On 18/06/2019 at 10:39, chook fowler said:

Hallelujah. Rooke  has obviously been identified as the weakest link and McCartney is on the way out - after what he reportedly said about goal kicking in the training report, no wonder.

Chook what McCartney said to me about goal kicking, I took not to be his decision, it was a coaching panel decision. Brendan is not in charge of the forwards , so not his call, let’s try to keep to the facts we know. 

Well done to the club for being proactive. All I want is to not waste them last 10 rounds. And they haven’t. 

Thrilled Rawlings is back. Wasted in the VFL he is an excellent line coach and can only help our horrible forwardline’s form. 

If I were Jade Rawlings it would be a big kick up the backside for Tom McDonald, see you later Jeffy Garlett and a commitment to team work from all of the forwards. Get them working for each other and things might turn around.

On 18/06/2019 at 10:49, DeeSpencer said:

If I were Jade Rawlings it would be a big kick up the backside for Tom McDonald, see you later Jeffy Garlett and a commitment to team work from all of the forwards. Get them working for each other and things might turn around.

'See you later' to the highest average goal kicker from a team struggling to score?

Not sure that's the first move I would make myself.

On 18/06/2019 at 10:49, DeeSpencer said:

Ahh, the ol 'kick up the backside' sentiment - that'll work!! 

The medical/fitness changes are possibly more interesting.

Dr Z has been promoted. He still isn't a fully qualified sports medic as far as I can tell but hopefully he's on the right track.

Looks like they promoted the 2IC as well who was previously at Hawthorn for a number of years. Let's hope that works out.

Misson on to special projects before his farewell. 

Bad coaching can be fixed pretty quickly. Bad fitness/medical management for the next 10 weeks can impact players careers. Hope they've got it right.

On 18/06/2019 at 10:50, Lord Nev said:

'See you later' to the highest average goal kicker from a team struggling to score?

Not sure that's the first move I would make myself.

For every goal Jeff kicks he stuffs up 1 for either himself or a team mate through gutless efforts. He's a laughing stock.

I hope we don’t spare any money finding a new elite conditioning coach or whatever the hell is the title.

A very very important role, I would look at teams who have had good success with injury management and throw a bag of cash at whoever manages them. 

Injuries ruined our 2017 and 2019 seasons. Let us not have 2020 be a repeat. 

On 18/06/2019 at 10:51, Engorged Onion said:

Ahh, the ol 'kick up the backside' sentiment - that'll work!! 

I'm guessing Rooke didn't have whatever it is that was required for Tom to get out of his own head and back to impacting games. Rawling's is a far more imposing character. It might be a cuddle, a kick up the backside or a demotion to the VFL but something needs to change with Tom. I'm looking forward to some fresh approaches.

On 18/06/2019 at 10:53, DeeSpencer said:

For every goal Jeff kicks he stuffs up 1 for either himself or a team mate through gutless efforts. He's a laughing stock.

We're a team crying out for goals, skill and outside players and you want to immediately drop a player who gives us all those things?

Seems a strange decision to me, and your "he's a laughing stock" comment is completely over the top. Viney is a gutsy player, yet he is doing more damage than good currently and our balance of 'gutsy' players has seen us in deficit for skill.

On 18/06/2019 at 10:39, chook fowler said:

Hallelujah. Rooke  has obviously been identified as the weakest link and McCartney is on the way out - after what he reportedly said about goal kicking in the training report, no wonder.

What did he say?

On 18/06/2019 at 11:00, Clint Bizkit said:

Rawlings’ first job is to get the forwards to start 15 metres out from goal instead of 40.

Second job possibly to get someone in as a goal kicking coach? (Part time you'd think)

On 18/06/2019 at 10:44, Earl Hood said:

Chook what McCartney said to me about goal kicking, I took not to be his decision, it was a coaching panel decision. Brendan is not in charge of the forwards , so not his call, let’s try to keep to the facts we know. 

Fair enough, if I wrongly attributed it to him.

On 18/06/2019 at 10:55, Jaded said:

I hope we don’t spare any money finding a new elite conditioning coach or whatever the hell is the title.

A very very important role, I would look at teams who have had good success with injury management and throw a bag of cash at whoever manages them. 

Injuries ruined our 2017 and 2019 seasons. Let us not have 2020 be a repeat. 

From some of the comments her on DL re injury management we have so many fitness managers on this forum that there is no need to cast the net further than DL. 

On 18/06/2019 at 10:38, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Would Jade Rawlings be in the hunt at North?

You’d think he would want to be considered for all main jobs and this would be Rawlings last year at the Dees.

He said he put his hand up to take over at Casey, I think to show he can coach a team on his own rather than being a line coach. 

He has now been brought back into the main stage and Rooke demoted. 

On 18/06/2019 at 10:51, DeeSpencer said:

The medical/fitness changes are possibly more interesting.

Dr Z has been promoted. He still isn't a fully qualified sports medic as far as I can tell but hopefully he's on the right track.

Looks like they promoted the 2IC as well who was previously at Hawthorn for a number of years. Let's hope that works out.

Misson on to special projects before his farewell. 

Bad coaching can be fixed pretty quickly. Bad fitness/medical management for the next 10 weeks can impact players careers. Hope they've got it right.

What is a fully qualified sports medic? And why does a qualified Dr need to get one?

Feeling much better with Rawlings back in the coaching group; I’d say we would have had to top-up his pay to get him to give up his senior coaching gig at Casey.

We need a full time kicking coach - specifically with regards to the biomechanics. 

In terms of 'developing' the ability of our players to kick the ball properly and being able to kick to position,  the club has failed massively.

The kicking for goal is a symptom of a much greater problem.  Our general field kicking is woeful.  We can't hit targets therefore we turn the ball over which leads to losing games.

No good having a myriad of assistants if we can't kick the footy to position.  Horse before the cart and all that.

Good changes, to see Jade Rawlings back  sitting in the box. An experienced assistant  which will be of great support to have around for Goody and the team.

Underrated and missed a few coaching opportunities through his time however is well regarded at our club and will help having him back as a line coach for the forwards.

Gave up his coaching position to help out the seniors.  That is a committed team member.

Edited by nosoupforme

I think its pretty clear that the forward line was an utter shambles...and the forward line coach was in his first year on the job. So could be he was just simply no good, or could be that he didnt have the experience or the trust of the players to deal with the situation this year as it was arising. Rawlings will bring some confidence back so Personally I think its great they made some changes. The last thing we need as a club is to go out with a whimper this year. Bold gutsy move by the dees. 

well this is welcome news. I like the changes, and although limited with what they could do midyear, I think they are trying to at least fix the obvious problems. I just hope the damage is fixable at some point this year.