in prime position to lure him... or even West Coast I suppose.

He'd have to go through the draft which means he'd have no say as to which club selects him.

The only advantage Carlton might have is that they're likely to have a top ten draft pick this year.

Posted
19 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

He'd have to go through the draft which means he'd have no say as to which club selects him.

The only advantage Carlton might have is that they're likely to have a top ten draft pick this year.

Of course, but West Coast in particular are great at hiding talent they're really interested in. Bit hard if your brother is Paddy Cripps though, I'll admit.

It's funny, when I saw you'd quoted me mate, I figured there was a grammatical error somewhere. 😂

• Haha 6
Posted

Taj is really interesting. We know that his coaches rate him highly (press clips at the start of the year). We know his team mates do (voted captain). He is getting it done each week in the disposal count (but no indication of DE or CBA). He is good enough to be in the WA squad and WA squad watchers have him in their best 22. But none of the Vic track watchers who we rely on for intel (Cal, Knightmare, Sheehan) have seen him play for 2 years. 

It’d be great if we could get a read on him for our own interests, but would be one that slips through because we know clubs put less work into F/S and NGA as they know they cannot get them anyway - so enough to know where they are bidding (interviews with club recruiters the last 2 years). 

id love him to be a jet, but who knows???