Posted
  • Goodwin on the next month: We’re just trying to pull it all together in all phases, and play our best footy. We want to give some opportunity to some guys, which will then give us a chance to see what we can be in the next four weeks.
  • Goodwin: Our method in our offence needs to improve - we’re well aware of that. Some of it’s decision-making and some of it’s execution. One of our challenges is to not waste the next four weeks, but to implement changes that will help us to get better.
  • Goodwin: When you’ve won five games for the year, you have to continue to work on building that confidence and belief back in the group. The only way to do that is through action - training to a high level, finding little wins in games and and getting results in games.
  • Goodwin: We’re certainly not overhauling our game. We’re tinkering with certain aspects, and bridging the gap between our offence and defence. That takes time, but there are things we are doing that we’re hopeful will have immediate impact tomorrow night.
  • Goodwin: I understand there’s a frustration among our supporter base and the footy community about where it’s got to - we take responsibility for that. We’re just trying to look forward and work out how to get better.
  • Goodwin: What I can do is make sure our club is incredibly united. Our players have been unbelievable in staying together and continuing to forge ahead. They are motivated to win every single week. They’re competitors.
  • Goodwin: Steven May will play next week - it’s a really minor hamstring. He was close this week but we just felt he needed one more week. Neville Jetta won’t play again this year. He’ll go in for some more surgery on his knee, as he’s still getting some continually swelling.
  • Goodwin on Jones: Nathan is a highly-valued person of the Melbourne Football Club. He has been and always will be. I’m highly confident Nathan will be a one-club player and that will get sorted out very shortly.
  • Goodwin on Gawn and Preuss: We do have a shortage of personnel in our forward half, and that give us an opportunity to play two rucks. Braydon had an outstanding game in the VFL last week, so we get another chance to have a really good look at how the two work together.

Posted

Still believes in his Gamestyle, what about basic skills Simon?

Please revamp the entire training regime, it is obviously not working properly 

Kicking, Marking, Shepherding Teamwork, Goal Kicking ? 

Please. 

Posted

Putting a few of his comments together can be interesting... (Paraphrasing of course)

'When you've won 5 games for the year you don't overhaul your game, you tinker with it....'

?

Posted
4 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Putting a few of his comments together can be interesting... (Paraphrasing of course)

'When you've won 5 games for the year you don't overhaul your game, you tinker with it....'

?

Talk about a billy stretch....

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

Goodwin: We’re certainly not overhauling our game. We’re tinkering with certain aspects, and bridging the gap between our offence and defence. That takes time, but there are things we are doing that we’re hopeful will have immediate impact tomorrow night.

"deckchairs" spring to mind

Posted
2 minutes ago, binman said:

Talk about a billy stretch....

Technically, he did say both those things. He's admitted we're very poor, hence the "when you've won 5 games", and he's stated what action they're taking "tinkering with aspects". I just find that a bit unconvincing.

Posted

May another week wasn’t it meant to be minor. The recruitment of Lever and May a big reason where no good. Can it be turned around in 2020 it would want to be.

Posted
2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Please. 

Biggest lot of Rhettoric I have heard in a LOOONG TIME.

Needs a reality check!! I reckon one is coming his way tommorrow night. 

But we still believe in the game plan....

Yeah Right!

Posted
1 minute ago, picket fence said:

Biggest lot of Rhettoric I have heard in a LOOONG TIME.

Needs a reality check!! I reckon one is coming his way tommorrow night. 

But we still believe in the game plan....

Yeah Right!

Simon needed a reality check after The Preliminary Final, but he refused it

So here we sit...11 months later

Posted
3 hours ago, Demonland said:

Goodwin: We’re certainly not overhauling our game. We’re tinkering with certain aspects, and bridging the gap between our offence and defence. That takes time, but there are things we are doing that we’re hopeful will have immediate impact tomorrow night.

This concerns me...

Is he stubborn, delusional or maybe not willing to disclose what we are really doing.

I hope it's the latter because tinkering is not going to fix this years problems.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, SFebes said:

Goodwin: We’re certainly not overhauling our game - I find this actually alarming and it actually explains this year to a tee.

Agree. He should be throwing this year's pathetic game plan in the bin and start working on a new one in time for next year if he wants to coach past 2020.

The ANB botched handball to Fristch who should've been gifted an easy goal in the last quarter of last week sums up our cluster you know what of a game plan. Players are too nervous to have a shot and end up over possessing the thing.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell
Posted
3 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

?

I know right!

4 hours ago, Demonland said:
  • Goodwin on the next month: We’re just trying to pull it all together in all phases, and play our best footy. We want to give some opportunity to some guys, which will then give us a chance to see what we can be in the next four weeks.
  • Goodwin: Our method in our offence needs to improve - we’re well aware of that. Some of it’s decision-making and some of it’s execution. One of our challenges is to not waste the next four weeks, but to implement changes that will help us to get better.
  • Goodwin: We’re certainly not overhauling our game. We’re tinkering with certain aspects, and bridging the gap between our offence and defence. That takes time, but there are things we are doing that we’re hopeful will have immediate impact tomorrow night.
  • Goodwin: What I can do is make sure our club is incredibly united. Our players have been unbelievable in staying together and continuing to forge ahead. They are motivated to win every single week. They’re competitors.
  • Goodwin on Jones: Nathan is a highly-valued person of the Melbourne Football Club. He has been and always will be. I’m highly confident Nathan will be a one-club player and that will get sorted out very shortly.

Goodwin on the next month: We’re just trying to pull some guys in for execution. We’re hopeful [this] will have immediate impact tomorrow night. Our players have been unbelievable they will get sorted out very shortly.

Just have to read between the lines really ?

Posted
25 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Agree. He should be throwing this year's pathetic game plan in the bin and start working on a new one in time for next year if he wants to coach past 2020.

The ANB botched handball to Fristch who should've been gifted an easy goal in the last quarter of last week sums up our cluster you know what of a game plan. Players are too nervous to have a shot and end up over possessing the thing.

They're too scared to have a shot and stuff it up, but at the same time more than happy to completely balls up an easy pass by hand or foot. It's quite incredible really.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Not disagreeing about having a reboot of the game plan, but why do you think our player's reluctance to shoot at goal is related to the game plan?   Seems to me it speaks more of a dramatic loss of confidence.  Are you saying that is a result of the game plan?  While it could be a factor, I doubt it explains it all.

Posted
5 hours ago, Demonland said:
  • Neville Jetta won’t play again this year. He’ll go in for some more surgery on his knee, as he’s still getting some continually swelling.

So why did he come back at all? He clearly hasn't been fit at any stage this season. Shocking player management.

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, poita said:

So why did he come back at all? He clearly hasn't been fit at any stage this season. Shocking player management.

Same for Lever being rushed back after low vfl minutes, and Smith being forced to play out a pointless preseason game when injured and being written off for the year. The club’s player management this season has been appalling and the worst I can remember from an afl club.

Edited by Lord Travis
Posted
12 minutes ago, sue said:

Not disagreeing about having a reboot of the game plan, but why do you think our player's reluctance to shoot at goal is related to the game plan?   Seems to me it speaks more of a dramatic loss of confidence.  Are you saying that is a result of the game plan?  While it could be a factor, I doubt it explains it all.

Not sure mate as I'm not into the tactical side of footy but whatever's happening is not working.

They go fast when they should go slow.

They go slow when they should go fast

They over posses en-route to goal.

Posted
4 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Please. 

Yep

It's mainly skills

Hit a few more targets, fumble a little less, kick straight and we would have 10 wins, not 5 and be striving for the 8

Posted
6 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Yep

It's mainly skills

Hit a few more targets, fumble a little less, kick straight and we would have 10 wins, not 5 and be striving for the 8

And that comes from Fitness..

Posted
58 minutes ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

Goodwin on the next month: We’re just trying to pull some guys in for execution. We’re hopeful [this] will have immediate impact tomorrow night. Our players have been unbelievable they will get sorted out very shortly.

Just have to read between the lines really ?

I read it a little differently

Goody* "It's not my game plan, it's the fact that the players are dumb and can't hit a target... therefore we've decided to put the cue in the rack for this year, play the kids, and get onto required surgeries for next year... It's amazing that the players keep showing up really, I don't know how they keep doing it, gluttons for punishment... Nate Jones is cooked, we all know that, but I reckon he'll take a low ball offer as he knows as well as the rest of us that it's the only offer he'll get"

My tip is we'll see a lot of list changes this year, perhaps a mini rebuild

Posted
13 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Time comes from fitness, reduces pressure on skills

But missing 25m set shots has nothing to do with fitness

Yes it does, if that player is exhausted his kicking will be anything but accurate 

Posted
2 hours ago, SFebes said:

Goodwin: We’re certainly not overhauling our game - I find this actually alarming and it actually explains this year to a tee.

It’s almost like he’s suffering from the neurocognitive deficits associated with gambling addicts!

Posted
6 hours ago, Demonland said:

Goodwin What I can do is make sure our club is incredibly united.

It is stupid statement because everyone is paid to be there. Bad coaching brings disunity and Goodwin has taken the team backwards. They are united in failure. 

7 hours ago, Demonland said:

We’re certainly not overhauling our game.

For Goodwin, this is his one chance to be a senior coach and we are stuck with him. I don't see him sticking his hand up for a performance based contract. I can't see him turning this around in a hurry, he is not a coach who thinks on his feet.