Posted
20 hours ago, the rolling fog said:

The impression I got from GB's B&F speech was that they were close to securing an alternative site, not in Yarra Park. This isn't based on anything just what I read between the lines in the speech

God knows where I look forward to seeing the location.

Posted
14 hours ago, old dee said:

God knows where I look forward to seeing the location.

We all do mate. 

This is one of the last, and most critical, pieces in the puzzle to becoming an elite high-performing operation.

I look at what Cricket Victoria have done with Junction Oval - and I know that there's always politics and timing that get in the way of these things - but wow, what a missed opportunity that was!

Even the bloody Saints are now getting their act together back in Moorabbin!

Posted
23 minutes ago, the rolling fog said:

We all do mate. 

This is one of the last, and most critical, pieces in the puzzle to becoming an elite high-performing operation.

I look at what Cricket Victoria have done with Junction Oval - and I know that there's always politics and timing that get in the way of these things - but wow, what a missed opportunity that was!

Cricket got a very big donation from the Vic government to fix the junction. The Saints wanted to go back there but did not get the nod from the pollies. Anyway time will tell I guess.

Posted
2 hours ago, the rolling fog said:

We all do mate. 

Going back to junction oval, would have been no good,  would have to have shared it with cricket, they use to have no goal post on the ground in preseason training, don't know the size of ground. We need a training base that is the same size as the MCG, I think the biggest reason the eagles won the flag is because of the training ground, they have a MCG size ground to train on, they have been no good on the MCG for 10 year,  there is no coincidence why they've all of a sudden become good on the MCG.

Posted (edited)
On 10/20/2018 at 11:27 AM, don't make me angry said:

Going back to junction oval, would have been no good,  would have to have shared it with cricket, they use to have no goal post on the ground in preseason training, don't know the size of ground. We need a training base that is the same size as the MCG,

...and they shut access to the place down for a couple of weeks at Grand Prix time.  i.e just before the season starts.

Edited by george_on_the_outer

Posted
21 hours ago, george_on_the_outer said:

...and they shut access to the place down for a couple of weeks at Grand Prix time.  i.e just before the season starts.

When we were there everyone was complaining about being there, short memories.

Posted (edited)

Can I recall there being a rough plan to build admin facilities on the existing Gosch's/AAMI park precinct?

Edited by McQueen
Posted
2 hours ago, McQueen said:

Can I recall there being a rough plan to build admin facilities on the existing Gosch's/AAMI park precinct?

Correct Steve. It was talked about and then nothing more.

Posted

PJ on the DL podcast said the offices will be over the rail track. Of course he seemed pretty confident it would get over the line (paraphrasing) that it would have amenities and value to Yarra Park.

Posted

It seems that the East Melbourne Group has been campaigning against it. Pretty powerful lobby when they mobilise! Perhaps some Demonlanders should run for their committee? ?

Posted
6 minutes ago, CBDees said:

It seems that the East Melbourne Group has been campaigning against it. Pretty powerful lobby when they mobilise! Perhaps some Demonlanders should run for their committee? ?

I wonder if anyone knows anyone in the group. Everyone has a skeleton or two in the closet. I’m not saying we should blackmail them, but we should blackmail them. 

• Haha 6
Posted
11 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Yes it's all been said before - but not a sod has been turned.

More importantly, for members and supporters, what about a centrally located social club?

Works beautifully for the toiges.

Have you ever been invited to the Toigs social club?

It is anything but social. What a depressing place!

Posted
12 minutes ago, jackaub said:

Have you ever been invited to the Toigs social club?

It is anything but social. What a depressing place!

I no longer get invited anywhere Jack but even in my desperate circumstances , I wouldn't go anywhere near a building full of dangerous bogans.

Posted
13 hours ago, Cards13 said:

PJ on the DL podcast said the offices will be over the rail track. Of course he seemed pretty confident it would get over the line (paraphrasing) that it would have amenities and value to Yarra Park.

(paraphrasing AND punning)

Posted
12 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I wonder if anyone knows anyone in the group. Everyone has a skeleton or two in the closet. I’m not saying we should blackmail them, but we should blackmail them. 

It is presided over by a NIMBY (who professes to be a Melbourne supporter but isn’t)! He is too [censored] to have skeletons! I used to be on Committee but am no longer but happy to form part of a group to stand and unseat them! 

Posted
16 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Yes it's all been said before - but not a sod has been turned.

More importantly, for members and supporters, what about a centrally located social club?

Works beautifully for the toiges.

This is THE Key... Bbo.  for growing the clubs support base. 

We do not want to be a 'Niche' club...  We have to compete with the Toiges, & the Pies; who set up camp in our own family-room. front of house.

So let's not tuck ourselves away, in some leafy cul-de-sac... away from the mainstream pedestrian thoroughfare.

Passing trade is the name of any game.

Posted
5 hours ago, CBDees said:

It is presided over by a NIMBY (who professes to be a Melbourne supporter but isn’t)! He is too [censored] to have skeletons! I used to be on Committee but am no longer but happy to form part of a group to stand and unseat them! 

We can always plant a skeleton. 

Posted
21 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I no longer get invited anywhere Jack but even in my desperate circumstances , I wouldn't go anywhere near a building full of dangerous bogans.

I get strangely aroused every time I'm forced to enter a Centrelink office.

Posted
On 10/18/2018 at 10:07 PM, the rolling fog said:

The impression I got from GB's B&F speech was that they were close to securing an alternative site, not in Yarra Park. This isn't based on anything just what I read between the lines in the speech

Yeah, that’s not correct.

Posted
On 10/22/2018 at 11:16 PM, Ethan Tremblay said:

In east Melbourne they prefer to call it 'influence'

• 4 weeks later...
Posted

Interesting to see the Yarra Park proposal emerging in this morning’s paper as an election issue with the East Melbourne Group letterboxing 4000 households in Melbourne and Richmond to vote Liberal/Greens as the ALP hasn’t come out in opposition like the other two parties! ?

Posted
37 minutes ago, CBDees said:

Interesting to see the Yarra Park proposal emerging in this morning’s paper as an election issue with the East Melbourne Group letterboxing 4000 households in Melbourne and Richmond to vote Liberal/Greens as the ALP hasn’t come out in opposition like the other two parties! ?

Liberal Rubbish!!

For 4 weeks i have watched this truck clog up the local streets Grrr

5FF524A9-6FE0-40EB-9820-8B8A689C3046.jpeg