5 minutes ago, ErmieJones said:

Has anyone heard the rumour Tim "Bull" Smith might be retiring?

Did you just start it??

10 minutes ago, ErmieJones said:

Has anyone heard the rumour Tim "Bull" Smith might be retiring?

Was mentioned in one of the other topics. Surely there'd be no surprise there, the guy tries hard but gets injured a lot. If he wasn't retiring then I doubt he'd get another look at AFL level next year.

I feel sorry for him because he's always shown signs but then, hey presto, he's injured again.

And what the hell  has happened to AVB?

Seems like he has slipped into the twilight zone.

1 minute ago, old dee said:

And what the hell  has happened to AVB?

Seems like he has slipped into the twilight zone.

4-6 OD...just 4-6 ;)

That's a shame if true, i really liked him, was a really good competitor and could take a really good mark. Some players just don't have any luck. wish him well if true.

I still think Pedo should have been on our list this year.

• Author
18 minutes ago, Demonland said:

This would not surprise me. I really feel for this guy. We was the perfect 3rd tall option for us when fit but unfortunately for him and us he is one of the unluckiest men in football when it comes to injuries.

Agree mate, hope they aren't true and we can at least get another year out of him. Always gets the best out of himself and I love what he brings.

we have way too many injury prone players on our list. You can carry one project injury player maybe two but not the four or five we have.

Would not surprise me if we were having serious discussions with AVB.

Joel Smith is the other interesting one along with KK.

I expect J Smith gets a guernsey because with the departure of Tim S and Kielty our forward tall back up situation is desperate. (Trading aside.)

Edited by Diamond_Jim

Wonder what ramifications Burgess will have for perma-crocked players given his reputation.  Some may see what DB could do first before I pulled the plug. 

12 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

we have way too many injury prone players on our list. You can carry one project injury player maybe two but not the four or five we have.

Harry O, Trenners & Clark in recent times also DJ.  We seem to have a penchant of picking up players that are prone to not quite cutting the 'resilient' mustard.

2 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

Harry O, Trenners & Clark in recent times also DJ.  We seem to have a penchant of picking up players that are prone to not quite cutting the 'resilient' mustard.

You can add AVB to that RN.

I think T. Smith is going to give it one more year. I think he's well liked in the coaches eyes. Dec Keilty will most likely get the chop.

36 minutes ago, old dee said:

You can add AVB to that RN.

Am still holding a glimmer of hope that Burgess might come to the rescue OD but it's not looking great eh.

8 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

Am still holding a glimmer of hope that Burgess might come to the rescue OD but it's not looking great eh.

I have seen nothing from the club since the end of Feb. Looks ominous. It will be a shame because he is just what we need tough and talented.

44 minutes ago, Caligula's cohort said:

I think T. Smith is going to give it one more year. I think he's well liked in the coaches eyes. Dec Keilty will most likely get the chop.

If it's only Dec i will happily run around the MCG naked CC!

Tim Smith has played about 8-10 games per year over the past 3 years.  Often it’s a hip or calf or leg injury. Unfortunately he is another who would be a very good player if he could keep injury free. May be delisted or retired  

Best of luck Bull, excitement of what might be when you first came in but injuries cruelled it all.

(if he retires of course) 

Sad. I’m not sure what you’d earn as a sparky but would it be far off what you earn on a rookie list?

Edited by Tough Kent

16 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

I expect J Smith gets a guernsey because with the departure of Tim S and Kielty our forward tall back up situation is desperate. (Trading aside.)

Agree 'Diamond'.

It's really effected our depth, particularly this season with the added injuries.

• 4 weeks later...

• Demonland changed the title to Tim "Bull" Smith Retires

Officially announced. Ripper bloke, always gave his all, probably to the detriment of his body in the end.